Ratings based on 1,485 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Barcelo

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: staff and concierge and excursion people great...
Cons: food... breakfast good... lunch and supper average( sometimes food was cold)..
Location: location a little too far out of city...taxi's are good though
Hotel was nice.. people and staff friendly..food was only average..sometimes cold.. location is a bit out of city
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Disapointing, hotel did not live up to its rating

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Snack bar, pools, staff (other than front desk). Room was big. Italian restaurant. staff did an excellent job on my sons wedding!
Cons: Hotel rooms need to be upgraded, buffet to be improved from average. Hotel desk staff needs to be friendlier and more resprectful.
Location: Horrible location if you are looking to do different activities.
Hotel staff are fantastic once you get past the front desk staff. Hotel setting is beautiful, hotel needs some serious upgrades. Rooms are spacious, but need to be upgraded. Dehumidifiers are needed in each room to keep the mold and mildew smell to a minimum. We were one of the lucky ones to have one but it was old and very noisy. Air conditioning needs to be cleaned and updated. Our safe did not work, lights burnt out, cordless phone doesn't work. No hot water in the one bathroom, second bathroom shower was just a trickle. Patio doors did not lock. Hotel is located much too far from PV and does not have much of a night life and does not have shuttle service to PV activities. This would be a great place to go if you just want to lay by the pool and drink. Buffet was average, snack bar excellent, a la cart Italian was awesome, steak and seafood was terrible. We give this hotel a rating of 2. The hotel staff other than the front staff get a 5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Fabulous experience!

Posted Mar 2, 2015
This was our third time in PV and Barcelo resort and spa was our best experience yet! The room was immaculate. Staff were phenomenal. Service impeccable! Pools were the perfect temperature. The gardens were fantastic and the spa was nothing short of amazing. There is a fantastic little local strip on the beach right next the the hotel to mingle with locals. And if you want the best boat tour ever go see my friend Tony on the beach! Will go back again and again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Barcelo Puerta Vallarta

Posted Mar 2, 2015
The place is a local pearl. The beach is gorgeous. Great for ocean swimming and snorkeling. Great views. Staff is very polite. Food is very good. There is a couple of private restaurants on a beach with fresh caught seafood if one gets tires from hotel made food. The hotel is not new but very clean. Service in 3 theme restaurants is not customer oriented, but more lazy than malicious. In all the other places like buffet, cantina and snack bars the service is very friendly. I liked this place a lot and found it overall excellent. I have got everything i needed for a super vacation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Good. Food and Drinks, Not So much.

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: The room, landscaping, and staff.
Cons: The food at the buffet was not good and sometimes cold. the margaritas did not taste like any margarita I have had anywhere else in the USA or Mexico.
Location: This hotel is away from it all. You are not on the strip and will be away from the crowds. You need a taxi or bus to get to the boardwalk.
The hotel is nicely landscaped and well maintained. Our room was spacious, immaculately clean, and with newer furnishings. Staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Prince George , BC

excellent choice for a vacation

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: The variety of food and the friendliness of staff were second to none. Also, the location was private and beautiful.
Location: The resort is located across the road from the zoo, a 10 min walk to the zoo. Snorkelling at the resort.
One of our favourite memories was the variety of fish we could see when we went snorkelling right of the beach:, stingrays, puffer fish, flute fish, schools of neon tetras, feather fin bullfish, etc. We also did a snorkelling tour close to our resort, but found that while the fish were plentiful and colourful, we only saw two species, unlike the variety right at the resort. We also loved playing on the beach in the waves, and playing beach volleyball The food was awesome, great variety, and the displays were creative and amazing. The staff were very courteous and friendly. We travelled with our 15 and 13 year olds. They enjoyed the activities the staff had organized. Our room was a suite, that was ideal for a family of 4, two king beds, two spacious rooms adjoining, and two bathrooms. The view from the balcony was beautiful. There were excellent photo moments as the sun was setting in the evening, very picturesque. we can't wait to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great secluded location

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Beautiful Resort. Good meals at all restaurants. Drinks are always available. Typical all-inclusive resort. Beach is filled with locals, shops, and a restaurant with $1.50 beers. Club Premium gets you wi-fi and room service. Also floors 7-9 are premium so you get the best views.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Too far!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
There's a bar next to hotel with loud music until 3-5am!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom louisville ky

food was the worse i have ever had!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: nice rooms
Cons: on the FOOD and the check in and check out process!
thy are going thur management problems and thy all seamed out of sink, the food on the buffet was out a lot and it was COLD! the other restaurants mediocre at best the steak house was a joke the steak was as thick as paper! we ended up going out a lot to eat on our own. also thy have NO BEACH at all very very bad and small. checked out once and was getting in cab and thy called me back because thy had checked me out on the wrong ROOM and had to go back and do it again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Enjoyable vacation!

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Nice hotel. Upgraded to premier access club which gave us a larger room with an ocean view. Hotel is located rather far from town where most excursions leave from so be prepared. Food was mediocre but pretty good for an all inclusive resort. Beach was small and pretty much unswimable. But overall, it was a nice resort and I would recommend.