Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by j from ny

Close to the beach

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Good place to stay. Had a great time.. Clean...close to beach!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jeff from long beach

Location one street and ten foot steps to beach.

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Location and overall friendliness of the staff and the men who take care of the cars which parking is free of charge.
Location: Three casinos, places to eat and drink. The beach Isle Verde, Carolina, and Condado near by. I suggest rental car for Old San Juan and the El Yucatan
I had problem initially upon arrival but was corrected by a very nice and pleasant young lady her name is Jessica. Another nice and friendly lady is Linda. Overall I had a enjoyable stay and would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view and location

Posted Mar 19, 2014
This hotel exceeded our expectations. It is not a W or a Ritz, but given the price you could do no better. The complementary breakfast was fresh, the bathrooms were large and clean, the staff was among the most helpful and friendly I have ever encountered. The view is second to none Someone in our party got food poisoning and unfortunately got sick in a cab. The cab driver wanted us to pay $100 for the mess but our hotel staff was able to talk to him and
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diana from Minneapolis, MN

Great choice next to the beach!

Posted Mar 18, 2014
My stay was wonderful at Hotel la Playa. I booked one month out and got a great rate compared to the high-rise luxury hotels adjacent. Quick, one minute walk to the beach. The restaurant and bar have a fabulous ocenside deck/terrace. Five minutes from the airport by cab = $20. I went to take a bus to Old Town San Juan and lucked out with hooking up with a taxi/shuttle for $3! The food prices were a bit steep, but I used to non-tourist, hole-in-the-wall prices. Well worth paying for the convenience. No need for a rental cat if you simply want a lovely beach vacation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by carl from ny,ny

Great little placa

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Convenient to pinones and all of the funky Moriscos restaurants.
Exceptional location amidst the condos harks to a Puerto Rico of the early jet age with its 1950s architecture. Great waterfront restaurant.... Great for morning coffee . Restaurant and bar noise an issue. Until midnight though it is not a bar with dj.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jorge

Fun time at Playita

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a lovely, hospitable place. It's outside the resort bubble so you get more Borinquen querida and less simulated PR.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by zippy from California

Affordable hotel with a waterfront view

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: The room was adequate. The view from breakfast and at dinner was beautiful.
Location: Within walking distance of several other hotels, i.e., the Ritz Carlton.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rick & Helen from Canada

Small, quaint hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our initial impression when we arrived was not good. The hotel next door is shut down and detracts from the attractiveness of La Playa. Plus, La Playa is smaller and older than we had expected. Once we were settled in though, we saw that the hotel is very clean, comfortable and quaint. It could use some updating though. The hotel restaurant has amazing food. The hotel is right by the water and has a nice view when dining. Two wonderful beaches just a short walk away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by P from Texas

Budget Vacation Hotel Close to beach

Posted Oct 10, 2013
Pros: Access to beach Attentive staff Price
Cons: Counter space in bathrooms
Read several reviews before booking so I knew more or less what I was getting. Sleeping area had a king bed that was pretty comfortable. There was also a small fridge in the room and a small igloo cooler that we were able to use when we went to the beach. The hotel kitchen provided ice for the cooler upon request. The beach is literally a few steps from the hotel so you dont have to walk very far with all your beach gear. All the staff were very nice and always willing to help with any questions/concerns. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant; pricey but it was really good. Breakfast was complimentary with hotel booking. Bagels/English muffins, cereal, fruit, coffee/juice. The cons were the small bathroom. We had a pedestal sink and no counter space whats so ever. It was a bit of a challenge to get ready in the mornings but since we didnt spend alot of time in the room, I was willing to overlook that. Parking is limited if you rent a car. They do have a lot a block or so away but you have to get the staff to open the gate for you every time. I had to go find someone at the hotel once but only b/c it was late in the evening. Otherwise, someone is usually outside the hotel. Overall, good hotel for anyone on a budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pepas from Monterey, CA

Close to the beach

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Pros: Location is the best thing about this hotel.
Cons: There is no balcony in the room. Huge minus. Menu at the restaurant is very limited and expensive. Produce served wasn't fresh. Breakfast is dreadful.
Location: Go have fun at the casino at El San Juan or dance salsa at Ritz Carlton. Take a long morning run alone the ocean. The beach is gorgeous.
Nice peaceful stay. That was exactly what I expected from my week-long vacation. And I got it. Nice location, nice people, nice room, excellent made service.