Ratings based on 635 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JLD from Chicago

Historic Property in Heart of Old San Juan

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: This hotel had wonderful old world charm with its wrought iron, tile and beamed ceilings.
Location: Excellent location in the heart of Old San Juan.
We had only booked one night, but I would stay there again when in San Juan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from Winnipeg, Canada

Request a room on floor 4 or 5 for a view.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: The old world aesthetics.
Cons: Housekeeping.
Location: Excellent. Walking distance to all attractions.
Housekeeping was inconsistent. Some days no bottled water, no coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The only negative was the size of the "pool"

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Except for the size of the pool, we had no complaints. The staff and cleanliness were top notch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Loved this hotel!

Posted Mar 27, 2014
The staff is fabulous, so helpful and nice and the hotel is beautiful and convienent to shops and great restaurants. The ability to use the beach facilities at the Marriot Courtyard was a bonus! Would highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by EC from Brooklyn, NY

Nice hotel, great location.

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Location, room, amenities.
Location: Shopping, El Morro, Eating.
Loved El Convento. Walking distance to everything (shopping, eating, sightseeing). Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was a nicely appointed. Ate at the tapas restaurant and wasn't that impressed (a little pricey, small servings). Took advantage of the sister hotel on Condado beach (this hotel is not near any beaches, was a $15 cab ride). Free bottled water and fruits was a nice touch. Daily wine reception was also a plus. Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in old San Juan!

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Loved the wine tasting from 6-7. Got to meet other families staying there.
Cons: Friday night there was a flamenco dancer and the music was toooo loud to enjoy!
Loved being in old San Juan and the hotel had so much character! Only ate one meal there at El Picoteo.
3 out of 5
by pierre from VA

Cozy but can do better

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: It was cozy. Liked the cobblestone roads outside. Also they had free wine and cheese at 6-8.
Cons: Upgrading people when a problem arises. Also some type of breakfast.
Location: There's small eateries outside. Also you can take cabs. There's a Cheesecake Factory and PF Changs at the main mall.
We went there before our cruise. It was an ok room. They did not have a king or queen bed available. Even tho I clearly marked Queen when I purchased the room. Went to the front desk and they had nothing. There's also no carpet on the floor. TV was ok. And they had a fridge and microwave. But we decided on the way back we wouldnt stay there. It's cozy if you never had better. But it's deep in old San Juan. And if there's traffic the cabs wont want to go there during rush hour. Found that out when we went to the mall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by loves cassava from milwaukee

Location

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Location was great for walking and eating out. Convenient to cabs and tours. The layout is nice very unique and possessing so much character.
Cons: Bed linens, pillows,and mattress. Overall there are areas needing some cleaning or care. Food was not great, service slow in patio area. Tapas area A+
Location: Great restaurants and historic sights. Rainforest, nice trip. Taxi expensive to get to a beach. Enjoyed parks and a farmers market with art /crafts.
We enjoyed ability to be outdoors all day or eve. Did rainforest experience, very exhausting. Pool area and adjacent patio very nice and restful. Walking difficult on uneven surfaces in old San Juan but we were fine. Loved the history and restored buildings. We shopped and checked out small stores. Found authentic items made in PR. FELT SAFE IN OLD SAN JUAN STREETS AND IN HOTEL. an abundance of security kept much order. We had some memorable meals, coffee and conversations with resident people. and want to do it all over again. Enjoyed the Hotel El Convento.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marcia and Fred

Excellent hotel, staff and location

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: The room was great, the service was also. The location was phenomenal
Cons: can't think of anything
Location: GREAT LOCATION...walking to everywhere
enjoyed the hotel's location, ambiance, staff and facilities.... loved the whole experience we'd return in a flash
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Lovely charm. Unique and special.

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Location, unique character, attention to detail.
The hotel was delightful, not at all a cookie cutter, but with top notch service and amenities, such as excellent coffee all day, a lovely wine/cheese reception each afternoon and beautiful old furnishings, in the heart of Old San Juan.