Ratings based on 810 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom IN

Just wish it was nearer to the beach!

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: history, courtyard, staff, quiet and relaxing.
Cons: our room had twins; minor complaint, just wish there was an opportunity to have a queen size bed.
Location: Cristobal and Mondo castles. Old San Juan!
Everything you ask for in a hotel. friendly, courteous professional staff. quaint, historic room, fabulous courtyard atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Romantic

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Everything 100% plus. Except staff at check in. Supposed check in to be at 3:00 pm and we arrive there at 3:10 pm And the room not available. Send us to bar and leave us there for 2 hours. The staff of bar no good. After that everything was perfect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel in the heart of Old San Juan

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The location in Old San Juan is excellent. The historic "feel" can not be matched. The rooms and "extra" touches provide for a very comfortable stay
Cons: Make sure they arrange for taxi's because they like to assume that they will be available when you need one, as we experienced.
Location: Need to visit the old fort and walk along the shore line at the base of its walls. Highly recommend eating at Punta Vista restaurant.
The historic feel of Old San Juan experienced with the ocean breezes and warm temperatures provided both an interesting and relaxing vacation experience. There are many restaurants to choose from, but we highly recommend Punta Vista Restaurant. The only negative to our stay was in the form of a particular scam artist who claimed that both he and his elderly father were robbed and that he needed $8 for cab fare to the hospital. His appearance, including the abrasions on his face, indicated that he was telling the truth. It was only after sharing our story with another couple that we learned the truth. However, it is probably the most memorable $8 experience of the trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tortola

Let down by poor service

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Staff attitude and overall approach to customer service.
Location: Old San Juan is splendid. Restaurants for all cuisines and pockets
Every dealing with hotel staff was a battle from the moment we arrived until we left. I choose high rated (and expensive!) hotels precisely so my stays can be hassle free. El Convento staff made us feel like we were a nuisance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2015
We stayed for a week, getting away for a stress-free break. Hotel has lovely places to sit and relax. Open courtyard is very appealing. Wonderful location. Great, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom suburban washington dc

Hotel El Convento is perfectly quaint!

Posted Feb 4, 2015
El Comvwnto is the perfect quaint destination for a girlfriend weekend or a couples getaway! All Old San Juan is walkable and convenient. The hotel offers a fabulous 2nd floor bar with great tapas and drinks, complementary evening wine and cheese, and a lovely roof deck with plunge pool and bay/mountain view. I will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom milwaukee, wi

Excellent location, clean and classy

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Located in the center of old San juan, easy walk to all city attractions, very comfortable and well appointed, wine and cheese on the rooftop an excellent touch, staff very friendly and helpful. Great place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dominican Republic

Over priced and disappointing

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Location and the facility of the free water and fruit was nice.
Cons: The attitude of the staff and maintain the equipment in the rooms.
Location: The location was excellent for exploring Old San Juan.
Very disappointing experience, the room and service was not to a standard that you would expect for the premium price. There are better, cheaper hotels in Old San Juan. Problems included: an extremely noisy air conditioning unit in the room with a broken thermostat, a small bed - advertised as Queen sized but not even an European Queen size, both sockets did not work at the desk and the shower had no power (far less than other cheaper hotels in Old San Juan). Worse however was the attitude of the staff, we tried to get a table in the restaurant at 8:45pm, the staff was more interested in tidying up for the night rather than deal with another guest, after being totally ignored for over 20 minutes we left. This was followed by a breakfast where the cleaner insisted in mopping the floor all around our table with a smelly mop while we were eating. There wasnt a spill it just seems that the staff just want to finish their jobs ASAP regardless of the guests. We do not recommend this hotel, there are far better hotels in Old San Juan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfekte Lage in der Altstadt

Posted Jan 23, 2015
XxxxxxxxxcccccccccccccccccccccCccccccccccccccccccccccCccc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming Blend of Old and New

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Very comfortable, great location, nice courtyard A bit pricey Charming architecture, and modern additions (quiet and easy)