Ratings based on 1,283 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from anaheim CA

good

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: room
Cons: food
Location: beach
The hotel is nice and the room had two tv plasmas. the wifi service is expensive and very slow . Also the buffet meal is not of good quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very pleasant experience, will be back

Posted Aug 24, 2014
We loved this hotel, can't say one bad thing about it. My three year old loved the kids club
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Murfreesboro, TN

Poor Service.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros:
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from wyoming

right on the beach, own bay area

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: location by beach
Cons: airport was so far away better and more restaurants
Location: go to the beach was about it, you had to take a taxi if you wanted to go do anything
was right next to the beach, in its own bay area, lots of sunshine but quite a distance from airport :( not that many options to eat and you have to book like 4 days in advance to eat there...frustrating that they didn't tell us that not many americans- lots of mexicans and indians... drinks were good for the all inclusive but lots of bees were around all the time hotel room was good, a bit dirty and old/used looking... didn't clean the sheets between each night (stayed for 7 nights!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, ca

Beautiful property-Great service-pricelss!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The size of the hotel, the staff, the food, the location, the scenery, the atmosphere, the premium room, the property, the room, the bed, the shower.
Cons: I don't typically order room service so I don't know how long it usually takes, but there was a few times my order took nearly an hour. No biggie!
Location: Walk the beach, go on tequila tours, get massages, watch the thunder and lightning, drink eat, release baby sea turtles, dance
Where do I start? The weather was absolutely awesome, both extremes. Hot, rainy and humid. The lightning was spectacular. The hotel was perfect for me and my wife. We didn't want to stay at a huge hotel with 1000's of rooms and a million people and we got exactly want we wanted. The service was great. As soon as we arrived the hotel staff greeted us and made us feel welcomed. Since we were Club Premium guest we bypassed the front desk and were escorted to the Club Premium room to check in. This entire experience was new to me and I was a bit taken back by the level of attention that was given to make us feel comfortable. The room was wonderful and the view was truly as advertised. The food was good and plentiful. We came to indulge our selves and that's exactly what we did. The room service took a bit long at times but that wasn't really a big deal, it gave time for another cocktail :-). We read in other reviews that the beach was small and it was, but for a guy who doesn't like sand it didn't bother me. Big is not always better and we felt as if the location was perfect for us not everyone. One evening we went to the beach and their was group of people standing at the edge of the water. We wondered what was going on so we walked over. Their were people with baby sea turtles in their hands. The turtles had just been hatched and the people were preparing to release them once in was darker and the pelicans couldn't see them. A very cool experience. We had fuuun!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Three day getaway

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Great getaway. Too far from town to easily visit. Food is mediocre at best. Very good staff and other visitors. Resort is at a river mouth, no beach swimming. Great night time music. Beautiful location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley Ca.

What a great location

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Great part of Puerto Vallarta, your in the jungle baby.
Location: Close to the zip lines, fishing, and beautiful beaches.
The resort has a beautiful bay and fishing pangas that depart from there. If you like to fish, it doesn't get ant more convenient than that
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxnard, california

amazing honeymoon

Posted Aug 17, 2014
the trip to puerto vallarta was a wedding gift for us and we went for our honeymoon. we loved every moment of our stay at barcelo. overall the staff was wonderful. my husband lost his phone in the lobby and the employees were honest and returned his phone to him. we didnt get to stay in the honeymoon suite we initially booked but we didnt mind the honeymoon suite we had, however the shower knob was broken which they fixed right away. our coffeemaker was broken too but we didnt care so much about it. the view from our balcony was gorgeous and i especially loved the private beach. i didnt love getting asked every moment if we wanted to buy stuff when we were on the beach but people have to make money somehow. overall we received great service at the restaurants and bars but los arcos restaurant had really poor customer service. we felt ignored a lot of the time and it took a long time for us to receive our orders. despite this we still had a great timr and would definitely come back to barcelo time and time again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from el paso Texas

Great stay

Posted Aug 13, 2014
We had an amazing time during our stay at the Barceló. We enjoyed their facilities, food and drinks. All staff was very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, La

Our dream come true!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Just stayed at Barcelo at the end of July for my honeymoon and I could not have been more pleased. My husband and I did a lot of research and I read just about every review there is before booking. We have never traveled anywhere together and are youg (24 and 26) so we booked through Expedia. The hotel was about 20 minutes away from PV airport, but well worth the drive! The hotel is nestled in the mountains and along side some of the best views of this city! The hotel and staff went above and beyond our expectations. We stayed on the top floor and would highly recommend the upgrade to Club Premium for its benefits--comes with a free city tour and that was our favorite thing we did. The food was incredible and offered plenty of choices from the restaurants to the buffet and cafe/bars. The snack bar by the pool was our absolute favorite! You can order from a menu or eat what they have served (I ate my weight in the fire grilled pizza). The staff and all bartenders were very friendly and made your drink the way you asked (top shelf liquor included). Adelina, the excursion coordinator was the best person we met at the resort! She set up everything for us before we even got there and was available at the lobby our whole stay. She did everything we asked and all of our excursions worked out perfectly! The resort is so beautiful, very safe, rooms are huge, the beach is smaller but we loved the pool and the views were worth it. We would (and plan to) come back one day!