Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Beach within reach!

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Loved our stay at hotel Columbus. It's clean, our bedroom is very comfortable and very quiet, my wife and I loved it. After a day of surfing or traveling from somewhere , you just want to go back to your hotel and relaxed. Freddy, the owner, is the best. He will cook whatever you want and he is just really a good host. Definitely will stay again at hotel Columbus if ever we go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom VA

Not what I expected...

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros - clean, ocean sounds, fridge and cold ac Cons - no deadbolt, bare bones, exterior not well lit Front desk was vacant when we arrived, seemed like one man show, but once attended to, we received personal service. Front desk/office was closed at 8am when we checked out but ran into staff accidentally. Was OK, just didn't feel 100% safe/secure and not worth the price paid in my opinion.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: It was on the ocean.
Cons: Hot water, we had none. Only 1 towel, and no washcloths. General condition of grounds was very bad.
great ocean view, and fairly easy to find breakfast was ok, not in a timely manner
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Juan, PR

Overbooked, no stay

Posted Feb 17, 2015
We arrived at 8pm. The hotel staff pretty much ignored us attending other guest requests. After 20 minutes I demanded to be assisted. Only then the owner "owned up" to the fact that they were overbooked. No reasonable alternative was offered. We left and drove 45 minutes to stay with a relative.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach view rustic meets toxic

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Owner cannot delegate is too busy trying to do everything & finishes nothing. Had to beg for toilet paper & bath towels that smelled of fried food. Slimy shower overflowed. Room & deck area caked in black green mold. Excellent location but is in ruins, not sure if it's perpetually under construction or self destruction. A pitiful disappointment. Cleaning service cleaned once at 4pm and was angry we were in room when they came to clean around dinner time because we were relaxing. Not a vacation destination it was actually depressing to see what could be an incredible resort hideaway crumbling I to the sea and being so poorly mismanaged.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Peterfrom New York City

hotel Columbus a delight

Posted Jan 24, 2015 on Hotels.com
Owner is a delight, very thoughtful; reason enough to return. I loved Aguada, and found my perfect beach. Place is small and not a lot going on, but that is what I hoped for. Not good if you want excitement. But I would go back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Stockholm

Nice view

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Nice view over the bay and it's beautiful sunsets. Room was ok but a bit worn over the years. Very friendly staff. Great ham, cheese and egg sandwiches for breakfast. No walking distance to anything.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Excellent Service, Lack of Security, Small Rooms.

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff its friendly helpful and fun to be around. They make you feel like you are in a 5* hotel when in reality it the hotel.
Cons: Rooms should have phones to communicate with the front desk, listing should be clear and concise.
Location: Location it's in the outskirts of Aguada, about 5 minutes drive from the Aguada beach.
The hotel has misleading information on the Expedia site. "Continental Breakfast Included"=Orange juice and toasts. No in room phones, Wifi internet its only available near the office not in the rooms, the actual beach its located about 5 minutes in car from the hotel. Cable in the TV only had local channels. No elevator for the second floor, uncomfortable beds.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wadefrom Humacao

Quiet, small hotel off the beaten path...

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was small and quaint mom and pop style facility. It is a very serene setting so no loud activities or wild crowds. The food was very good and it literally overhangs the ocean where the beach is missed if you don't look straight down. The sound of the ocean waves so close and sunset were amazing.