Ratings based on 1,337 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baton Rouge, LA

Beautiful Hotel with all the amenities!

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Everything!
We spent our 20th anniversary in Puerto Rico. We chose the Gran Melia based on previous ratings. We had an awesome time. Gran Melia is a beautiful resort. Set away from other commercial facilities it gives you the sense of really being away from it all. Set up so that you can mix and mingle with other guest or stay to yourselves if you choose. I would rate the staff a 10+ - attentive, friendly and seemed to take pride in their facility.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Resort is beautifull but....

Posted May 19, 2015
They had an excessive ant problem on balcony in the outside tub. Staff didn't change my room or give me a reduced fair. They hold an extreme amount of money on your card.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom a

I didn't enjoy

Posted May 18, 2015
I feel rush to get out of the room to check out at 830 am when my check out was at 11 am I couldn't enjoy my stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Beautiful hotel with amazing staff

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Stay in the Melia Club side - rooms are bigger and the private pool is smaller and less crowded. Better for families with small kids.
Cons: The only area for improvement was housekeeping services - our room did not get cleaned the 3rd day and it took 3 calls to finally get cleaned towels.
We stayed at Gran Melia over Mother's Day weekend and unfortunately had to take our almost 2-year old daughter to the ER for a bad case of bronchiolitis. We called security at 2am the first night of our stay and they recommended that an ambulance take our baby and my husband to the closest hospital. The following day, security also sent a van to pick us up from the hospital. Originally we were at the Red Level garden suite, but after I spoke with the concierge, she quickly moved us to a 1-bedroom suite so our daughter can have her own sleeping space after getting discharged from the hospital. Thankfully the rest of our stay was a lot better than that first night, but I have to commend the staff for helping us during an extremely stressful time. Blanco and Fuentes were the security folks on call that night, and Nilda was the concierge who helped to switch our room. We could NOT have survived the "vacation" without them! Thank you again! We were very impressed with the restaurants Passion and Tempo, also Cafe Soleil with their bountiful breakfast buffet. We will definitely be back, and hopefully no ER trip the next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, Ny

Great stay

Posted May 14, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay. Our room was spacious and well appointed, not too far from the reception area. The bed was comfy and the AC was great. Room service was prompt and the food was good. Golf cart transport service from the room to reception was a pleasant bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Stay!!!!

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Hotel grounds are beautiful, great food, amazing views of Atlantic ocean and El Yunque Rainforest, clean rooms!
Cons: Prices could definitely be reduced, frozen alcoholic drinks cost $11, cheeseburger costs $16, etc.
Location: You are literally about a 10 minute drive from El Yunque Rainforest.
My husband and I just returned from a four night stay at Gran Melia Puerto Rico. We had the most amazing time ever!!! The grounds at this resort are absolutely gorgeous and well maintained! Check in was very fast and easy. We stayed in the gardenview room and it was beautiful. The staff did a great job cleaning daily. The beach is breathtaking however it is rocky and has a lot of reef so we chose to swim in the pool. Of course the drinks and food are overpriced however everything we ate was amazing! They also have two markets where you can buy bakery, snacks, alcohol which helped us to save money. This resort is more for relaxation however which was exactly what my husband and I were looking for. If you're looking for night life this would not be a good location for you. Staff at times seemed to be short with conversation however I do believe it's just their culture. All in all they were helpful and friendly. We went to El Yunque and Old San Juan and enjoyed every minute of it! We would recommend to see both if you have time. We definitely intend on returning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Everything, staff was out- standing, clean room, beach close to room. Food was great!
Cons: The prices were steep for food and beverages. Hotel is to far from old san juan, and the taxis were outrageously expensive, take a tour, or rent a car
Location: There was nothing close to this Hotel but the Beach. As stated above, this is a beautiful Hotel, but if you are on a budget, do not choose this Hotel
We have travelled all over Mexico and the Carib. and our experience at Gran Milia was just an ideal Hotel to stay, especially for disabled guest because of the 24 hour golf carts service to pick you up and take you any where you need to go on the premises. Thanks Melia drivers for your courtesey! I did tip every time because, they make not much of salery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom albany, ny

Beautiful, exceeded my expectations!

Posted May 13, 2015
I took my daughter for a quick birthday weekend trip, the resort exceeded my expectations, beautiful, clean, gorgeous views and pools! Hotel staff was wonderful and very accommodating! We will definiately return.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NY NY

Stay at the Ritz or The Wyndham El Conquistador

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Leaving the property was the best part of my vacation.
Cons: Deposit money should not become artificially "LOST".
Location: I had a beachfront room. There is nothing much nearby. You are expected to stay on the property.
Upon arrival I was told that they had not record of my one night deposit. I was told to ask Expedia what they did with it, since the hotel did not have it, dispite my receipt. I had to pay it over. (I was not given a receipt). I had a dusty room with never enough coffee or towels. The employes bristle at any suggestion that you just may need something. The food is terrible in the restaurants and the wait staff is lazy. I had to ask for the room to be cleaned, as it is not done after day one without asking. Checkout is at noon but miraculously they came to clean the room on thier own only I still had one hour to finish packing and straightening up before leaving the room! We had asked for extra coffee and extra cups which never came. The primary language spoken there is Spanish. If you are looking for service and personal attention, or even just to feel appreciated, you will need to stay elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom utica,ny

Very nice hotel

Posted May 11, 2015
The hotel and pool are very nice. The rm was cleaned every day. Always had clean towels and washcloths.The staff was always pleasent and helpful. We needed ice one time and called our butler Eli and he brought it rt away. We had the red level upgrade which included the buffet breakfast that was excellent, we had omelets made to order fresh every day. We had a wonderful time and will definitely return again to visit the hotel and their excellent staff.