Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

CASITA

Posted Sep 20, 2014
The rooms are dated...I was very disappointed with the water park fee and that it wasn't included with the Casita stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant, and breathtaking

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Clean, welcoming, and relaxing.
Cons: Some of the staff was a little stiff, some not as courteous as others, but overall everyone was friendly.
Location: The location is magnificent, Palomino Island gorgeous, absolutely serene.
The resort is both elegant and enchanting. Aside from the brief air conditioning snafu, we enjoyed ourselves very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: The view was the best! Looking out over the ocean with the cool breezes was wonderful.
Cons: Having to take the boat to the beach was the worst part of the stay. It was not terrible by any means though. Just a little inconvenient.
Location: We did not really do much outside the resort since we were only there for a couple days.
Had a great stay at the hotel. Everything about it was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Last minute long weekend getaway

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The location of the resort is probably it's biggest attraction, allowing for that "secluded" feeling while providing all you need for a relaxing time.
Cons: Cleanliness of the rooms, specially bathrooms.
Location: El Yunque - Rainforest Las Cabezas de San Juan - Lighthouse and natural reserve Palomino - small island short distance from the resort Water Park
After needing a last minute place to stay in Fajardo, and having the main "El Conquistador" portion of the resort sold-out, we tried the "Las Casitas Village" option they offered. The area around the villas was quite nice and provided for a nice walk to/from the hotel area. The room was quite comfortable and had a decent view to the resort grounds with a glimpse of the ocean. The staff was quite friendly and helpful throughout our stay, and there were enough things to do around the hotel and area to keep us busy (and not get to everything we wanted to). The major red-mark of the experience was coming into the room and finding that it had not been properly cleaned prior to our arrival (bathroom). Minor issue: there doesn't seem to be enough parking for the upper-most set of villas and we had to park a couple of lots lower or leave the car parked at the side of the road like others (which we opted not to do).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Luxury secluded resort

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: We thought this resort was very beautiful with spectacular views of the ocean. Also the staff was very nice and pleasant.
Cons: It would be nice to have more dinning options at Las Casitas Village so that guests don't always have to go to the main hotel especially for dinner.
Location: The location is very nice. There is the rain forest near by.
The resort was beautiful... it was on a golf course in the mountains. Aside from the activities provided by the resort, we had to drive to go anywhere outside the resort. Nothing was walking distance from the resort. Most of the restaurants were located at the main hotel and it took time to walk from Las Casitas Village to the main hotel. It was difficult to walk at night because the grounds were not well lighted. We reserved a room with a garden view but the view was of a bush, a cement block, and a walkway. We had to keep the curtains closed because the room was on the first floor and anyone walking by could look into our room. It appears that the cooling unit in the room was not functioning properly because our room always felt damp.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Very nice resort!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Very nice hotel and lots of different areas, restaurants, pools, the beach, etc.
Cons: Lower price of restaurants!
Location: Bioluminescent bay, Palomino island (beach), rent a boat (with captain) for a day to go to Culebra, jetski, Coqui waterpark, scubadiving, etc
We were 2 adults and 2 kids and stayed in a one bedroom "casita". Very lovely resort, lots of different pools, eating areas, lots to do. Breakfast is expensive in restaurants and cafes, but the casitas have a kitchen, so if you have a car you can purchase items in nearby supermarket. The beach was lovely, but having to take a ferry every time was sometimes a lot of waiting, and having to come back at 5pm in the last ferry was also a negative thing. I would have rather had a beach just at walking distance and stay as long as I liked! A car is a must as then you can do loads of other things in the island, visit caves, the rainforest, local restaurants, San Juan, other beaches, etc. Overall I would definitely recommend this resort for families and couples as well!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Excellent, very happy! We will be back, family very happy with staff and hotel .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice, but……….

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The infinity pool is a splendid experience to relax and enjoy the view at the water's edge. The lack of crowds and top notch service is wonderful.
Cons: The entire resort needs significant investment in upgrades and care. Even the shopping areas leaked rain and long term water damage was evident.
Location: The casino, once a prime attraction, has been shutdown. Palomino Island is worth spending one day there, and the golf course is in great shape.
This was our second stay at the Waldorf Conquistador/Las Casitas facilities, having now stayed at each resort one time. There are many upsides to staying at Las Casitas rather than the main resort, such as the privacy and the uncrowded atmosphere, fantastic service and private pools. The Staff at Las Casitas makes a tremendous and much appreciated effort to ensure that anyone visiting the exclusive pools and restaurants are indeed registered guests of Las Casitas and are not spilling over from the main Conquistador resort which can be crowded and noisy. But visitors to Las Casitas should be aware that these "rooms" are part of privately owned condos, rented by the respective owners to Waldorf clients, albeit well managed by the Waldorf Resorts. The rooms are in various conditions, depending upon the owners' efforts to modernize or maintain. We stayed in a "Guest Room", which is simply one bedroom of a condo with it's own secure entryway via a common foyer through which the different rooms are accessed. It was an average hotel room at best, with no drawers for personal storage, an ill-fitting chair at the desk (which had no lighting, by the way), and marginal wifi access. Our room had not been upgraded or remodeled since it was built in the 1990's and was showing its age. The overall conditions of the resort have deteriorated greatly since our last visit in 2012, and the complex is not the jewel it used to be 15-20 years. We will visit again, however.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness of the rooms, beach, pools
Location: Not much offered outside the resort. Tried to plan day trip to rainforest but didn't have enough people. Limited outside excursions available.
Beautiful resort and a pleasure to be at. Meals are a bit pricey and sometime, over the top expensive. Extra fees for amenities for young teenagers to keep occupied. For instance, they couldn't play pool unless we ordered expensive drinks from the bar or play air hockey unless accompanied with a half hour fee. Granted, only $5 per half hour, but more so the principal of having to pay something was a bit annoying. For the most part, staff very accomodating but in some instances, could be more friendly. Generally, I gave a decent review because the overall experience for my children was great. As a parent, expect to take a hit on the wallet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heaven on earth!!

Posted Jul 26, 2014
The staff and grounds of this property are spectacular!! There is plenty to do onsite and Palamino Island is a real treat (so is the water taxi that takes you there!)