Ratings based on 650 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Beautiful, relaxing, friendly and warm! Would go back again. Lots to do in Old San Juan, only a 20 min away and$20.00 taxie ride, great day trip. If your adventurous do zip-lining at Toro Verde in the middle of Puerto Rico, well worth the ride 2hrs away! The rest of the time at Intercontinental, staff very accomidating and friendly. Read reviews before we went and was a little leery about friendliness, I guess some people on vacation can never be happy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, PA

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: The proximity,to,the beach. The beautiful pool area. And the very helpful staff around the pool. Especially Joseph and Carmen.
Cons: The bathrooms with tool-in showers.
We arrived late and were well received. We asked,for a room with a tool-in shower. At first we,were,sent to the wrong room. The bell,boy,was,tipped and left. Then I checked,the bathroom and it did not have a shower. So I had to go back to the front desk,,he then sent us to the right room - bell boy carried the luggage and was tipped again. When using this room-in shower the whole bathroom would get wet.. We had to use towels to absorb the water, under the shower curtain. There must be a better way to deal with this problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom li ny

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Place was gr8 staff very helpful bathrooms on the small side
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NEW YORK

A 2 STAR HOTEL AT BEST

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: THAT I DON'T HAVE TO GO BACK!
Cons: THE ROOMS, BATHROOMS, STAFF!
Location: HACIENDA DE SAN PEDRO, COFFEE PLANTATION WORTH THE DETOUR ON THE WEEKEND.
APPARENTLY, THE BREAKFAST BUFFET IS $27 AND THE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST IS $19, COFFEE IS EXTRA AT $4. THIS IS WHAT THEY CALL A 4 STAR HOTEL, I HAVE NEVER BEEN TO A 4 STAR HOTEL WHERE THE BREAKFAST BUFFET IS NOT CONTINENTAL AND YET THEY WILL TELL YOU WHAT THE DIFFERENCE IS, THE STAFF NEEDS TO CONSULT A DICTIONARY FOR THE WORK CONTINENTAL. A 4 STAR HOTEL WHERE THE LOBBY IS NICER THAN THE ROOMS ITSELF. THE ROOMS ARE OLD, OUTDATED AND BATHROOMS ARE REPAIRED WITH CHEAP CAULKING. THIS MAY HAVE BEEN A 4 STAR HOTEL 20 YEARS AGO BUT IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A 4 STAR TODAY, GO ELSEWHERE. THE STAFF IS ABSOLUTELY INCOMPETENT, WHEN YOU ASK FOR A QUIET ROOM, AWAY FROM THE ELEVATORS, THEY PLACED US SMACK IN FRONT OF THE ELEVATORS WHERE WE HEARD SALSA MUSIC UNTIL 2AM AND OF COURSE THE STAFF ASSURED US THAT THE ROOM WAS QUIET AT CHECK IN. PERHAPS WE DON'T SHARE THE SAME NOTION OF QUIET. AS ONE PERSON SAID, THANK GOODNESS, INTERCONTINENTAL WAS NOT IN CHARGE OF THE WEATHER!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom nj

Perfect location, easy vaction

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Location, service
Cons: Bathrooms could be redone
Location: We were right on the beach. Approximately 3 miles from the airport. Nearby restaurants were good, plentiful and walkable.
Our family of four ( including 2 kids, ages 12 and 11) had a perfect vacay here. The place is complete so if you choose not to leave, all of your needs are met. However it is conveniently located and close to lots of options, including restaurants, grocery/ drug stores. Lots of things were in walking distance and the airport was a 5 minute cab ride.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Traverse City, Michigan

Lovely and relaxing. Excellent hotel and staff.

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Very friendly staff, very clean, lovely areas for sitting and relaxing. Best pool and hot tub area. Fruit-infused water dispenser a nice touch.
Location: Bus to Old San Juan easy to catch right outside hotel for 75 cents - very safe, no set schedule so allow extra time. Toured both forts and old city.
The beautiful pool and beach areas are really outstanding. Fitness center with Atlantic Ocean view was an excellent start to day. Extremely friendly staff - from Luis's first greeting, to Josua's great service, to Johangely's warm and gracious front desk help, to Stephanie P's fine housekeeping - we were well cared for. Front door crew unfailing prompt and courteous. This is a very lovely, well-maintained, pristine property. Perfect for peaceful relaxing. Lots of quiet tucked away spots for shade and seclusion if you want it. (Gazebo on deck overlooking beach was our favorite.) If you want nightlife, go next door to El SanJuan. Many good restaurants within short walk - Metropol was outstanding; El Ambique on the beach two doors down; MiCasita across the street for $6.99 dinner specials can't be beat. Great desserts from Marketplace across the street. A fast, fun week - made outstanding by the lovely accommodations we enjoyed. We opted for city view, but might be worth upgrading to ocean view. Ask for a room on the 10th floor or above for best views. City view benefit is to open window at night for serenade by the coquis (tree frogs). Less than 1 mile from the airport, so some airport noise but not enough to disturb sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom nyc

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Comfortable bed. Nice pool. Friendly staff
While the grounds were lovely, the beach was a mess. Seaweed all over the place. you couldnt go into the water without wading through seaweed. You would think that for the price of the room, they could at least rake the beach. I would rate hotel as 3 stars. Not worth the price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom westchester NY

Can't help you enough. Very pleasant staff

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Staff was very accmodating pleasant and couldn't do enough for you. They get it, you are on vacation and want a stress free stay and they try very hard. Only negative is their WiFi connection very weak dropped connection constantly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Princeton, NJ

Friendly staff

Posted Feb 8, 2015
We stayed Wednesday early afternoon to Saturday. We were able to go to pool and beach to wait for phone call when our room was ready unstead of having to keep checking back to see if it was ready early. Overall we had a nice relaxing time. Everything was kept up and very clean. Not much to do on site (except casino) but staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The pool bar staff was exceptional! Food at hotel was good yet pricey. A few local places in walking distance are worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lewes, De

Nice hotel right on the beach. The staff was great

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Everything but the breakfast buffet and the arm band.
Cons: Same as above
Location: Good location but you need a car for a week stay. You can walk to other hotels. You will have to taxi everywhere to see the sites.
Only two negative comments, first, is the breakfast buffet during the week. It was the worst breakfast buffet I have ever had for $27.00. All condiments were in plastic containers like syrup, jellies and others. No salt and pepper on the table. It was just not up to the standards of this Hotel and for the price. I think management should experience it for themselves and they will know what I am talking about. They had poached eggs on the menu but you could not get any when you asked the chief on the line making omelets. Second negative comment you had to have an arm band when you entered the pool so you could get back if you went to the beach. Bummer, who wants to walk around on the beach with an arm band all day. I think your key should be good enough. This should not stop you from booking this hotel it was a great hotel and we had a great time.