Ratings based on 1,338 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Don't Believe the Hype.

Posted Dec 20, 2014
This resort experience fell far short of the potential of the resort. The staff was cold and merely going through the motions to provide minimal service. The food was of poor quality and was poorly prepared. The prices for everything from food to parking and amenities were excessive given the low quality received.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort, needs updating

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Nice resort, could definitely use updating. Food ok for breakfast/lunch (sandwiches), but for dinner go elsewhere. Restaurant 5 min down the road (Pasion por el Fogon) was delicious! Hotel staff was great. We accidentally dented the rear bumper of our rental car. The porters/parking attendants helped us pop out the dent, saving us money with the rental company.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Lauderdale

Nice hotel close to beach, private beach access

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Facilities, food, private beach access.
Cons: Too much walk to between buildings
Location: Zip lining, bio-bay kayaking, water park, swimming pool close to ocean.
Excellent ocean view. Access to private beach was very convenient. The hotel and restaurant staff were very friendly. Excellent vegetarian food options available at two main restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Don't believe the bad reviews!!!

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Very clean and super friendly staff.
Cons: The drain in our hotel bathtub was not working well and we would take showers in puddles of water, room 4301.
We stayed in an ocean view room this December and had a great experience! I was hesitant at first with reading other people's reviews but found those concerns melting away as soon as I stepped on the property! It's all about common sense people! Of course if you leave food lying open in your room you will attract ants...we are in the tropics! Our toddler had a great time at the pool and at Palomino Island that is right across from the resort. It took about 15 min to get there in a ferry (no cost for the ferry) and it was a beautiful ride. The only thing we didn't go to in the resort was the water park since my toddler wouldn't go on the slides and we didn't see much sense in paying $20 plus per person to not use the water park. I can't comment on the food at the resort since we went into town to eat, the resort is pretty pricy and we would rather spend the money on excursions. The concierge at El Conquistador was super fun and helpful! They told us about taking boat ride to Bio Bay to see the waters that light up at night and we were able to take our toddler, he loved it. It was a little dark but fun overall to see those amazing waters. I would most certainly go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Negron

Best hotel on the island

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: add a casino again
Location: beautiful scenery. You can go to the Yunque's rain forrest, beach, etc
Excellent hotel, with if not the most beautiful, one of the greatest views of any hotel on the island. Excellent service and great staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Puerto Rico

Hotel in Fajardo

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Location in the east cost and variety of stores
Cons: Housekeeping in the hallway, at the entrance and lighting at the parking area.
Location: Visit small island's, beach and phosphorescent bay
Nice hotel with all the amenities you want during vacation. I recommend more cleaning in the hallway and the entrance also more illumination at the parking area. At the coqui water park, the stairs need more maintenance as well some personnel doing cleaning during park hours.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

OK value for the money

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Lots of amenities for those who don't want to venture off the premises much.
Cons: Bathroom could use an update.
Location: Rainforst and bioluminescent bay kayak tour.
Started off rocky when it took over an hour to check-in. There wasn't enough staff to accommodate all the guests checking in that afternoon. After a long day and flight, it was pretty irritating to waste that much time waiting to be helped. The room was near the main building so it was convenient to many of the amenities. Room was clean and had a view of the golf course. There was a resort fee of $25/day which I hadn't noticed when booking and no one could explain to me what that included. Drinks and food were very expensive. Most drinks were $10 plus tax and tip which added up very quickly. Dinners in the nicer restaurants were $35 and up for entree alone. Food, drinks and rentals on their private island was very expensive but it's the only option when spending the day at the beach. We found some good and affordable food off-site and not too far from the resort but you need a car and you should be careful, especially at night. The surrounding area is pretty run down. They charge for entrance to the "water park" which was basically three slides into their two pools. For the money, it would be nice to include this in the room rate. All in all, it was a nice vacation but just much more expensive than anticipated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bay area

Beautiful views

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Great hotel. I would stay here again. One down side was when you go to palomino island, you're not allowed to pay with cash. Only credit card or charge it to your room. They don't tell you that prior to leaving on the ferry.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom A

State of the art facility

Posted Nov 26, 2014
excellent facilities , staff, unique in bonsais. The Italian restaurant is excellent. Excellent gym. Fabulous boat . Private beach facilities. yyy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

To expensive for what they offer

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Friendly staff, great location but over price ! Hotel needs to be remodel, i was not aware of the extra parking and hotel daily fee ( towels and island ) I was giving a room down in the marina which is ok but I had a handicap bathroom which looked horrible. The room is date to the 70's and worse I had screaming kids as neighbors. We asked for another room which the did but the apparence was the same , we were right in Front of the maids room, the doors were always open and disorganized, the halls were dirty and let's not to about the color of their walls. Once again the location, the view and palomino Island were great hotel needs improvement !