Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by mo from nc

In old San Juan, only good thing about it.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Location: Right in the middle of all old SJ attractions.
I initially had a reservation at El Convento, which is right next door. This hotel had a deserted look, very cramped quarters, and sort of melancholy look about it. We slept well, but should have stuck with El Convento.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brooklyn Couple from Brooklyn, NY

Off the cobble path.

Posted Feb 20, 2014
The room and bathroom were decorated uniquely. There was a damp odor in the room, but you didn't notice it after some time. It is close to everything you'd like to see in Old San Juan. The cab drivers didn't know how to get there though. The staff was very friendly, however they weren't there when we needed to check out. Breakfast was cereal and fruit. Walkable to everything!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Immerse Yourself in the Culture

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Very reflective of the Hispanic culture and accommodating staff
Location: In the heart of Old San Juan where one can travel the area in a free trolley or walk to most historical sites
My wife and I had not been to Old San Juan so we did a 24 hour layover choosing Villa Herencia. Just getting to the hotel at night through the narrow streets was an experience to remember, but when we arrived we knew this was just the right place.for us, a small "courtyard" hotel in the Hispanic tradition. This was not the Hilton nor was it intended to be but the room was adequate, quiet, clean and fairly priced given its prime location in the old city. A hostess met us at the door, checked us in, and recommended an excellent restaurant.serving regional fare. After a good night's rest, the included continental breakfast provided an opportunity for us to meet other guests before a morning of sight-seeing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Immerse Yourself in the Culture

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Very reflective of the Hispanic culture and accommodating staff
Location: In the heart of Old San Juan where one can travel the area in a free trolley or walk to most historical sites
My wife and I had not been to Old San Juan so we did a 24 hour layover choosing Villa Herencia. Just getting to the hotel at night through the narrow streets was an experience to remember, but when we arrived we knew this was just the right place.for us, a small "courtyard" hotel in the Hispanic tradition. This was not the Hilton nor was it intended to be but the room was adequate, quiet, clean and fairly priced given its prime location in the old city. A hostess met us at the door, checked us in, and recommended an excellent restaurant.serving regional fare. After a good night's rest, the included continental breakfast provided an opportunity for us to meet other guests before a morning of sight-seeing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Julie from Seattle

charming and convenient

Posted Jan 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was lovely and the hotel was convenient to everything in Old San Juan. The included breakfast was good with fresh fruit, pastries, toast, yogurt, juice and tasty coffee. The shower could've been hotter but we were only there one night so didn't worry about it . I wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the beautiful rooftop deck!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Historic Boutique Hotel in a great part of OSJ

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Location: Great quiet location and easy to walk everywhere.
Everything was wonderful. I would highly recommend it. It's charming and the rooms are comfortable. The rooftop is special. Breakfast is included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shizenko from Puerto Rico

Wonderful art deco hotel!

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: The art deco, the beautiful bed, nice and relaxed ambiance.
Cons: The tubs on the second floor were dirty, it was a cool idea but I wouldn't get in because they were filthy.
Location: Walk around the historical town, grab a pizza at the nearby cafe...
a nice place to stay after strolling out the beautiful streets of old San Juan and with the confidence of having a place to sleep nearby that makes you feel you live at old San Juan in the 1900's in a cool way :) The next day we took off on our honey moon cruise nice and relaxed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Yannia Gonzalez from San Juan PR

Excellent stay!!!!

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
It is a very charming hotel . Its a hidden jewel in Old San Juan!!! The staff was very friendly and lovely. I will definetely stay there again and recommend it to others. Love it love it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming Boutique Hotel in old San Juan

Posted Nov 25, 2013
This hotel is charming with a large rooftop deck area with plenty of places to sit & look out at San Juan. Our room opened onto this deck. The staff was very friendly. This is a wonderful memory for us.