Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on private beach.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Nice hotel except there was no hair dryer or hot water at night or first thing in the morning because it is heated by solar power. Only stayed 1 night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jorge from iowa

Great beach bar

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Bad wifi coverage in my room, but everything else is pretty goos
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the price and beach restaurant

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Beach dining
Cons: Service was a bit slow
Nice hotel for the price and beach restaurant - was clean and well situated.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TG from Chicago

Bohemian Style Beach Front Hostel

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: VIEW.
Cons: Out door shower area to rinse sand off. Ice machine. WIFI in rooms.
Location: Great walking area but a hard place to park especially on the weekends. The location is wonderful for getting around the city.
She's an Old Lady with many coats of paint so don't be fooled by your first look. Rooms are small but adequate, cell phones and laptops do Not work in you room. Either do the drains and air conditioning. There were no glasses, Ice bucket, wash cloth or bath mats in the rooms. The WIFI works in lobby area but there is little privacy or spread out room...which might be fine for the younger noisier set, but not if you want a quiet nights sleep. The restaurant was fine but pricy and you couldn't find a nice group of people willing to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martha from Albuquerque, NM

Beautiful ocean view and sounds

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Closeness to beach
Cons: More snack foods in restaurant, maybe a small gift shop
Location: I walked to the restaurants and shops in Condado; it's pretty much isolated in OP
Staff in both hotel and restaurant were lovely and kind. Very helpful in getting around and tours. Being able to eat right on the beach was wonderful! It's a little far from a lot of action, but the peacefulness was welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bennett from Athens, GA

Literally right on the beach

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: beach access
If you want a place that you walk out and it is right on the beach, this is for you! It has a beachside restaurant and bar. Great to spend your day lounging at. The only downside is, the room was TINY with one window looking into a courtyard. If i hadn't booked the day of, I would probably be upset at paying the price i did, but overall, it worked for our short trip to san juan. The beach access is really the best part of this place. You barely can see it driving in, it is at the deadend of a street. We circled the block a few times before getting out and walking around to ask people where it was. I give it 3.5 stars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Josie from Arkansas

It was alright

Posted Mar 12, 2014
The guy working the night shift, Jorge, is super friendly and helpful. He helped us plan different excursions for the rest of the week. I can't say the same for the hotel workers during the day shift. They were rude and not very welcoming. I saw a lot of reviews about the showers not having hot water but I didn't have an issue with that at all. The room is small but they try to maintain it and keep things clean. It is close to the beach and in a good neighborhood. The hotel has a restaurant in it that serves great food. Somewhat pricey but overall good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hosteria del mar - some advices

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: a lot
Location: Mango's and Kasalta restuarants
Since hotel located on the public beach it is over crowded ...pls watch out your beach bags. my cell phone got stolen from my beach bag in 2 second.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location was a bit "out of the way", but was nice to be right on the beach. Our air conditioner was broken the second night, so was very hot and uncomfortable---they got us a fan, but didn't offer to compensate us or give a complimentary breakfast or anything. Thought they could have been a little more sympathetic.
2 out of 5
by aj from florida

Nice location on the beach BUT not what u expect..

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: Nice location
Cons: Almost everything except the staff was friendly
Location: On the beach, grab a chair and enjoy
Solar powered water heating? I waisted an hour waiting for the water to heat up for a shower as there sign said "please be paitence". The shower never got hot not even warm. Cold shower !!!. Paint was peeling and cracking, inferior finishes, and smelled musty and moldy Checkout is at 11:00 am and its 50 dollars for an extra hour if you like to have a late checkout as most people do!( 12:00pm) Rediculous! If you stay longer than 12:00 they charge you an extra day at full price. Ok place if you are in a pinch, enjoy cold showers, and don't mind busy locals all around you at the beach during your stay.