Ratings based on 1,295 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from terre haute i

September 2014

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Overall we were very pleased with barcelo puerto Vallarta. The food was good, room was beautiful, hotel was very nice and updated. Service was not great but not horrible. The language barrier was a little worse there than other places we have visited in Mexico but we managed. We would Definately stay at this hotel again and probably request the same room as we loved our view! 1701:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Facility was amazing!!! Just amazing! The downfall is the food! But we will definilty be going back !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shelby twp. Michigan

Not 4 star hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2014
We only stayed there for a night. Everything was good , but it is older hotel and definitely not a 4 star hotel at the current state. I am sure it was at some point when it was newer. On the other hand it was very cheap compare to other 3 stars hotels. Would I stay there again? No because 4 stars is our minimum but if I was looking for 2.5-3 stars then it would be a different story for that price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Beautiful setting right on the beach

Posted Sep 4, 2014
We had a great stay! Hotel is very nice, view from the room gorgeos, staff very accomodating. Had a problem with plumbing in the room, got another even nicer room. Later in the day flight asked for later checkout, manager ok'd although hotel was full. Staff very nice and pleasant, food was good. We'll be back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from WA

Nice hotel in a beautiful location, terrible food

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: nice room, good location, good overall environment
Cons: The food is terrible, the buffet quality is very poor not very good for Americans. The specialty restaurant are ok but only open one night a week.
Location: Sayolita is an awesome beach town need car rental. Good boat ride & snorkeling in the area ask the expedia representative he is good .
This hotel is in an awesome location, the nature around it it's simply fantastic and the beach is one of the best in the area. The positive: nice room, good location, good overall environment. The negative: The food is terrible, the buffet quality is very poor not very good for Americans. The specialty restaurant are ok but only open one night a week with reservation, avoid the Italian restaurant was actually worst than the buffet. They don't offer free wifi which to me was a big inconvenient. Great for families or groups, suggest short stay week or less.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room, bad experience

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Front desk staff were awful and didn't help us at all. Good was terrible. Not going back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Sep 1, 2014
I do not like the hotel is very old I could not enter the room the air conditioning does not work all inclusive food is not good reserve the premier suit and had bugs in the sheets
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly

Nice hotel on beach but need better food options

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: View & location
Cons: Food choices & options.
Location: Close to Zoo El Eden -zip lining, hiking, pool & restaurants. Bus will take you in town.
I enjoyed my time there. It was pleasant,nice & relaxing. The pools were great & so was the beach. There need to be more food options & evening entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Lovely resort with lovely staff.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Location: There is a small zoo across the road about 20 minute walk into the hillside.and a tequila factory with a tasting room. 'Mr Tequila'
The resort it very picturesque, and the decor is has an updated "Mexican' flavor, dark woods and frosted glass, lots of beautiful iron work chandeliers about the resort and the rooms, which are well maintained, the tiled rooms are cool in the heat. The upper floors of the hotels have amazing views of the ocean, pools,and the lush hillside . The buffet is delicious, everything appears to be hand prepared, real food, not pre made/packaged stuff. Although they did have chicken nuggets in the kids buffet. The buffet has theme nights, ie Italian, Asian etc. plus a great selection of Mexican favorites and a selection of non Mexican items as well. The desserts are all freshly made and delicious. The restaurants each had their own flair and specialties. the swim up bar in the pool is fun and the local Iguanas reside in the pool waterfalls. They will eat hibiscus flowers from your hands. The entertainment staff were fun and outgoing. The dance lessons and morning aqua fit were really fun.I won a tour with Vallarta Outdoor Adventures playing bingo by the poolside! I did not get the chance to redeem it before I left the Barcelo so I'll have to go back. Nice place for a family or wedding etc. If you are looking for nightlife in Puerto Vallarta you should probably stay somewhere else or take a taxi into the city. But the small band in the cantina at night is fun place for couples to relax and dance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Beautiful hotel-but the club music?

Posted Aug 25, 2014
This was our honeymoon and we had a very romantic trip-but had to laugh at the setup of the pool. Loud speakers at every pool with a dj playing loud club music all day long. We were there in August, the slow season, so not many people were at the pool. It just seemed funny, to try and create a club atmosphere in the middle of the day with loud house music and no people. We did fine and had a good laugh, but by day 6 were really tired of the music:-) staff was awesome, everything clean/immaculate. Food was so-so, we never went hungry though!