Ratings based on 947 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Beautiful pools nice rooms

Posted May 21, 2015
Overpriced drinks and food and old lady at front desk was rude but overall very nice stay, beach was amazing and pools were very relaxing , clubs only open on the Saturday night I was there
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff. Building maintenance is lacking.

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Staff was nice.
Cons: Maintenance. The resort is about 40 years old. There are plenty of older places around the world that are in better condition.
The staff was friendly. The room and grounds need maintenance. The hallways are dirty, bathroom door doesn't close completely, furniture is dirty, and pool area is well worn. The restaurants and bars in the resort are over priced. Our experience in Puerto Rico was good, so we may visit again. However, I would not stay at El San Juan Resort and Casino again.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Excellent location

Posted May 15, 2015
Bathroom needs update and the fridge in the room was not working. Other than that, the hotel is great and plenty to do. The staff was very courteous and polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Wonderful Place to Stay

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: All the options/amenities available on site so you really didn't need to leave the resort if you didn't want to.
Cons: Less expensive dining options on the resort or in the shops area.
Location: The hotel is able to book daily excursions to suit every interest level. Within walking distance to other casinos and restaurants. Beach right there
I was worried about the stay after reading some of the reviews - people either loved it or hated it. I was glad we kept the reservations and had a lovely week of fun in the sun. The staff was pleasant, some more so than others and very eager to help but did not experience any rudeness or slow service we feared from previous reviews. The room was clean and spacious with a lovely view overlooking the pools and the ocean. For the most part it was a quiet trip, not too much going on during the week. There was music in the lobby and it did get busy there towards the weekend, but nothing that interfered with our stay and certainly didn't bother us when we were in our rooms (couldn't hear it at all). The casino was small but a nice distraction when looking for something to do out of the sun. All in all it was a very relaxing trip and I would definitely stay here again. My husband and I stayed the first week in May 2015 - some families and party groups but nothing out of hand, and certainly didn't interfere with our experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Nice hotel close to the beach and airport

Posted May 12, 2015
The hotel staff is great. The decor inside the rooms are outdated but the rooms are clean and spacious. There's little restaurants near by. Taxis are always close by. The restaurants are too expensive in the hotel but the food is good. The club inside plays contemporary music. the casino is small but nice. Overall good time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted May 7, 2015
Excellent ! Everything about hotel was great. enjoy myself !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Awesome stay

Posted May 6, 2015
I would very much recommend this hotel. Awesome pools , beach right outside ; walking distance from good restaurants and a Walgreens. Would give it 5 stars but the food and drinks are overpriced and the drinks are very watered down. The staff was very friendly, especially the concierge (I forgot his name but he's an older gentleman). Overall, my next trip to Puerto Rico I will stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Beautiful beach, mediocre hotel at best.

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: The beach, and the food.
Cons: Attitude, attitude, attitude!
Location: Shopping and restaurants in Old San Juan, Bio luminescent Bay, kayaking, rain forest hiking, all worth the time.
Rooms in the main tower have no balcony, you may as well stay at a Howard Johnson in the middle of the city. No feel for the Caribbean until you go outside. With the exception of a few, front desk personnel were rude and unhelpful. Wait staff at the swim up pool couldn't care less if they waited on you, it took 25 minutes to get a drink one day, and we are former bartenders who tip! The grounds were kept clean and housekeeping staff were very nice. Food was excellent! I was not happy when they tried to charge me an additional $430.00 for 2 rooms resort fees after we had paid $1,500 for a 7 night stay each room. Not worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2015
Hotel had all you needed and staff was extremely helpful and nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted May 2, 2015
Relaxing comfort and enjoy everything about it instead of check in time