Ratings based on 1,219 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from Kelowna, BC

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Apr 18, 2014
The hotel was gorgeous and well maintained. The staff were amazing! Super friendly and accommodating. Great location for being out of town, but bus and taxis were easily available for reasonable prices. Highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Like your own little cove tucked away

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Cons: Facecloths were not replenished, asked 3 times before finally getting them again. Free Wi-Fi.
Location: Zoo and Tequila factory is walking distance, one easy bus ride to town.
Overall the hotel was good, very clean. If you enjoy long walks on the beach this is not hotel for you but you can snorkel right off the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from San Diego

great stay

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: good food, good service, very clean.
Cons: the evening "festivities" are way too loud (unnecessarily). Maybe they don't realize how the sound carries and bounces off the hillsides.
Location: nice beach, water taxis available to explore other areas.
this was my second time staying at this hotel and I am very pleased. I don't think that I would stay anywhere else in Puerto Vallarta.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JR from Alberta

Beautiful time at the Barcelo

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Amazing vacation! I was a bit worried with some of the reviews but it was such a fantastic experience. First off the rooms are absolutely amazing. I spent a lot of time researching and we had wanted to upgrade to premium club until we did a room tour and it was the exact same room as ours so we decided not to bother. Food was delicious! The buffet was fantastic. So much to choose from. I think I gained 10 pounds from all the delicious choices. The pools are huge and well layed out. I enjoyed many piña coladas and guacamole/salsa and chips. Yum! Our fan wasn't working in our room and the staff was ontop of it. Anytime we called to the front desk for anything, it happened right away! Only downfall was the night activities. They have tons during the day. Cooking classes, archery, yoga, drink classes etc etc. The day was amazing but being mid 20's the nightlife was bad. They don't have a club at the resort which would have been nice. The only entertainment was the 9pm show which seemed more geared towards children. Overall an amazing vacation. Will definitely recommended this resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome relaxing

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: So tropical, beautiful
Cons: The waiter seem to know a little more about the type of drinks. And if one ordered just water that usually was forgotten and not brought.
Location: We had a great time at the outdoor adventure and snorkling
We were so excited to be welcomed right from the start with such smiles and helpfulness. We felt like we were royalty. The facility was so beautiful, beyond what our expectations were.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JoAnne from Creston BC

Beautiful Resort

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Such a beautiful view, ....private beach, ....the resort was so open , airy, clean and gorgeous! Loved the evening entertainment! Close to the zoo, bus stop across the road from the resort , easy access to off resort adventures, and the staff was very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ismet from Seattle

Great place for family vacation

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Mostly everything.
Cons: For people who don't eat pork, it should be marked and shouldn't be mixed with other meat on the grill.
Very good hotel for money paid. Friendly staff, large rooms, lots of fun. I only did not like that food in buffet is not market correctly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Edmonton

Nice hotel great ocean view

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Good food selection. Friendly staff very helpful. Would love to return. Must get to pool area early to get a shady spot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hit or real miss.

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Some of the staff were fantasitic, the ladies booking dinner reservations in the lobby, not so much.
Cons: Window coverings need to be updated. Look at replacing the grout in the bathrooms.
Location: Location was good, only 15 min to downtown by bus. The garden areas are beautiful and well maintained. The beach is nice.
I'll be completely honest. The lobby and covered pathways and garden areas are clean and well maintained. The pool patio and tables on the patio in the buffet are in need of a good cleaning. Thank goodness I packed my Norwex cleaning supplies as I spent 2.5 hrs cleaning our room upon arrival. The floor and surfaces were dirty however, the beds and bathrooms were clean so I was thankful for that. We went to bed early the first night as we were all rather exausted however not much sleep between 11:30pm and 1am as the music from the bar was really loud, this went on for the next 3 nights. The room was large and offered privacy between bedrooms which we really liked (two bathrooms). The beach area was clean. If you want an unbrella at the pool you need to place your towel at the pool early. The food was just OK, nothing special. The entertainment was good each night. The kids club was also great. Marisol and Lucy did a fantasitic job! Isa was full of personality in the buffet. The room is considered non-smoking, don't expect to have your patio doors open as the balconies are smoking, doesn't make much sense.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erica from Chicago, IL

Fun spring break trip!

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: -huge pools -plenty of chairs
Cons: -have all a la carte restaurants open every night
Location: -gorgeous views -peaceful setting away from hustle of city
We went from 3/22-3/26 and had a fabulous time. Highlights/tips: *Prior to our trip, we booked transportation from the airport to the hotel through Puerto Vallarta Tours. It was only $14.50/person & there was a gentleman with a sign with our name on it waiting for us as soon as we exited the airport. Awesome! The hotel is about 40 mins from the airport so we were pleased with spending about $30 to go in our own car vs paying more to be a part of a shuttle. *We went without our 3 kids but commented that we'd love to come back to the hotel with them. It is very family-friendly with a shallow pool and slide for kids, kids' activities and the size of the rooms are easily big enough to fit our family of five. *We didn't upgrade to premium like many seem to do and we still had a wonderful time! I don't feel we missed out on anything (except internet but it was nice not to be connected to our phones at all times) and room 1602 was quiet. *We didn't go into town this time but have done so in the past and have loved taking the bus. I would recommend! *My husband and I took a walk every morning and loved exploring the area. It's a quick walk to the zoo. *I read comments that the drinks were watered down. I didn't find that to be the case at all. *I found the food to be good. Breakfast was fabulous and we liked the snack bar for lunch. For dinners, I always had a bunch of fruit and a giant salad. Sometimes they had the wok open in the buffet restaurant- yummy grilled veggies!