Ratings based on 1,299 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

AMAZINGLY!!!!!!!

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: The swim up bar and staff were great.
Cons: More evening entertainment.
Location: It was 25 minutes from the downtown area which was just fine.
My husband and I had a blast. The hotel and staff were very accommodating. We even took a tour to the tequila distillery and enjoy our day out. However, we didn't need to leave the resort. I would highly recommend this resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KCMO

Didn't meet expectations

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Sliced my foot in their pool 2hrs after getting there. The emt & lifeguard bandaged it all week, they were great. The manager never came and talked me. I thought that was universally standard. Hotel told us restaurants were closed for renovations..lie. Capacity was low so they closed them. After complaints, they were opened. But only by talking to other guests did we find that out & get a reservation. The resort credit was almost useless. The minimum purchase amount was never disclosed until you try to use voucher. Order from menu in the snack bar & restaurants. Activities staff & most bartenders were great. Had great time with the other guests.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Bait and switch

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Hotel booked a large group of swingers & excluded other guests from all pool areas but one. These swingers had the pool bar, sports pool and kids pool/playground. Only 2 beers/day allowed in "mini bar." Never felt so unwelcome. Won't stay at a Barcelo ever again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from terre haute i

September 2014

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Overall we were very pleased with barcelo puerto Vallarta. The food was good, room was beautiful, hotel was very nice and updated. Service was not great but not horrible. The language barrier was a little worse there than other places we have visited in Mexico but we managed. We would Definately stay at this hotel again and probably request the same room as we loved our view! 1701:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Facility was amazing!!! Just amazing! The downfall is the food! But we will definilty be going back !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shelby twp. Michigan

Not 4 star hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2014
We only stayed there for a night. Everything was good , but it is older hotel and definitely not a 4 star hotel at the current state. I am sure it was at some point when it was newer. On the other hand it was very cheap compare to other 3 stars hotels. Would I stay there again? No because 4 stars is our minimum but if I was looking for 2.5-3 stars then it would be a different story for that price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Beautiful setting right on the beach

Posted Sep 4, 2014
We had a great stay! Hotel is very nice, view from the room gorgeos, staff very accomodating. Had a problem with plumbing in the room, got another even nicer room. Later in the day flight asked for later checkout, manager ok'd although hotel was full. Staff very nice and pleasant, food was good. We'll be back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from WA

Nice hotel in a beautiful location, terrible food

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: nice room, good location, good overall environment
Cons: The food is terrible, the buffet quality is very poor not very good for Americans. The specialty restaurant are ok but only open one night a week.
Location: Sayolita is an awesome beach town need car rental. Good boat ride & snorkeling in the area ask the expedia representative he is good .
This hotel is in an awesome location, the nature around it it's simply fantastic and the beach is one of the best in the area. The positive: nice room, good location, good overall environment. The negative: The food is terrible, the buffet quality is very poor not very good for Americans. The specialty restaurant are ok but only open one night a week with reservation, avoid the Italian restaurant was actually worst than the buffet. They don't offer free wifi which to me was a big inconvenient. Great for families or groups, suggest short stay week or less.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room, bad experience

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Front desk staff were awful and didn't help us at all. Good was terrible. Not going back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Sep 1, 2014
I do not like the hotel is very old I could not enter the room the air conditioning does not work all inclusive food is not good reserve the premier suit and had bugs in the sheets