Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Twin Cities, MN

Economy hotel with restaurant in Old San Juan

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Near the cruise ship piers & in the heart of old San Juan with an inexpensive & very good restaurant on the roof!
Cons: Had the basics for a short stay.
Location: Near the cruise ship piers & in the heart of old San Juan for street shopping.
Wanted to stay in an affordable & non-commercila hotel in old San Juan after our cruise & Hotel Milano fit the bill perfectly. The Punto de Vista restaurant on the roof (not owned by the hotel) was an unexpected surprize!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Amazing value in the heart of the Old City

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Wifi is strong in the individual rooms, the AC is powerful, and the location is perfection.
Cons: The AC could use an adjustment switch or thermostat. The decor is very slightly dated, but it's not a problem to most. The hotel needs recycling bins.
Location: Located right in the center of the city. Best pizza on the island is two doors down to the right, best Mexican is across the street to the left.
The accommodations are totally pleasing and satisfactory to anyone not expecting a 5 star resort. The staff was helpful at arranging one of our day excursions, and the room was always clean when we returned from a day of touring. On the top floor is a restaurant which is not associated with the hotel, but which has a decent happy hour until about 5pm and a nice rooftop open air atmosphere. The owner is often on the street at the hotel door pushing his restaurant to passersby, but he is friendly, helpful, and playful. The air conditioning in our room in particular was an arctic blast. The light switch on the wall which controlled it was a true "all or none" type of arrangement; there was no control over the intensity or temperature, only 'on' and 'off'. However, after a day in the San Juan sun, arctic blast is quite a relief! Just outside the door of the hotel is one of the main streets of Old San Juan. There is an amazing pizza restaurant two door to the right (Pirilo), and an even more amazing modern Mexican eatery across the street and a couple doors to the left (Greengos). They are both MUST eats. My word of advice is this; if you're looking to sit on a beach and get baked by the sun, go to a resort near Condado or Isla Verde. But, if you want to explore the architecture, culinary scene, nightlife, shopping, and history of Old San Juan, this is an unbeatable location at an exceptional price! It's a great value and highly recommended for those who want to explore the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Staff was very helpful and friendly. Right in the middle of Old San Juan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Petersburg, FL

Priced right, close walk to everything

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Staff was nice and hotel was clean and kept up well enough for the budget price.
Cons: Adjustable a/c and regular sized TV
Location: On the eastern side of Old San Juan. Walking distance to both Forts and all the sights. Great location.
Average room and bath, acceptable for the price. A/C wasn't adjustable, so it had to be turned on or off on a regular basis, which was annoying at night. The TV was a small computer screen which would have bothered us if we spent more time in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

A great deal

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: The staff and location.
Cons: It's fine as it is.
Location: Fantastic. Right in the core of Old San Juan.
After having stayed at the Hotel Milano previously, we went back for another stay when we were in Old San Juan at the end of May, 2015. She is a native of Puerto Rico who knows Old San Juan inside and out, and he is from the states. Hotel Milano is a delightful boutique hotel, with a location right in the heart of the city. The staff is friendly and helpful in both Spanish and English. The developer and owner, Juan San Emeterio, is a hands-on manager, a gracious gentleman with interesting stories to tell about both his own background and the hotel itself'. We very much enjoyed meeting and spending a little time with him. (He is also an author and you will find his book, passing on his learning to his children, engaging and wise.) We are pleased to see that almost all of the comments about Hotel Milano are highly positive, as the hotel merits. A few comments seem disappointed that the rooms at the hotel are not luxury suites at the Ritz; they complain about things such as the size of the TV in the room, for example, or the speed of the elevators. Well, if the Ritz is what people are looking for, that is where they should stay. But if you want a sweet little privately owned facility that is comfortable, welcoming, reasonably priced, and part of the Old San Juan community, this is a great choice. We give it highest rating and definitely will stay there again on our next visit. Thank you, Juan! (Please note: The rooms differ -- some are interior, so if that is not you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PR

No pool, but close to the beach.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Good for one night stay, on the historical Old San Juan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dayton ohio

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Great location food and shops right by in walking area. Great staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is in the center of everything!

Posted Jun 4, 2015
The staff are friendly and wonderful!! The hotel is in the center of everything which is good bc I didn't have to get a cab to get to places! Everything is near by! As far as the room, it is comfortable and clean! I wouldn't mind staying there for my next trip In Puerto Rico!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Close to everything

Posted May 27, 2015
My husband and I stayed an extra day in San Juan after our cruise. This hotel was close to all the shops, dining, bars, trollies and taxies. Hotel staff awesome! Be sure to check out Grencos Bar across the from the hotel. They have the best authentic food and margaritas ever! We will definitely stay here again when in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Very centrally located in old San Juan

Posted May 26, 2015
The location and staff were great. Can walk just about anywhere in old San Juan including the carnival cruise pier! (Down hill yea!) the hotel itself needs some much needed updating. New beds and a new elevator would be awesome. Was clean and had everything we needed in our room. It's located in old San Juan so it's old too.