Ratings based on 1,444 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Older hotel but beautiful views and beach

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: there is alot to do.
Cons: The food, room bathrooms, restaurant service and prices
Location: Palomino Island is great! Golf.
The hotel is very large and old. We stayed in the Marina and liked it there. It was away from the crowds of the main hotel and has easy access to the ferry to Palomino Island where we went every day. The pool closest to the marina is also great. Not crowded at all. We had breakfast included with our package and enjoyed the food at Las Brisas. The food and service at the other restaurants is not great. We ate at Bally Ho bar many nights. Stingrays was very expensive and the food was not good. My friends meal was cold, mine consisted of half a small fillet of seabass that was very salty. We were told of the restaurants outside the hotel through "the gate" near the scuba diving. A short 5 minute walk with bring you to an area with food vendors and some restaurants. We tried one of the restaurants which had better food but the service was atrocious. It was so bad that the cook/owner came out and offered us all free dessert. I read some reviews that complained about the venicular or ferry. We had no problems with either. Both veniculars were working when I was there and there was never a wait. The ferry ran every half hour. It was a nice trip. The hotel is older and some areas show that but it was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Vacation Destination in PR

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Location, Activities and peacefulness.
Cons: Quality and freshness of meals served in restaurants.
Great for families and kids. Plenty of activities and options for adults and kids. Nice private beach on their private island. Very clean property and friendly staff overall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Great experience. Plan for plenty of time when moving around the hotel with the various elevators. Only issue we had with our experiences is the poor conditions of the elevators from location to location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando,Fl

One of the best hotels in Puerto Rico

Posted Apr 15, 2015
The service by Ileana at the front desk was above expectations I was celebrating my birthday and she took care of me and my wife like no other hotel that I stayed before she gave us the most amazing ocean view that I can imagine!!! People if you go to Puerto Rico you need to stay in this hotel!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Fabulous setting and gorgeous location.

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, Location
Cons: The room cleaning could be improved, but it was satisfactory.
Location: Scuba diving, water park, nature preserve, island beach, rain forest, Old San Juan, snorkling
The resort property is amazing. The cliff setting and location is breath taking. The facility is extremely well maintained, and the staff friendly, courteous and contentious about offering guests an amazing vacation experience. The property is family oriented with plenty to do for everyone, including younger children and teenagers. The island beach is just breathtaking. The scuba diving was excellent and the dive staff friendly, knowledge and offered an exciting dive adventure. The rain forest hike is a must do. The food and cocktails were excellent. Because of the family orientation, there is not a significant night life scene but this was not a drawback for our family. We will definitely be returning! From my 15 year old: It was awesome and nothing went wrong. From my 6 year old: It was great and I want to go back tomorrow!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chesapeake, va

Best Vacation Ever!!!!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Initially we received a room with partial ocean view, but it wasn't an updated room. It was clean and would have been fine for me but my wife wanted to have choices. So the desk clerk obliged us and let us look at two different rooms. One of them was overlooking the pool and ocean, so we took that one. Thank you Luis. The stay was incredible, relaxing and all staff was courteous. The restaurants were like all the reviews talk about. Some were high priced and not worth the meal. The one meal that was good was cafe caribe for breakfast. Had French toast and eggs and coffee every morning and it was inexpensive and good. Bella vista was decent for ambiance and the pizza was delicious, just small, so order 2. The pools were heaven. The volleyball net in the first pool had to go, it took up 80% of the pool when people were playing. Center pool was more adult friendly, with some kids. The top pool was more kid friendly. All in all, excellent vacation and stay. Yes the hotel overall facilities were dated somewhat, but it is 70 years old, and they are doing renovations slowly. If you don't like your room, ask for another.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous all the way around.

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Location: Visit the bioluminiscent bay.
Hotel is gorgeous. Private island of Palomino is gorgeous. Facilities, gorgeous. Our view? Yup, gorgeous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Queens NY

Everything in one place

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Had the best vacation...Marilyn at the front desk was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lots of amenities for kids! Food just ok.

Posted Apr 10, 2015
My 5 year old had a wonderful time. Private beach was awesome. Waterpark is great too. Room was fine. Spacious bathroom but not the nicest room. They didn't clean very well. Beautiful property. Babysitting service was reliable and we felt very comfortable with her.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fairfax, VA

Fabulous Spring break!

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Very comfy bed and great activities. Loved the water park, weather, and variety on menus at each restaurant...we enjoyed the food.