Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom south carolina

Hotel La Playa

Posted Dec 11, 2014
The hotel is not directly on the beach but just a short walk across the street. This hotel has a very nice restaurant with a bar, but kind of pricey. This hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and bars. The room is fairly nice however the bed is very old and uncomfortable. Overall this hotel wasn't so bad.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom montreal

Basic room, but please isolate the walls

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Very friendly personel. Except for this guy that talked all night at the front office...
Cons: isolate the walls so that we cannot hear the front desk office.
We got a room (which is really a shed/hut) next to the reception office. Our concern was that... they did not seem to really isolate the walls. I could hear the night shift person talking all night, while I was trying to sleep. Other than that, it was a very basic room, exactly what we needed for the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MIA Fl

isla verde

Posted Dec 7, 2014
you can't swim near by the beach but its nice to hangout right on the water, rocky beach,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful spot

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Good hotel for the price, but we were only there for one night. However, it was what we expected from other reviews.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Less than what we expected

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Ok, the staff was more than friendly, and the location was very close to the airport
After reading the reviews and seeing the photos on the hotel's website, we were disappointed. It must have been nice when it was new, but it needs some MAJOR renovations. It's clean, but run down and old. There is an abandon place that's actually falling down next door that is so close it appears to be part of this hotel. I heard that they had free parking, that was important to us because we had a rental car. But you better get there early if you want it or you'll be charged $10 for overnight stay by their valet company. The hotel IS right across the dead end street from the beach, but it's the part of the beach that collects tons of sea weed; you'll need to walk a quarter mile to get past the smell. The room was very clean, but outdated and small. Water pressure is very low and the water takes about 10 minutes to get hot.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, CA

DO NOT EVEN WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!!!THE WORST

Posted Nov 16, 2014
If I could rate it F-, I would . Too upset about the whole experience at La Playa or better known as La crapo
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs upgrades

Posted Nov 12, 2014
The staff was very nice but the hotel was kinda junky. It has tons of potential but the paint on the ceiling was peeling off the floors were disgusting and they had no hot water and very little pressure. I booked this hotel for one night because it was close to the airport and it had a 4 rating on Expedia but it should be lower than a 4 for sure. It's maybe a notch up from motel 6
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Older hotel with personality and reasonably priced

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Location to airport, restaurants and beach.
Cons: Showers and bedspreads
Location: Lot's of restaurants and on one of the nicest beaches in San Juan
Between to high end luxury hotels sits this little place with only about 15 rooms. It is a nice place to
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY City

Ideally located between two beaches.

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Exceeded my expectations. Very clean and bright room. Light breakfast was addequate. As an added bonus, we were allowed an early check in and a late check out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great little hotel hidden on a dead end!

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: It was right on the water
Cons: clean bathrooms
Location: you had restaurants pharmacy within walking distance, if not a taxi was available to be called from front desk
The hotel staff was excellent and friendly. The food was amazing and the beach right at your feet. I would definitely stay again. Unfortunately the bathrooms were somewhat unclean only complaint.