Ratings based on 280 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Very nice resort!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Very nice hotel and lots of different areas, restaurants, pools, the beach, etc.
Cons: Lower price of restaurants!
Location: Bioluminescent bay, Palomino island (beach), rent a boat (with captain) for a day to go to Culebra, jetski, Coqui waterpark, scubadiving, etc
We were 2 adults and 2 kids and stayed in a one bedroom "casita". Very lovely resort, lots of different pools, eating areas, lots to do. Breakfast is expensive in restaurants and cafes, but the casitas have a kitchen, so if you have a car you can purchase items in nearby supermarket. The beach was lovely, but having to take a ferry every time was sometimes a lot of waiting, and having to come back at 5pm in the last ferry was also a negative thing. I would have rather had a beach just at walking distance and stay as long as I liked! A car is a must as then you can do loads of other things in the island, visit caves, the rainforest, local restaurants, San Juan, other beaches, etc. Overall I would definitely recommend this resort for families and couples as well!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Excellent, very happy! We will be back, family very happy with staff and hotel .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice, but……….

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The infinity pool is a splendid experience to relax and enjoy the view at the water's edge. The lack of crowds and top notch service is wonderful.
Cons: The entire resort needs significant investment in upgrades and care. Even the shopping areas leaked rain and long term water damage was evident.
Location: The casino, once a prime attraction, has been shutdown. Palomino Island is worth spending one day there, and the golf course is in great shape.
This was our second stay at the Waldorf Conquistador/Las Casitas facilities, having now stayed at each resort one time. There are many upsides to staying at Las Casitas rather than the main resort, such as the privacy and the uncrowded atmosphere, fantastic service and private pools. The Staff at Las Casitas makes a tremendous and much appreciated effort to ensure that anyone visiting the exclusive pools and restaurants are indeed registered guests of Las Casitas and are not spilling over from the main Conquistador resort which can be crowded and noisy. But visitors to Las Casitas should be aware that these "rooms" are part of privately owned condos, rented by the respective owners to Waldorf clients, albeit well managed by the Waldorf Resorts. The rooms are in various conditions, depending upon the owners' efforts to modernize or maintain. We stayed in a "Guest Room", which is simply one bedroom of a condo with it's own secure entryway via a common foyer through which the different rooms are accessed. It was an average hotel room at best, with no drawers for personal storage, an ill-fitting chair at the desk (which had no lighting, by the way), and marginal wifi access. Our room had not been upgraded or remodeled since it was built in the 1990's and was showing its age. The overall conditions of the resort have deteriorated greatly since our last visit in 2012, and the complex is not the jewel it used to be 15-20 years. We will visit again, however.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness of the rooms, beach, pools
Location: Not much offered outside the resort. Tried to plan day trip to rainforest but didn't have enough people. Limited outside excursions available.
Beautiful resort and a pleasure to be at. Meals are a bit pricey and sometime, over the top expensive. Extra fees for amenities for young teenagers to keep occupied. For instance, they couldn't play pool unless we ordered expensive drinks from the bar or play air hockey unless accompanied with a half hour fee. Granted, only $5 per half hour, but more so the principal of having to pay something was a bit annoying. For the most part, staff very accomodating but in some instances, could be more friendly. Generally, I gave a decent review because the overall experience for my children was great. As a parent, expect to take a hit on the wallet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heaven on earth!!

Posted Jul 26, 2014
The staff and grounds of this property are spectacular!! There is plenty to do onsite and Palamino Island is a real treat (so is the water taxi that takes you there!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

LAS CASITAS JULY 2014

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff from top to bottom, private beach, infinity pool and water park very kid friendly.
Cons: Would like the idea of bringing back Conquistador casino a reality !!!
My family and I make it a point to travel to Las Casitas every summer, this resort gets better with time. A beautiful oasis just a short drive from SJU airport east on rte. 66 to rte.3. With so much to keep you occupied on property grounds such as water park, pools or a nice shuttle boat ride to palomino island ,you must try to make time for some of the many attractions surrounding the resort. Great place to stay would recommend this destination in Fajardo P.R. to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami , fl

Nice Hotel , the place of the paradise

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: everything !!!!!!!!!! Spectacular .....
Cons: Restaurant with the typical food of Puerto Rico. This hotel need one.
Location: close to the beach, Fajardo is a Beautiful city .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartford, Connecticut

Beautiful Location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Las Casitas Village is a lovely resort with friendly, helpful staff and all the amenities one could wish for in a five-star resort. The one drawback is the need to take the short ferry ride to Palomino Island in order to enjoy the beach. Sometimes, the wait for the ferry can be upwards of a half an hour. However, the beach facilities are wonderful once you get there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice, but expensive

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: The ocean view was amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful
Cons: Lower the price of food and the private island should be included in the stay
Location: They property was very well kept. Everyone told us we were staying in Beverly Hills of San Juan. Lots of things to do but once again very expensive
The hotel was very nice, but I think it is absolutely ridiculous that it cost a fortune to book the resort and then you have to pay outrageous prices for everything you do or eat. We were a family of four 2 adults 2 teenage children and we didn't spent less then $250 per day to eat there and that was only 2 meals each day. On top of that the breakfast buffet was suppose to be free and we got charged for four people whether all four of us ate or not. They charge to go to the private island, they charge for the water park, they charge additional hotel fees each day you are there. We got charged $16 to take us to the end of the driveway. Because of the cost I would not recommend this resort to anyone especially if they are on a budget. We were there for 7 days 6 nights and we probably spend and additional $3000 outside of what we paid to stay here which was not cheap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michel from New York, NY

Very relaxing but very remote

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: The private island- Palomino island
Cons: better dining options
Location: The hotel is closed to the bio-bay in Frajado, to Loquillo and el Yunque
The resort is beautiful. The rooms could be updated. The restaurants are very pricey and the food is not of high quality. Because the place if so remote you are forced into eating in the resort. The staff is very friendly and the service is great. The hotel is not on the beach, but it has a private island. Getting to the island can be a hustle, you have to walk to an elevator that takes you to the marina level,and from there you have to go on a funicular railway, and then take a ferry that takes about 10 minutes. It is all included in the price. Once you finally get to the island its totally worth it. The water is warm, calm, shallow, and clear (it gets clearer in the afternoon). The beach is really rocky so water shoes are a must. The restaurant on the island is very pricy and very limited, and not recommended.