Ratings based on 1,239 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Expensive hotel not worth the cost

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Staff was very friendly and helpful
Cons: Provide coffee maker with quality coffee in room
Location: Location is ok. Beach location is excellent
Hotel has a no smoking policy yet people smoked near our room, and stunk up hallway and our room as well. Hotel management did nothing except call it to that guest attention, but did nothing for us. They eventually moved us but no apologies nothing to make up for huge inconvenience. They charge for everything including a cup of coffee! Seems that they are in a desperate budget situation, and this on top of paying top dollar for our room. Staff is very nice, excellent service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
Excellent staff, so accommodating!!! So friendly and so helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted May 24, 2015
My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for a week. Although it's a nice hotel and the rooms were clean, I feel that it is more geared for the business crowd and conventions. The staff was very attentive and overly helpful. I don't think they had enough nighttime activities to choose from other than the casino. I think it's perfect for honeymooning couples. Overall nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Sushi restaurant
Gorgeous hotel & pool area. The beach is nice, but its on a public beach
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Great service, property needs a facelift

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: The service was excellent. The staff was extremely accommodating.
Cons: The whole property needs a facelift. It was not what I expected a Ritz Carlton to be. It was clean, but looked a little dated.
Location: It is very close to the airport, and there is a beach right on site. There was another hotel/casino nearby and we did check that out,but not much else
I went with a friend for a girls weekend. Of course when you hear Ritz Carlton, expectations are high. The service lived up to it, the property itself was just ok. A little dated and needs a facelift. I realized why it was such a good deal. Close to the airport, but not much else around, and every cab ride was between $17-22 to get to places we wanted to go. The spa was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Lauderdale

All in one!

Posted May 16, 2015
Excellent coffee!!! Staff goes out of their way to please and accommodate any requests. Laura in the concierge desk was wonderful. Comfortable, relaxed and friendly. Nice facilities, nice beach, close to the airport! My only complaint and that goes for all Ritz hotels we have ever stayed is that the beds are a bit to soft.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DC

Best experience EVER!

Posted May 14, 2015
Absolutely no complaints..LOVED IT..won't stay anywhere else when I am in San Juan
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, exceptional staff

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: The room was clean and comfortable but nothing to be considered 5 star. The food was decent but expensive.
Cons: Improved lighting in bathroom. access to any paddle boards, surf boards related to beach activites
The staff was very nice and personable. Without the staff this stay would have been no better than a lower end Marriott property
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ann Arbor, MI

Simply Perfect!

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Staff was absolutely super helpful always smiling and asking how they can help.
Location: Near the airport and and right on a beautiful beach, a couple of good restaurants near by, but everything else is about $17 cab "van" ride.
Quite possibly the best hotel I've ever stayed at, should be a 5 stars and not 4 1/2 stars. The staff was amazing, we had a few requests from our room and they were as quick as possible to accommodate us. The room was super clean and the entire hotel was spotless and always smelled good. The pool staff was also amazing, always running around asking us and other guests if anything is needed, I was really happy with their level of service and I would definitely book at the Ritz again next time we are visiting San Juan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom austin

Posted May 4, 2015
The Ritz Carlton San Juan is quite an old hotel by modern standards, and in some places it could do with a refurb,but the hotel staff and the standards the building is kept up to are more than adequate compensation for the slight feeling of age. Everyone was totally helpful, very kind and went one step beyond the norm. do not be put off by the close proximity to the airport, this is an advantage. We have been before, and we will come back again, hopefully many times. Puerto Rico is an enchanted island and its people equally so.