Ratings based on 873 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Morrisville, PA

NIce location, disgruntled employees damper stay

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: I like the location it 5 minutes from the airport. It has two large pools with plenty of space inbetween making for two very differnent experiences.
Cons: The place looks tired, get lobby doors fix, get the sink drain draining, take care of your employee so that they are happy.
Location: Great location for the beach, plus access to other restaurants.
El San Juan Hotel facilities are in need for some TCL and the employee of the hotel attending bar, pool and beach side are not happy or friendly. Not to be confused with the independly run restuarants (about 7 restaurants) or shops inside the hotel all treated us very nicely. To make it real: The beach side lunch took 55 minutes between inititial drink to lunch (we ordered 4 hot sandwitches) we would have been OK with the delay had the sandwitch arrived hot possible even warm but they came back stiff cold. The bar in the lobby, had a special event Friday with all seating reserved for non-guest (what about the hotel guest where do we sit). Now the kicker, we ask for the Bartender drinks, we two young kids with us it is a family hotel after all, he looks at the kids, as explains sure once I done setting the bar, but kids can be here. Please note there are other customer with drinks served and we are in the open area lobby. We found a differ bartender and bar to give our money to. The restaurant in the roof top, Jimmy's ... BBQ, greeted with a smile and had alcoholic drinks for us a soda for the kids, before we could open the menu and service with a smile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort, with beach access and multiple pools.

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Pools, view of the ocean and staff.
Cons: The current system allow individuals to save lounging options without showing up for hours. Seating options should be available for equal access.
Location: Rain forest, historic town, kayaking and beach access
Wonderful, beautiful, adventurous and safe, A lovely Island to visit and explore. Many options to enjoy. Mountains, beach, and rainforest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Variety of things to do.
Location: Location is fantastic located on the beach.
Very relaxing and comfortable stay. Conveniently located in Isle Verde and close to many restaurants and entertainment choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nyc

Okay hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: The beach and the spa.
Cons: Rooms could be nicer - lobby could use renovating for sure. the chairs were all old and dirty
Location: Right on beach. Also next to Intercontinental so you can walk in and check out their pool and casino as well.
The hotel is nice and right on the beach. The rooms however were very bare, expected a nicer room and a better view. The hotel is very noisy and people come from all over to party here, so if you want a relaxing vacation, this would not be the hotel to choose. That said, the weather was perfect, the beach is beautiful, i had a wonderful massage and enjoyed the gym as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eliot ME

Lobby is loud

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Lobby is loud rooms a little old beach and pools beautiful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york, ny

great beach resort

Posted Jan 30, 2015
the pool areas and beach at the El San Juan were beautiful. however for the amount we paid, I expected the room to be a lot cleaner. we noticed a lot of dirt on the floor and on the walls in the bathroom. the floors were also very sticky. all in all, it was a great stay. on sat nights, the lobby turns into a lounge with live music. we enjoyed all the amenities of the hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Great Hotel With Awesome Nightlife

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Are trip spanned Tuesday Night through Sunday Morning. It was an older crowd on Tuesday and Wednesday but the crowd got younger as the weekend approached. Saturday night was the best atmosphere and crowd. Drinks were expensive as beer was around $8 each and mixed drinks around $12 each. We ate at most of the restaurants there and also went to Club Brava a couple times. This is a lot nicer hotel then many of the other options around. The casino was smaller than expected but it had many options for gamblers. The love band and dj in the lobby was great with mainly Latin music being played.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom florida

Close to beach ok Hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Friendly Staff.
Cons: Pool furniture needed updating so do rooms.
Location: Had and inexpensive breakfast at mi casita.
We stayed 3 night and the rooms were not as nice as I thought it would be. The first room we stayed in the headboard was ripped and fixed with a matching colored tape. Julissa at the front desk was awesome and accommodating and moved us to 2 new rooms that so our group could be near each other. Entertainment was great and Luis and Charlene at the bar lobby were awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

An enjoyable week

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: The access to beach and pool areas were wonderful. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.
Cons: The air conditioning could use more control choices. It was just on full or off.
Location: Couldn't be more convenient to the airport and there were plenty of shops and places to eat within walking distance.
My wife & I stayed at the El San Juan hotel on our honeymoon in 1969. We returned there this month for out 45th anniversary. It brought back wonderful memories. We were amazed that although all those years had passed we could still remember how it was back then. We enjoyed the week immensely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Right on beach

Posted Jan 26, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay at the El San Juan. Beautiful lobby and facilities. Our room was huge and the bed and pillows were super comfortable. When we let the front desk know we were celebrating our honeymoon, they graciously comped our daily breakfast buffets and gave us free drink coupons for the pool bar. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious but very overpriced so we were happy it was comped. The hotel is in a great location- lots of good restaurants nearby. We only ate at Brother Jimmys in the hotel and it was only "ok" but also expensive. The pool was great and the swim up pool bar was awesome! You're right on the beach which is beautiful. We had a great time and would recommend the hotel for future guests.