Ratings based on 857 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom fla

Mixed reviews, some good, some not.

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The history, architexture, location.
Cons: Maintenance, dining was iffy, pool is lacking (approx. 8x12). In room lighting, and bedding.
Location: Great location, shopping, dining, history all within a short walk.
Room was small but clean. View of an alley out French doors. Cable TV operation and content not very good. Beds were 2 single, and small but decent, lighting was terrible in the room, very low levels with all lights on. OK during the day when the balcony doors were open, but dark in the evening. Swimming pool ok for 2, no more, Jacuzzi was ok, could have been warmer. Staff was friendly and responsive. We ate there 2 times in our 5 night stay, was ok, not great although pricey. The last night we had dinner there and it was not good, service (we waited forever) was poor and the food was worse. Complained(which we rarely do) and the MGR took it off our hotel bill thank God. The location is great, lots of street activity and the Cathederal nearby add a lot and the wine and cheese reception is fun. Overall ambience is quite nice, but you pay for it. Not your typical cookie cutter hotel, offers much in the way of architexture and history, but could do better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom IL

Beautiful hotel in the heart of historic old San J

Posted May 24, 2015
Recently returned from vacation and we decided to end our trip in el convento. I was not disappointed. Incredible building and history, excellent service, delectable restaurants on site, safe, bustling surrounding neighborhood, and the wine and cheese hour.... I shall return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

Best Hotel in Old San Juan

Posted May 22, 2015
Spend the extra money and stay here. This is a truly fabulous hotel. Five stars? No, but an awesome four stars quality
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

You must stay here!

Posted May 9, 2015
So this hotel is centrally located in old San Juan. It is right next to the hotspots and the nightlife and we love staying here for three days recently.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Great location in Old San Juan

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: Location close to all major Old San Juan attractions but far enough from cruise ship terminals
Cons: AC; room odor; bathroom remodel needed; deodorize rooms
Location: Lots of tourist shopping, sights, restaurants and bars
Had a deluxe queen room. It was a nice size with very high ceilings. The view from the window was of the side alley and house next door. Room AC was strange. Overnight, the electronic thermostat would shut off the AC - even though it was close to 78F in the room and the temperature was set to 72F. There was a motion sensor on the thermostat. If you didn't move every 5 minutes, the AC would turn off. How are you supposed to sleep AND move every 5 minutes? No swimming pool, just a 4th floor plunge pool area with limited seating. But the hotel has an arrangement with the Courtyard Isla Verde Hotel. Pleasant enough, but the Courtyard is almost on the airport runway and EXTREMELY noisy from aircraft taking off and landing. Bathroom was VERY small and cramped. Needs to be updated. Zero counter space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pre Cruse Stay

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: History and character
Location: In the heart of Old San Juan , walking distance to the piers for the hearty.
Nicest hotel in Old San Juan. Regret that stay was only for one day. Breakfast under the tree in the courtyard was the best part.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Lovely hotel

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: the location - close to shops and resturants. the front desk is reponsive
Cons: communication
this hotel is centrally located in old san juan. our only issue was when we checked in. I booked this hotel through expedia and requested a queen bed. When we checked in, we were not advised that they gave us two twin beds. We went back to the front desk, they informed us the hotel was completely booked for the night. When i mentioned i specifically requested a queen bed, they mentioned that when you book with Expedia the bed type is not guaranteed, they only honor request made directly with the hotel. obviously frustrated my husband requested that the beds be connected and the room change the following evening. the hotel did accommodate the request and the room was changed the following day. the original room was 417, the a/c did not work properly and the shower was not working. they did send a technician to our room with in 5 minutes of the call we place, he was able to fix the shower. The a/c unfortunately was not fixed. the second room was lovely shower & a/c worked. we enjoyed the rest of our stay. communication can be improved. It was frustrating that we were not advised of the twin bed situation before we went upstairs and the original person at the front desk came across as booking with expedia we should expected a less class of service from their hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Glenside, PA

The only hotel in Viejo San Juan for us!

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: The sense of serenity during our stay and the happy hour daily, which brings guests together for an evening that over looks the church and sea!
Cons: On one of our stays, our room was on the 2nd floor. The room needed bathroom repairs and was darker than the rooms we previously enjoyed.
Location: There is so much to see and enjoy! Just the walk around the city of Old San Juan and the food, El Morro and location next to Isla Verde, the Zoo etc.
My parent's were born and raised in Puerto-Rico, so ever since I can remember and every time I've visited the island since I was 10 years old, I took note of El Convento Hotel. For me it is a landmark, even when I didn't understand the history of the hotel. As an adult, my husband and I experienced our first stay at El Convento 5-years ago and have gone back every year for more. Always without fail we've felt at home with the warmth of the employee's, the beauty of the Spanish architecture and it's location to El Morro. For me, it represents some of the history of my ancestor's and we plan to go back every year because it's like stopping the world for a few days to enjoy life and to reflect! For those of you who keep the hotel so beautiful, I thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Cape Cod, MA

Best place in Old San Juan

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: We enjoyed our room and the historic charm of the Hotel. The staff was friendly and most helpful in suggesting places to eat and tour companies.
Cons: We ate a full breakfast each day. The food was great. The service was slow for us averaging 45-60 minutes per day.
Location: We felt the location made it very easy to walk to all the major areas in Old San Juan.
The Hotel was terrific. We enjoyed everything and found the room, staff and ambiance fantastic.There was plenty of coffee and ice cold bottles of water throughout the day. We enjoyed the complimentary wine and cheese hour each evening.We did not hear anyone on either side of us. The pool was too small for swimming but always refreshing along with the hot tub. The pool area was never crowded. The location made it easy to walk to the forts, museums, along the water next to the old wall, to all the stores and restaurants and to the boat docks. We even took a shuttle boat over and quick cab ride to go to the Bacardi Rum factory. We walked to the casino by the docks. We spent one day at the Ocean front resort that works with the hotel and enjoyed their beach and pools. The rain forest tour was a great day as well. My biggest complaint was the humidity but who can control that! The weather was sunny, in the 80's every day and high 70's at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boiling Springs, PA

Gorgeous Building, Great Location, Wonderful Staff

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Customer service, location, architecture, art, history, food
Cons: Coin laundry was somewhat temperamental. I figured it out, but not before I wasted about $1.25 worth of quarters.
Location: Fort El Morro!!! San Juan Gate & the paseos, Cathedral de San Juan, Cafe Puerto Rico (Local Food), NuyoRican Cafe (Salsa Music), Siglo XX (Lunch)
What a great place. The outside of the hotel is large and yellow, but somehow a bit unassuming, standing across the street from the Cathedral. On the inside, however, this is a strikingly beautiful building, with its old Spanish architecture, large open-air courtyard, and different old pictures, artifacts and artworks throughout. The location couldn't be any better. Just a short walk to anything of interest in Old San Juan, but far enough away from the noise at night. The staff really know customer service. We were helped out by Jesyka and Stacy, who were both very helpful, but Pedro especially was so warm and helpful. He made great recommendations for where we could find great local food and live salsa music, and he really went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. The complimentary wine and cheese reception at 6pm was a really nice touch, but I would have been super impressed with this joint even without it. Perfect hotel for Old San Juan, very romantic for couples, but also great for anyone looking for a luxury hotel with a totally authentic experience.