Ratings based on 379 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice experience in Sandy Hotel!!

Posted Jul 10, 2014
I would definitely recommend to my family and friends!!! ;-)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Good enough for the price. Located 10 meters away from the beach makes this hotel wothy the money!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Amor from Los Angeles, CA

Great Location!!

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: The location and the price!
Cons: More staff. More hair driers
Location: Ashford Street which is one block away great with tons of restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and the location is close to Viejo San Juan
When we arrived, they let us check in which was great! But the hotel did not have electricity so a construction worker had to help me carry our luggage up the stairs ( we were in the 3rd floor mind you). It seems the hotel is severely under staffed since they had to ask a construction worker to carry our luggage. The electricity came back about 20 mins later. The room was good, not luxurious but adequate for the price. The Hotel is a few steps from the beach and one block away from Ashford Street which is the happening street in Condado. Super close to El Viejo San Juan, about 10 mins away in car. The only other complaint, that goes with the hotel being understaffed, is that when we called to get new towels the man that answered the main desk told us to go down and pick them up. They also only had one hair drier. But If you can deal with the above then you should be fine. The location is great and the price is great also!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel in good location nert to the beach.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
They need to improve on the breadfast. Terrible,and on the room suplies ,like toothpaste. No hair conditioner or toothpaste and breadfast better things
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shakeema from VI

Close to everything.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
The hotel is okay. Great for those on budget or who won't be spending lots of time in the room. It's in walking distance of everything. The room was pretty decent but the bathrooms are extremely small and felt dirty. Was not comfortable until i sprayed lysol all over. Overall I would stay again because of price and location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ED from Arizona

For the price you pay its great. On the beach!

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Cacual, convinient, safe. On the beach!
Cons: Rooms need to have clocks. More breakfast options. Need new nets on the windows.
Location: Hotel on the beach, waking distance to public beach for little kids. Close to Walgreen, Chilly, Subway, Mexican food, Sushi. Bus stop to Old San Juan.
I stay in PR twice. First time at the expencive hotel and second time at cheap hotel. You pay what you get and do not compaine! I enjoy both times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Everything was fine. The bed was comfortable enough. The shower had good water pressure and was nice and hot. The staff was friendly. It's in a GREAT location. They had a modest little breakfast with juice, roles, coffee, etc. The air conditioner worked fine.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Pretty good location, easy beach access and nearby Walgreens.
Not directly on the water, surrounded by bigger, fanicer hotels. Loud music outside of window all night, Frequent power outages and hot water shortages. I don't mind a rustic living facility, but if you're someone who demands hot water and power assurance, you may need to look elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2014
The hotel is close to the beach. It has a friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dee from Toronto, ON

No frills hotel, seconds from the beach

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Staff, location
Cons: continental breakfast; fruit and bagels should at least be an option
Location: bars/dancing, beach, restaraunts, old san juan
This hotel is bare bones but it's all you need. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful; it's literally a 2 second walk to the beach, a lineup of cabs right outside the door and a 2 minute walk to loads of bars, restaraunts, walgreens. Everything you may need is within walking distance. I felt totally safe in the area and we got lost walking around the first night. I'm sure we were walking through a not so good area but we weren't there long and I felt no need for concern. The rooms are very small and basic. Bed, desk, bathroom and a closet. They were clean enough; the shower and bathroom walls could have used some scrubbing- there was some mildew buildup on them; we didn't see one bug at all in the hotel aside from some mosquitoes. The room is damp and cold feeling but you won't be in the room except for sleeping and showering anyhow. The first morning we did check out the continental breakfast offered- it wasn't very good at all- donuts, mini cinnamon buns and sugary cereal. There are plenty of decent places to go eat that aren't super expensive and are just a short walk away anyhow. We stayed 5 nights which is a bit much for those beds- they aren't the worst for a couple nights but they aren't great either. It served its purpose. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again despite the beds. Overall it was a positive and pleasant experience, minus the gross creepos across the hall but that's not the hotel's fault, obviously!