Ratings based on 843 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Lovely hotel

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: the location - close to shops and resturants. the front desk is reponsive
Cons: communication
this hotel is centrally located in old san juan. our only issue was when we checked in. I booked this hotel through expedia and requested a queen bed. When we checked in, we were not advised that they gave us two twin beds. We went back to the front desk, they informed us the hotel was completely booked for the night. When i mentioned i specifically requested a queen bed, they mentioned that when you book with Expedia the bed type is not guaranteed, they only honor request made directly with the hotel. obviously frustrated my husband requested that the beds be connected and the room change the following evening. the hotel did accommodate the request and the room was changed the following day. the original room was 417, the a/c did not work properly and the shower was not working. they did send a technician to our room with in 5 minutes of the call we place, he was able to fix the shower. The a/c unfortunately was not fixed. the second room was lovely shower & a/c worked. we enjoyed the rest of our stay. communication can be improved. It was frustrating that we were not advised of the twin bed situation before we went upstairs and the original person at the front desk came across as booking with expedia we should expected a less class of service from their hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Glenside, PA

The only hotel in Viejo San Juan for us!

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: The sense of serenity during our stay and the happy hour daily, which brings guests together for an evening that over looks the church and sea!
Cons: On one of our stays, our room was on the 2nd floor. The room needed bathroom repairs and was darker than the rooms we previously enjoyed.
Location: There is so much to see and enjoy! Just the walk around the city of Old San Juan and the food, El Morro and location next to Isla Verde, the Zoo etc.
My parent's were born and raised in Puerto-Rico, so ever since I can remember and every time I've visited the island since I was 10 years old, I took note of El Convento Hotel. For me it is a landmark, even when I didn't understand the history of the hotel. As an adult, my husband and I experienced our first stay at El Convento 5-years ago and have gone back every year for more. Always without fail we've felt at home with the warmth of the employee's, the beauty of the Spanish architecture and it's location to El Morro. For me, it represents some of the history of my ancestor's and we plan to go back every year because it's like stopping the world for a few days to enjoy life and to reflect! For those of you who keep the hotel so beautiful, I thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Cape Cod, MA

Best place in Old San Juan

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: We enjoyed our room and the historic charm of the Hotel. The staff was friendly and most helpful in suggesting places to eat and tour companies.
Cons: We ate a full breakfast each day. The food was great. The service was slow for us averaging 45-60 minutes per day.
Location: We felt the location made it very easy to walk to all the major areas in Old San Juan.
The Hotel was terrific. We enjoyed everything and found the room, staff and ambiance fantastic.There was plenty of coffee and ice cold bottles of water throughout the day. We enjoyed the complimentary wine and cheese hour each evening.We did not hear anyone on either side of us. The pool was too small for swimming but always refreshing along with the hot tub. The pool area was never crowded. The location made it easy to walk to the forts, museums, along the water next to the old wall, to all the stores and restaurants and to the boat docks. We even took a shuttle boat over and quick cab ride to go to the Bacardi Rum factory. We walked to the casino by the docks. We spent one day at the Ocean front resort that works with the hotel and enjoyed their beach and pools. The rain forest tour was a great day as well. My biggest complaint was the humidity but who can control that! The weather was sunny, in the 80's every day and high 70's at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boiling Springs, PA

Gorgeous Building, Great Location, Wonderful Staff

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Customer service, location, architecture, art, history, food
Cons: Coin laundry was somewhat temperamental. I figured it out, but not before I wasted about $1.25 worth of quarters.
Location: Fort El Morro!!! San Juan Gate & the paseos, Cathedral de San Juan, Cafe Puerto Rico (Local Food), NuyoRican Cafe (Salsa Music), Siglo XX (Lunch)
What a great place. The outside of the hotel is large and yellow, but somehow a bit unassuming, standing across the street from the Cathedral. On the inside, however, this is a strikingly beautiful building, with its old Spanish architecture, large open-air courtyard, and different old pictures, artifacts and artworks throughout. The location couldn't be any better. Just a short walk to anything of interest in Old San Juan, but far enough away from the noise at night. The staff really know customer service. We were helped out by Jesyka and Stacy, who were both very helpful, but Pedro especially was so warm and helpful. He made great recommendations for where we could find great local food and live salsa music, and he really went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. The complimentary wine and cheese reception at 6pm was a really nice touch, but I would have been super impressed with this joint even without it. Perfect hotel for Old San Juan, very romantic for couples, but also great for anyone looking for a luxury hotel with a totally authentic experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oak Park, Il

Splendid Vacation

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Happy hour with complimentary wine and cheese in the 3rd floor patio was a great opportunity to make new friends.
Cons: There is a need for a larger swimming pool, but otherwise everything was superb
Location: Shop and sight see at your doorstep as well as great restaurants made every day special.
We chose this hotel because we wanted to be in the heart of Old San Juan. The room with the high ceilings and the comfortable bed was very restful. The staff was attentive polite and professional a joy to deal with.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bronx, NY

Nice Little Hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: The friendliness of the staff and the amenities.
Cons: The cleanliness.
Location: Lots of restaurants, shops, and attractions.
Comfortable and conveniently accessible to restaurants and shops. In the heart of Old San Juan just a block away from the water's edge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom AZ

Better every time!

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Rooms are interesting, exceptional bedding and great TV. Water free, coffee free 24hrs a day! Best location in the Old San Juan area for site seeing
Cons: Dining in upstairs area was on plastic chairs and tables. I think it might be separate from the hotel, but if not, these should be updated a bit.
Location: Walking distance to main tourist historic sites. Immediately adjacent to the shopping district and all the restaurants.
I went to this lovely hotel following a cruise and stayed a few days with my best friend to experience Old San Juan. The front office staff, bellmen, restaurant staff and more are very friendly and professional. Jessica is outstanding and helped me secure the right room with two double beds, an upgrade but reasonable extra cost since I booked on Expedia. The hotel is very clean and safe. Our room was large and had high ceilings with beam detail, small bathroom with no room to put your stuff but great towels and Aveda products. All the right touches such as a magnifying mirror, fabulous linens, great TV selection with HBO and many current movies to buy. Free WiFi with excellent service in the rooms.The views are all different, ours in 203 was to the plaza in front of the nearby church and was great. There is a large common room with free coffee and water 24hrs a day as well as computers and printers. The pool is very small but on a deck that has a great view looking out over the city and water. There is comfortable lounge chairs to sit in with umbrellas, as well as a small hot tub. All very clean. The restaurant was fine, good food but a somewhat high price. The local area has a large number of places to eat. The ambiance of the restaurant area is great, a big tree in the center of this beautiful hotel in an inner patio. The price of this place reflects the luxury feel of the place and I believe reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Conveniently located with a history

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: decor, staff, location
The staff at the hotel is amazing! The location is great - within walking distance of everything worth seeing in the old town. The only thing worth noting is that there are LOTS of bugs and mosquitoes in the old town. Please remember to bring insect repellent and use it at all times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Douglaston, NY

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Old San Juan!

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Our stay at El Convento was awesome. What a beautiful hotel that looks and feels like a place in Europe! We stayed on the second floor which has very high ceilings. There was a terrace with 2 chairs and a table to drink our coffee or have a snack. The 24 hour water, coffee and tea came in very handy. The free wine and cheese hour from 6-7pm was a nice touch before heading out to dinner. The location of the best restaurants was within walking distance. The only issue my husband and I had was with the most uncomfortable pillows. If that could change, it was a wonderful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom conneticut

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Beautiful hotel.great location in the heart of old san juan.excellent staff!