Ratings based on 1,721 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Very nice looking, nice pools and bar pool. Plenty of seats around the pool and the beach.
Cons: Its needs a guitar player or piano player at night. a little something to do in the evening. they should have a shuttle to San Juan.
Location: There is nothing near by, you need a car.
Nothing to do at night except a casino, that just sucks your money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

EXACTLY WHAT WE WERE LOOKING FOR!

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Everything was so clean! And quiet! our room backed up to the elevator and I NEVER heard it. Beautiful bathroom and good toiletries!
Cons: The daily parking charge was irritating, but there wasn't a daily resort fee.
Location: Northeast shoreline so easy access to El Yunque and Fajarda. And the town of Luquillo had a wonderful stretch of local restaurants.
The hotel was great - we required free wifi, beach, balcony, ocean front room and pool. We got all that and much much more. The extras were restaurant choices, tennis, access to golf (didn't play though) unexpected free room upgrade to a jr. suite, two pools, a marked jogging path and really nice staff. 4 for room comfort because our room was an odd shape and the TV was mounted on a wall that was on an angle facing away from the bed, so we had to pull chairs around to face it (after a day of snorkeling and sun, watching a movie in the room was perfect - and the movie choices were excellent! just about every oscar nominated film was available - so we were able to cross one off the list!) North east beach meant really good waves (body surfing! yes!) and proximity to El Yunque and Fajarda, which was terrific because while we had a car, it didn't entail a long drive to get to the things we wanted to do when not relaxing on the beach. The rainforest is literally on the other side of the main highway - a 10 minute drive at most - and Fajarda, where we did a day long snorkeling trip to Culebra and a bioluminescent bay kayak trip, was no more than 20 minutes away. We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay, especially for the price!!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Great location but wouldn't come back to the hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: location, friendly staff
Cons: food service, beach cleanliness, room cleanliness
Although we had a good time during our 6 night stay at the hotel, there's a lot to be improved! The hotel building itself is old, they are renovating it at the moment which is nice, but they could have done a better job. And I'm not talking only about the decore. We stayed in the newly renovated section and had a few problems, with the bathtub (the water didn't go down the drain), with the AC (which is just weird in general), the balcony door didn't slide smoothly. Didn't like the bedding and the way the bed was made. These are all minor things but you would expect not to deal with them at a 4-star hotel, right? Room cleanliness was a bigger issue. The floor was never swept. Once they forgot to empty our trash cans. The balcony was dirty when we arrived but they cleaned it the next day at least. Food. I would never ever go back to any of their restaurants! Fist of all, the service is extremely slow! At Marbella, we had to wait 10 min just to be seated, then another 30 min to place an order (there was only one waiter I guess, and he stopped by 3 times apologizing for the wait), then another hour for the food to come (appetizers!). The food was pretty good, but not worth the price! There are tons of restaurants 10 min away from the hotel with 3 times lower prices. Another restaurant we went was Shimai. Edamame was sent back because it smelled bad, 14 bucks for a small eel avocado roll?? Please! Just don't eat there. Period. I really liked the location, but wouldn't come back.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Beautiful hotel, mediocre staff

Posted Jan 21, 2015
The hotel itself was beautiful. The pool and surrounding beaches were great. The problem was with the hotel staff. Not only did they seem poorly trained, it was clear that there was some kind of disconnect going on. What they recommended did not match the hotels website, and every person seemed to give us a different story about the things the hotel offered. The food was ok, but the menus at the different restaurants in no way matched those at the concierge. We found them growing irritated, dismissive, and at times, even rude regarding our safety concerns and questions. They have free shuttles to local restaurants, that dropped us off at the wrong location as well, and on the second day housekeeping left our hotel room door open with all of our belongings inside!! When we called security to address this/check the room, it took them nearly 45 minutes to arrive. Needless to say we were disappointed with our stay, considering we knew and trusted Wyndham going into it. Luckily, we had a nice vacation thanks to local friends, and the help of other travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Goshen,NY

Over all a great stay!

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Ran out of water for about 5 min while husband was showering and there was also a loss of electricity in the middle of the night. Not sure for how long but we were aware of it being out fit about an 1/2 hour.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Nice Facility but food & drink outrageously priced

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Room Rate, Location, Cleanliness, View
Cons: Lower the prices on the drink& food to a reasonable amount so you do not feel like you are a captive audience and resent being taken advantage of
Location: Highly recommend renting a car. Liquillo Beach just ten minuets down the road beautiful and the food amazing
The Facility is beautiful and meticulously kept up. The view, pools, beach are terrific. The staff is very friendly, helpful and courteous. This is my second time at the hotel. The first time we only spent a night before a cruise. This time we really got the feel for the hotel because we got off the cruise and spent five days. All was great, including the food and drink but they charge outrageousness prices for both. The room rate is what attracted us but we did not realize we would be paying $10.00 for a mixed drink. Even with the $25.00 credit for four nights for dinner we received from Expedia with a bottle of wine and tip our bills were over a $100.00 for a meal. The other thing that bothered us is they advertised one restaurant to be American & Puerto Rican Favorites. This was the only restaurant open that evening because there was a group function happening in the other restaurant. We were forced to eat that night. I came to Puerto Rico to get local foods not Hamburgers. We were given the menu and it was all American. I asked for the Puerto Rican menu and there was none. All of the advertising in the lobby and else where was wrong and false and I let them know about it. I am a Chef and truth in menu is very important to me. I had a Hamburger! Since this is an establishment where they sell time shares etc. You are asked to go to a presentation for a free breakfast and $100.00 We did that the first time and when we declined this time I felt negativity
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Great hotel, so-so food

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Hotel is nice. Having the option of ocean or pool is a bonus. The beach is public but was clean and well taken care of. Food is over priced and mediocre. Rooms are nice and clean. All staff we came into contact with was professional, friendly, and helpful. Excellent service. The restaurants are not all open on the same days so you have to pay attention to the schedule depending on where/what you want to eat. The Iguana Pub at the Country Club (same grounds) had fantastic food. We also loved a BBQ called Asadora which is about 3 miles from the resort on Hwy. 3. Best pork ribs ever had. Asadora is an outdoor simple place with picnic tables but awesome food and drinks. We had our own car so explored the rain forest, Old San Juan, and other places.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view of the rainforest!

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Hotel was huge, lots of open space (wasted). Food was expensive and limited places to eat. Some were closed different times so only had limited choices on any day. Beach not very clean, Lots of trash and debris.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Review

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Ambiance, friendly staff
Cons: shuttle service to local town
Overall very pleasant place to stay. Resort pricing a little steep on food. Location is secluded so costly to go off the property, however, if looking for a nice beach or pool to lounge this is the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Cons: Improve room amenities
Great location if you want to experience Fajardo, culebra and Vieques. Quite far from old san juan and the main airport. Very helpful staff and great amenities. The room was comfortable and clean, but there was small issues like multiple power outlets not working, TV remote not working and the hair dryer not working. Although they immediately replaced the hair dryer, they never got us a new TV remote. They had multiple restaurant options inside the resort, I would definitely recommend the Iguana's pub (try the vegetarian mofango), but felt the marbella was overpriced. Their in-room breakfast options were very well priced.