Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Villa Herencia Puerto Rico

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The Old World charm and history, the draped bed. The staff girls were just great!
Location: Historical forts, vendors for local food, live music, sculptures, cathedrals, restaurants, shops and felt safe for walking - try the Mofungo!
Post cruise overnight stay booked thru Expedia. Received a confirming email next day. Taxi drops you nearby, pull your luggage on narrow cobblestone street, look for 2 glass doors with the name about halfway down. Staff was amazing and helpful! Old, small with a great history, charming hotel converted from a nuns home. Fun rooftop patio. Walk to everything. Clean and safe. Cooler on lower level. Nice continental breakfast in a great dining room. Lovely sitting room, also. Quiet, close to the Fort, historical church, restaurants. We enjoyed ourselves. Get a cab at top of street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Awesome location and friendly staff! No hot water...BUT it's so warm in San Juan the cold shower is just what the doctor ordered! LOVED this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2014
Wonderful location and great ambiance and rooftop. Loved the friendly staff, and cats!
3 out of 5
by mo from nc

In old San Juan, only good thing about it.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Location: Right in the middle of all old SJ attractions.
I initially had a reservation at El Convento, which is right next door. This hotel had a deserted look, very cramped quarters, and sort of melancholy look about it. We slept well, but should have stuck with El Convento.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brooklyn Couple from Brooklyn, NY

Off the cobble path.

Posted Feb 20, 2014
The room and bathroom were decorated uniquely. There was a damp odor in the room, but you didn't notice it after some time. It is close to everything you'd like to see in Old San Juan. The cab drivers didn't know how to get there though. The staff was very friendly, however they weren't there when we needed to check out. Breakfast was cereal and fruit. Walkable to everything!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris

Immerse Yourself in the Culture

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Very reflective of the Hispanic culture and accommodating staff
Location: In the heart of Old San Juan where one can travel the area in a free trolley or walk to most historical sites
My wife and I had not been to Old San Juan so we did a 24 hour layover choosing Villa Herencia. Just getting to the hotel at night through the narrow streets was an experience to remember, but when we arrived we knew this was just the right place.for us, a small "courtyard" hotel in the Hispanic tradition. This was not the Hilton nor was it intended to be but the room was adequate, quiet, clean and fairly priced given its prime location in the old city. A hostess met us at the door, checked us in, and recommended an excellent restaurant.serving regional fare. After a good night's rest, the included continental breakfast provided an opportunity for us to meet other guests before a morning of sight-seeing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris

Immerse Yourself in the Culture

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Very reflective of the Hispanic culture and accommodating staff
Location: In the heart of Old San Juan where one can travel the area in a free trolley or walk to most historical sites
My wife and I had not been to Old San Juan so we did a 24 hour layover choosing Villa Herencia. Just getting to the hotel at night through the narrow streets was an experience to remember, but when we arrived we knew this was just the right place.for us, a small "courtyard" hotel in the Hispanic tradition. This was not the Hilton nor was it intended to be but the room was adequate, quiet, clean and fairly priced given its prime location in the old city. A hostess met us at the door, checked us in, and recommended an excellent restaurant.serving regional fare. After a good night's rest, the included continental breakfast provided an opportunity for us to meet other guests before a morning of sight-seeing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Julie from Seattle

charming and convenient

Posted Jan 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was lovely and the hotel was convenient to everything in Old San Juan. The included breakfast was good with fresh fruit, pastries, toast, yogurt, juice and tasty coffee. The shower could've been hotter but we were only there one night so didn't worry about it . I wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the beautiful rooftop deck!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Historic Boutique Hotel in a great part of OSJ

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Location: Great quiet location and easy to walk everywhere.
Everything was wonderful. I would highly recommend it. It's charming and the rooms are comfortable. The rooftop is special. Breakfast is included.