Ratings based on 1,475 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Great location.....

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Awesome experience... This hotel has everything in it..it has it's own beach ..very neat.also has around 4 swimming pools and 2 jacuzzi pools ..all well maintained.the pool area has a bar.Every day there is something special on the drinks menu.plus it has lobby bar.it has even a cafe where you get breakfast,pastries etc...just make sure you rent a car as cabs are quite expensive if you want to go anywhere.All the attractions are nearby.Rainforest is around 15 mins drive..luquillo beach around 15 mins.Fajardo ferry terminal/night kayaking is around 30 mins drive..There is a cafe outside the resort called Ritchie's cafe...make sure you go there .. You will get a breathtaking view while having your lunch/dinner... Overall a complete package ...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit! GRAND regards, Danny Williams General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
It was a nice hotel. I just wish the food wasn't overpriced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad you found our resort beautiful and had the opportunity to enjoy our culinary delights. Thank you for sharing your experience related to our restaurants. We are extremely proud of our culinary team and they provide high quality offering to our guests. Our menu items and related costs are consistent with those you would find at comparable resorts in the Caribbean. We receive many compliments and positive feedback due to excellent work done in our kitchens and dining rooms throughout our resort. GRAND regards, Danny Williams General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Family/relaxation written all over it...

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, staff is very courteous and make you feel at home.
Cons: I would say have a refrigerator accessible in every room
Location: Everything is within a few minutes drive. Gas station, restaurants. El Yunque. All short driving distance.
I stayed here for seven nights with my family we came here to Puerto Rico for a family trip everybody that I came with had an awesome time at this hotel. The cleanliness of the Rooms was most definitely on point. If ever I needed something they were very quick on getting it for us. Only downfall was that not every room is equipped with a refrigerator so we actually had to be put on a waiting list. Luckily by day number two at the hotel we were able to finally get our refrigerator the staff is very friendly courteous and attentive. They were quick to assist that's for sure. The pool was very clean however we did not spend most of our time there as we wanted to be at the beach every day. I did not self park, we actually used their valet which seem to be a little bit more cost-effective on my hand and easier as it was only $20 a day for valet and you could come and go as much as you pleased with self parking was $15, however to me valet was much easier since I didn't have to hassle about find a parking spot. I wanted my vacation to be hassle free and it was exactly just that. To eat or drink at the hotel is actually quite expensive however, we did treat ourselves about three times there while we were at the beach for snacks and drinks and such. However, we did find restaurants just right outside the resort. Very easy to get to. The staff is very courteous and will also give directions if needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, We are pleased that you enjoyed our guest experience, and discovered that almost every aspect of our little paradise met your fulfillment. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort. Warmest regards, Danny Williams General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really a get-away

Posted Jun 23, 2014
I loved the hotel it was perfect. The grounds beautiful- the staff funny, nice, & helpful. The hotel is pretty much set back and away from everything, which is nice. U will either have to rent a car or take taxis. I chose to take a taxi a few times $15 per way out to the kiosks, so worth it. The kiosks is an area with many restaurants to chose from and a small beach in back. I dont like to drive especially on vacation so it was perfect. Also there is shuttle service to 2 great restaurants Ritchie's (where they have karaoke & its lots of fun) and Carabali's (where the food is great & they have mini horses). The first room we got was not what I expected, i seen in reviews what others had said and asked to b moved- they were nice about it & it took about 2 days. I paid for ocean front room- they put me on the 1st floor - and my only view was of the pool and the workers doing a bit of work right outside my balcony! The second room was amazing more my style- updated - 6th floor with the best view ever. Normally I wouldn't be so picky but since I had saved up all my money for a year I wanted to get what I paid for. My son and I had the best time
2 out of 5
by CC from Ny

Remote hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2014
When I first arrived at the hotel I was given a room that had not been newly renovated. The tub had crust in it and the room just feel sad. Mind you I had another group of friends who also came the same day as us paid the said price and stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms. I just feel that if a hotel is going through a remodel the two very different rooms should not be the same price. I tried to just deal with the room, as my visit wasn't going to be a long one, but right before I went to sleep I reached to turn off the lamp and saw how filthy the lamp was. It was covered in crust and crud at the bottom and at that moment my friend and I who stayed in the room together called front desk and requested a room that was newly renovated. We were able to move into a new room the next day. As far as location it is not the best. Keep in mind it is next to a rainforest which meant during my stay there were occasional periods of gray skies and even rain. Also it is very far from San Juan so you may consider renting a car for a day to visit the main tourist attraction location unless your willing to pay a base taxi fee of $75. And you can forget about trying to walk out of this resort to visit the local surroundings on foot. That's a hike and a journey within itself. Long story short, if your looking for a remote resort with no desire to leave on your own much this resort is for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit! GRAND regards, Danny Williams General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marsha from Wisconsin

Great place if all you want is peace and quiet...

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: I did like the cleanliness of the hotel. I was able to stay in a renovated ocean view suite on the 6th floor and it was very nice. Very spacious!
Cons: The resort definitely needs to have more activities for adult guests. Having the Tiki Bar open later with music would have been a great feature!
Location: Try eating out at Antojitos, Dalias Dinner and Richies. All of those places had good food, very reasonably priced and just up the road!
Let me preface my review by saying that the resort was a very clean, well maintained property with renovated rooms that are tasteful and spacious. I have NO complaints or issues with the resort itself or location. However the service and value is a bit lacking. Housekeeping was the bare minimum with the bed being made, trash removed and fresh towels provided. Empy cans, cups and bottles were left sitting out when I thought housekeeping would take them to recycle. Outside, we waited at the Tiki Bar for several minutes and had to walk away as we couldnt get served. They had 2-3 bartenders working but they seemed to keep overlooking us and their "pace" was slow. However they had $5 drink specials every day. I can't say much about the restaurants on site other than to say dig deep in your pockets because it is VERY expensive! We had their "continental" type breakfast and paid about $60 for 2 people after tip. Not a good value at all for what you are getting. However the food was very good; just way too much money. Same with drinks and other food items. I recommend eating off site as much as possible if you want to save money. If you have an unlimited budget; eat in and I'm sure you wont be disappointed :) Also, everything is charged to your room. Activity wise; the place was more like a senior living complex. Everything outside was lights out and shut down at 7p. The most lively spot on site was the Lobby Bar! So if you want peace and quiet; this is your place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our hotel. We are delighted that you were pleased with the location and food especially. However we are apologetic for the areas where we fell short. Once we are made aware of any dissatisfaction we make every effort to resolve the problem immediately and/or make amends in some way. We will continue to improve and make every effort to ensure that our guests are completely satisfied with their stay with us. We hope that in future you will decide to stay with us once again in an effort to provide you with a perfect stay. We love having you here! GRAND regards, Danny Williams General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2014
The hotel was great. The room and furnishings were both wonderful. Our difficulites were the staff that worked on the weekends were less than helpful and not very welcoming. Translation was difficult. The ones that came on duty on Monday were fantastic. The beach directly in front of the hotel was nice but if you looked to the right or left which was still hotel property it was nasty. Trash was washed up and not cleaned which is disappointing when you like to go on vacation and walk along the ocean. (There was even a freezer washed up that remained the whole time we were there) It was extremely disappointing that the pool and hot tub closed up at 9:00 every night, we are used to most resorts having that area open until 11:00.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, First of all, thank you for your review and the gift of feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the pool inconvenience; we are not allowed to have the lights on at the pool area during the night because turtles nest at our beach and when they come out of the eggs, they might get confused and go to the pool area instead of the ocean. We look forward to your next visit, Danny Williams General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by かな from Park ridge , Il

Wonderful place, never had to leave the resort.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Location and amenities, staff was responsive and friendly
Cons: Wifi was spotty at times
Location: Right on the ocean, near the rainforest
Great time , restaurants were excellent. Beach was awesome with drink service and the hotel has two pools- kids with a water slide and an adult pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aimee from Indianapolis, IN

Perfect location

Posted Jun 12, 2014
We had an oceanfront room on the top floor. We had a renovated room and the view was amazing from the balcony. The bed was a little to hard for my comfort, but overall I slept good. The staff was great and the food at the hotel was good too. The location of the hotel was great because it wasn't down town, but located in a smaller town that still had shops and restaurants and it was close to el yunque and a ATV tour which we really enjoyed. The pool was great and my 9 year old daughter just loved the slide. Check in and out was a breeze and if we come back to Puerto Rico we will stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for this wonderful review. On your next visit, make sure to try our two 18-hole championship golf courses or tennis facilities. I'm sure you'll have a GRAND time! Thank you for your review. Looking forward to your next visit, Danny Williams General Manager
4 out of 5
by Samho from New York

Nice but...

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Pleasant people, looked nice, beach and pool was close to each other. Nice spa but extremely expensive.
Cons: Transportation to and from places. shuttles into town would be nice rather than have to pay expensive taxi or have to rent a car. Expensive taxis
Location: Rain forest was great. Had to travel to kayak trip and way to far to go to San Juan (old S.J.). Golf was nearby which was good. Courses need work.
Waited for 4 hours in lobby for my room. Had to move after first day. finally room was nice(newly renovated). To my shock prices in this hotel were ridiculous. No refrigerators in the room, tv was so small could barely see screen. spa was nice but again steam room not working. Work out area was extremely tight, dark , many machines not working. Shuttles ran very inconsistently and was always waiting for it to come. Hotel restaurants were fair, exorbitantly expensive and food was fair except Iguana club. pool area was loud and busy not very clean and orderly and jacuzzi was not hot enough and had NO circulation. Drinks at the bar were off the charts expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad you found our resort beautiful and had the opportunity to enjoy our culinary delights. Regarding your opinion about the service we are truly sorry. It is disappointing when we don't meet expectations and I can assure you this is not the norm. Our scores are consistently high compared to other properties. Even more, every year we are recipients of awards like Gold Key, Pinnacle, and Triple A, among others which are given to hotels who provide high level of service. I hope you give us another chance and visit us again in the near future. GRAND regards, Danny Williams General Manager