Ratings based on 692 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in Old San Juan!

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: I loved the happy hour with wines, cheese, and grapes every afternoon from 6-7 pm.
I wanted to stay in Old San Juan so that I was within easy walking of the sights and the restaurants there. This place was perfect. It is very 'atmospheric'. In my opinion, you can stay at a nice resort anywhere in the world -- if you're in Puerto Rico, you should try to get an authentic taste of Puerto Rico. The room d├ęcor had a lot of character, while the bed was extremely comfortable. Moreover, there are double doors and thick shutters and drapes covering the windows -- so there's no light or sound to wake you up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach,Fl

Old San Juan

Posted Sep 10, 2014
El Convento was a great place to stay if you are interested in the historic sites of Old San Juan. It was walking distance to museums & fortresses. There is a free trolly that takes you around as well. The hotel offers wine & cheese every evening from 6-7pm which is nice way to kick off the evening. Husband & I had a wonderful stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Amazing honeymoon spot

Posted Sep 6, 2014
El Convento had everything we could want in terms of old world charm and comfort. It was luxurious without being pretentious. Our room had an attached patio with waterfall which totally blew us away. We arrived to champagne. The rooftop pool area was beautiful and had a wonderful view. The free coffee available all day was delicious and they hosted daily wine and cheese hour which was really nice. I would absolutely visit again or recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charged twice!

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Cons: Don't charge twice!
I really liked this hotel when I stayed there. The ambiance was really nice and the people at the desk (one girl in particular-I think her name is Paula) were super friendly. The free cheese and crackers was a nice touch and the tables and chairs on the balconies and the various terraces were really lovely to sit and relax. There were a lot of mosquitoes in the room though and I did get bit up pretty bad. My main problem though is that I was charged twice! First by Expedia (which I paid in full), and then again by the hotel when I checked out. I am trying to get this corrected but I suggest you check your credit card statements to make sure it doesn't happen to you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny city

Charming Hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: It's old charm. The top floor's pool area sitting in the middle of Old San Juan by the bay is beautiful.
Cons: The gym very much needs air conditioning, especially being in a tropical area.
Location: It's right by the fort El Morro, the Governor's Mansion, the whitewashed cemetery by the bay. Great restaurants, cafes and bars and shopping.
Charming historical old hotel right by El Morro and the Governor's Mansion with great dining rooms. Waiters Tony, Chegui and Grande know the history of the island well! Very romantic. Can't miss.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful boutique hotel in the city

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Our stay at the El Convento was far better than we had expected it to be. The staff was courteous and very helpful and helped improve the overall experience of our stay. The location was super and helped us enjoy the beauty of old San Juan and the many things it has to offer. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants the true Puerto Rican experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from takoma park md

Unique hotel experience!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
This old San Juan treasure continues to surpass our expectations , even on our second time staying at this wonderful hotel. Recommended it for couples looking to get away from the other casino resort vibe and enjoy a romantic experience. Would not recommend bringing small kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome!

Posted Aug 10, 2014
This hotel had unique character right in the heart of old San Juan. The only downfall was the small pool which they cover by offering a beach pass to a isla verde resort. I loved it here and would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Hotel, amenities, staff were superb! Nice and out going. From the afternoon wine tastings to the day pass to Courtyard Marriott on Isla Verde beach this hotel was of five star caliber!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really care about customer satisfaction

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: They badly need a fully computerized system to run the hotel.
Location: Plenty of shopping and dining available in vicinities.
1) Things happen: Upon arrival we faced problems with our reservation (they gave our room to other guests). Took more than 30 minutes to resolve and were assigned a lower category room. When tried to order room service we learned the phone in our room was not working. 2) They care: Given the unpleasant situation described above, we received complimentary breakfast, a bottle of wine and were waived the late check-out fee (a total value of about $200). The seemed genuinely concerned and worried about what happened. 3) Not the best restaurant in town but good enough. The tapa's place is a better option than the restaurant in the first level. 4) Great location and beautiful building. Definitely among the best in the island. 5) Do not rent a car. Getting to the hotel on a Friday night will take you a long time. Traffic is hectic in Old San Juan.