Ratings based on 1,449 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver Colorado

Had a great time. The staff was very friendly.

Posted Jan 26, 2015
This is a great resort for someone who wants to be outside of the busy tourist area of PV. Yet only a 15 minute taxi ride to town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for everyone!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: helpful staff, beautiful hotelrooms
Food was cold even in specialty restaurants, No quiet place to sit during the day at the pool,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and beautiful resort!

Posted Jan 25, 2015
We had an exceptional stay at the Barcelo! The rooms were large, clean and beyond our expectations. All rooms overlook the pool and ocean. It was absolutely beautiful. The food was great and the staff was wonderful. There are numerous pools that were always clean and surrounded with beautiful landscaping. An overall excellent experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Really nice resort, exceeded expectations.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Great service, location, clean well run resort.
Cons: The grill/oven at the snack bar does not have a great chimney/exhaust set up, so the grill smoke tends to inhabit a portion of the north pools.
Location: Botanic gardens to the south well worth a visit - excellent birding there.
Really nice resort, quiet and fairly private location about 12 miles south of the main city of Puerto Vallarta. Staff and service were excellent (we did purchase the Club Premium option which we felt was a good value). Food is very good overall with the buffet being surprisingly good in our opinion. Facilities are kept super clean, plenty of staff to attend to your every need.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Hotel and food was very nice, staff was awesome :) they did a great job. Wasn't very happy with a beach...small and more for fishing then for relaxing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mn

Nice hotel. Great service, awesome staff

Posted Jan 24, 2015
The hotel was nicer than most of the others we saw. Great view, great staff. Antonio from the Los Argos bar was awesome!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unexpected posh

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Great service, amazing views. Would highly recommend to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria, BC

Puerto Vallarta - Jan 2015

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: The hotel room was lovely, as it was a one bedroom suite - had a separate living room space. The Buffet dining room overlooked the beach and water.
Location: Mismaloya has a small zoo; a Tequila factory, that you can visit. Can take the city bus into town to tour it for 8 pesos.
Had an excellent time at the Puerto Vallarta's Barceló resort. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The pools were very clean - there was one pool, we called the 'quiet' pool, and the other pool, where the activity took place was the 'busy' pool. You could relax by either - lots of activities by the staff to participate in. We happened to be in Tower 1 on the 2nd floor, not far from the Theatre and the Cantina. There were a few nights, where the music went on to 1am - so if you wanted to get to bed earlier, if you cannot sleep due to the music, you were kept awake until after 1am. They have lots of tours available from there, if you are into all sorts of activities. It was close to the zoo, you could walk there. The food was excellent, we only ate at the Buffet, but there was so much variety - why eat somewhere else. The beach was lovely, albeit small, but you could go for a walk over to the left along a path, where they filmed The Night of the Iguana. Had a wonderful time, and would recommend this to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Jan 20, 2015
PROS:Hotel excels in mountain scenery away from city life in town but with easy accessibility by local bus for 8 pesos. All rooms large with balconies and at least partial ocean view. Grounds well kept with pools surrounded with flowers and water scape. Service friendly and professional. CONS:Buffet breakfast was the best with fresh made omelets. Dinners lacked variety. With one week stay, only 3 nights of restaurant options included without upgrade charge. Los Arcos steak/seafood best; only one with all outside seating. Capri Italian needs improving on quality. Cream spinach soup had color, blandness and consistency of jarred baby food. Bldg 1 was noisy with Cantina loud till midnight, even on our 5th floor. Also no sun all day on balcony and no sunset view. Chose Bldg 1 for both.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom M

Amazing hotel by all rights

Posted Jan 18, 2015
This hotel was absolutely great! It definetly exceeded all my expectations. The staff was great and involved. My favorite thing about it was the rooms, they were spacious. Also the location: placed between mountains and the ocean it was breathtaking. I would definetly recommend it to all my friends and family.