Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Naples Fl

Very good service and close to beach

Posted May 19, 2015
I got good experience, Great service very nice view to the ocean
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom VA

Disappointed

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: The views were great and the pools were good.
Cons: Overall food pricing and quality Room service was poor Paying for parking was over the top Staff not paying attention to details
Location: We had never been to PR before Again the views were great The Hotel was very hard to find at night
It’s clear to see they want to get you to this hotel and keep you there throughout the visit so guests are dependent (at a cost) on the hotel for everything. When we arrived it was confusing since we didn’t understand the difference between the two facilities. As it turned out we were happy that we didn’t stay at the main hotel since we had a rental car and parking was expensive. Paying for parking was over the top for me. Overall the restaurants were average food quality but were far overpriced for what you were getting. The room service was bad, with us having to go the office on several occasions to get things the maids forgot to leave in the room; coffee, soap, toilet paper etc. The sheets were not changed when it was posted they would be. The key to our room door was deactivated three times during our stay for no reason so we again had to go to the office to get another one made. The guests next door were making all kinds of noises but slamming the doors was the worst….at 2 in the morning. The room doors were not designed to close quietly so everyone slammed them….totally unnecessary and easy to fix. The room view was great but everything else about the room was average or worst.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Nice clean resort

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: nice, quite place to enjoy your vacation, has breathtaking views.
Cons: nothing
Location: take a boat to beach, hang out in the infinity pool or hangout in about 6 different pool settings, enjoy the waterpark. have varied food choices.
The resort was nice and beautifully maintained, its a great place for people who have small kids and also good place for people who play golf. There are all kinds of activities that you can engage in. From going to a secluded beach on a small island to hanging out in the different pools the resort provides. They have about three different properties that are interconnected with lot of options for food and entertainment. I would give this resort 5 stars for the excellent scenery, cleanliness, hospitality and entertainment options
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom boston, ma

Needs a complete renovation.

Posted May 9, 2015
Awful condition. Staff horrible. Lots of amenities closed as not at full capacity. Rooms were decrepit and dirty. Also hotel adds on a daily 69 dollar resort fee when you check out. Location in the water beautiful, but this place needs a total overhaul.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Las Casitas Hotel - Fajardo, PR

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: The hotel was modern, comfortable, and clean. The pool area and other areas remained cleaned all the time.
Cons: At times it was confusing because the Las Casitas hotel was connected with the main hotel, the El Conquistador hotel. It was very congested.
My experience was great! The hotel was simply gorgeous...with breath-taking views and grounds. And the staff was excellent. They were friendly, helpful, and attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kingston, ma

Ocean View Casistas Guest Room

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: THE VIEWS!
Cons: Igauana's jerk chicken wrap was the driest sandwich I have ever had.
Location: We never left the resort!
Our room was well appointed but on the small side. we tried several times before we arrived to upgrade to a one bedroom ocean view, as this was a 15 year wedding anniversary trip. The resort did not appear to be full but we were denied the upgrade. However, the resort was immaculate! The views, grounds and beach were paradise. the ferry to Palomino Island was always on time and the island was not ever crowded. I would definitely stay in La Casitas rather than the main hotel. It was absolutely breath taking! we didn't utilize our private butler, but those guests who did were thrilled with the service. Food was pricey and it was a bit challenging to eat healthy. We made reservations before we arrived and didn't have an issue. The staff was welcoming and pleasant, with the exception of the Italian restaurant. We were rather uncomfortable with the way we were greeted, and it got progressively worse from there. NO PERSONALITY on behalf of any of the waitstaff. Food was just ok. Be sure to check out the infinity pool, but be prepared for a limited menu there as well. This is a resort I would like to return to due to the VIEWS, guest services and amenities! The worst part about the week was the Merril lynch group who were staying there on business. I have NEVER heard a group of people complain more in my life. It got old after the first day and I will inquire first to see if they will be there next year....I'll find some place else if they go there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Kids will love, it, but grown ups will find flaws

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Palamino Island was a highlight. The Casitas enclave is very cute and the rooms are cozy, but provide room for the family.
Cons: A little more investment in facilities so it they lives up to the potential, and honors what must be a glorious history at this resort.
Location: Geographically speaking, an amazing spot. Only a few dining options nearby. We really enjoyed El Estacion. Fajardo itself doesn't have much to offer
Not many places can match what the Casitas its attached El Conquistador resort have to offer. You can book Cute 1 and 2 bedroom Casitas with kitchens. You have a choice of nearly a dozen pools and several on-property restaurants. You have killer views of the blue waters and white-sand-ringed islets that mark the end of the Caribbean and the beginning of the Atlantic. Lush, expansive grounds surround all the buildings. There's a marina services with dive/snorkel tours. You kids will love the on-site water park (extra charge, but worth it), and the crown jewel, private and beautiful Palamino Island which is serviced by a free ferry that runs back and forth every 15 minutes or so. It's a great overall package.. Your kids will be busy playing and exploring. They will find few flaws, but you, a discerning adult will notice a not-so perfect patina on this old gem. The food is pricey and only "pretty good", the resort fee (18% of your room rate) may be justified by the overall basket of services and amenities provided, but you will disappointed with the threadbare, past-its-prime feel particularly within the main El Conquistador complex. The Engineering department is fighting a slow loosing battle against the elements, it seems... Take in a Fajardo Cariduros baseball game if you have the chance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, NY

Beautiful Hotel -- Location cant be matched

Posted Apr 13, 2015
The Good -- the Location and Hotel premises are excellent. The bad but not uncommon, the dinning facilities on the premises are extremely overpriced and it appears they overstate how busy the resturants really are. Often I called for reservations to be told they only had late reservations available 8 or 9pm, available but if walk bay the resturants they are far from packed with multiple open tables at all times. Finally the service ranged dramatically from poor to excellent depending on the employees involved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall quite good, but be prepared to wait

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Large rooms, great staff
Cons: Wait times, a la carte pricing
Location: El Yunque, Old San Juan (1 hour+)
El Conquistador and Las Casitas is a large, sprawling operation, so be prepared to have lots of activities to choose from but also to wait (especially during the school vaction/spring break crowded period). We stayed at Las Casitas, which for a family of 5, was excellent. It's a very hilly resort--so while you can walk to the main hotel, most people, including us, take a shuttle. They are on-demand, which usually works, but sometimes doesn't. Overall the service level is outstanding--the butlers, the housekeeping, porters, etc., are all extremely attentive and amongst the best we've ever had. It's not an all-inclusive resort, and nothing is cheap--but of course that's reflected in the overall price of the hotel. I would strongly advise renting a car and going off property--this will save you money for meals and get you out of the sun for a day or two. San Juan is a bit over an hour away, El Yunque is about 25 minutes. The best restaurant we went went to wasn't on premises--but it could have been--called Estacion, it's an amazing BBQ place about 5 minutes from the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york

bait and switch...not a luxury facility....

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: location; grounds, Palomino island
Cons: new management and ownership
Location: Rain forest; decent reef diving; nice track for golf but one poorly managed
Disappointing in the extreme. The upscale "casitas" are well done...main hotel is old, tired and threadbare. Main hotel pools are from a 1960's movie. Food was mediocre, at best. Nice golf course but poorly managed...course overwhelmed with graceless hackers there for company meetings...pro allows fivesomes with five hackers per group. Deepest pool is 3'6". kids overwhelm all pools and all hot tubs ( most of which aren't hot ). Don't let the "Waldorf" name fool you...this is a 2.5 star resort...at best. Only saving grace was a staff that was friendly, tried hard to please; and seem to know they need to make up for what is otherwise an old white elephant. Not sure what the Hilton connection is but as a Hilton Honors person all I can say is that this lodging experience really hurts the Hilton brand. Beautiful property with great vistas...just waiting to be acquired; renovated, and run by a group that can spell luxury. Avoid until then !