Ratings based on 1,637 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Don't waste your vacation on this place!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
2nd time in Mexico, 1st time stayed at the "Royal Haciendas" in Playa del Carmen and loved it. Read all reviews carefully before booking this place. Man, were we disappointed. Let's start with pros: very spacious room, nice view of the ocean, small beach, but ok to swim, no rocks. Cons: Dirty pools, disgusting public bathrooms, food at the buffet bad. We seriously had to wait for avg 20-30 minutes in line to get into the buffet in the morning and additional 15-20 if you want to eat an omelette. The steak and seafood reataurant very poor quality of food, tiny portions. The spanish restaurant food ok, however extremely poor service. The italian restaurant was the best with good food and good service. Don't even bother ordering room service as it took 20-30 mins just to deliver a cup if tea or glass of milk. One time the food did not show up at all. Took on avg 2-3 calls until food arrived. Most staff does not speak English, so it was a struggle every day to get something done. Also, pool service took about 45 mins at least until you got drinks from time of arrival at pool. My whole family as well as friends staying with us got a stomach bug and had diarrhea for days. The place was over crowded and we had to get up at 7 am just to be able to get a chair at the pool. All in all a 2 possibly a 3 star resort in our opinion. Now, the ocean and the rainforest were amazing and there are lots of activities available. We are never going back to Barceló, though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice but not amazing

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Location is prime, pools are great, staff is helpful and friendly. Food was okay, restaurants have dress codes that didn't allow us to dine. Rooms are huge with great views. Hotel is right on the beach and secluded with not a lot of people. I've been to better hotels that have 24 hour food available which I prefer and have room fridge stocked with drinks where this one didn't. Overall I enjoyed the stay, but not enough to bring me back to the same resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver Colorado

Great vacation destination

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Staff was awesome - friendly, helpful, very nice to be around. Hotel was always clean, food was good, they have variations of style depending on show theme. Fantastic shows, especially Michael Jackson and Latin show. Nice pools, beach front, and get this NO pressure selling anything to you. No time share, membership sales people. Only issue, they charge $12 U.S for Internet services. Also, do not exchange currency at airport, the hotel will do it at a higher rate. It was a nice trip for us, family vacation 7 nights and too short of a stay. One more thing, you can ride the bus into town for $8. Pesos per person. Finally, the city is almost crime free, don't be scare to venture, you will enjoy it. If you look for a boat ride to islands around hotel Ask for ARNOLD outside the hotel... he was great guide and affordable. Enjoy your stay....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MM

Good all-inclusive hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2015
My girlfriends and I spent a weekend at this resort for my bachelorette. Although a family resort, we still had fun and enjoyed the hotels amenities. The bar was always open when we needed drinks. There were times when it was harder to get them because of the many drinks requests. The poolside bar and service wasn't always available which was a bummer. The buffet was great! It was pointless to make reservations at their 3 restaurants, specially if you are only staying over the weekend. It seems to get booked several days in advance. Their staff was excellent and friendly, specially the bell boys and buffet attendants. We felt very secure within the hotel. They always keep records of our trips out of the resort which was comforting. Security was great with keeping non-hotel people get in our space since it is close to the public access. it definitely great for the price. I see myself staying back here in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Dakota

Great place to stay!

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Cons: The ant problems in the hotel room.
Location: The location is about 30 minutes from the airport. It is close to the Zoo. Only about a 10 minute walk from the resort.
Overall, we had a wonderful experience at Barcelo. We went to Barcelo on our honeymoon and it was our first time at an all-inclusive resort. The staff was super friendly and the drinks/food were awesome! We did the Premium package and were able to book reservations for each night we were at the resort. The food and service was great. Barcelo is located about a half hour from the airport which makes it more secluded, but for a relaxed and romantic vacation it was great. There was a big ant problem in our room, but that was the only major downfall. The sand of the beach was kind of rough and filled with people trying to sell you stuff, so we spent a majority of the time at the pools which were great and well-maintained. Barcelo is a beautiful resort and we would definitely like to come back in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2015 by Rodolfo Pacheco GM, Hotel Management
Hello dear Beau, we're very happy with your review, everything we do in this resort is to bring a wonderful holidays to our guests, because our guest are the most important in Barceló. I hope you can return soon and enjoy once again the experience called Barceló Puerto Vallarta. Kind regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Not what we expected.....

Posted Jul 8, 2015
This was our 4th trip to Mexico in the past 2 years and we must say this was the most disappointing of all. We had booked a club premium room and received an email stating we would be getting a room on the top floor(top 3 floors) but upon check in we got room 1219...:( we thought nothing of it till we checked our email a few days later and realized it and at that point it was too late. We didn't even get offered or explained why we didn't get our room upgrade as Expedua Gold members. So disappointed! Room had ants from chocolate that were rotten that was left in our room. Gross!!!! They were just going to raid the room (nightstand was infested). We told them to remove the nightstand. Not sure how some people rated the food good or great? We found the food average at best. Our concierge didn't seem interested at all. Every time we say her she didn't even say hi when we walked into the club. The resort is showing its age and could really use some renovations. We went there for our wedding anniversary and I had sent an email a week prior hoping they would do something nice for us as the other resort we stayed at dud. I received an email at 4:30PM the afternoon of our anniversary. A bit late.....again disappointed. Overall we would rate it 3.5 and definitely not a 4.5 as its posted on Expedia. PS: I usually don't do reviews but I was so disappointed I had to write this review.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2015 by Rodolfo Pacheco GM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all, I would like to thank you for your kind preference choosining Barceló Puerto Vallarta as your host for your holidays and also say that I appreciate the time you took to share with us your experience. In the other hand, let me tell you that we feel very sorry about your review and notice that we didn't meet your expectations during your stay, please receive my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences. Sometimes when people doesn’t receive something promised is when everything starts to see a little bit frustrating and start to not enjoy a fun vacation, we totally understand that point, however I would like to clear some points you mention regarding the upgrade you can enjoy for been part of the Expedia Gold Members, this is always offered up to the availability of the day, unfortunately we didn’t have it the day of your arrival and we fail in provide you this plus. We regret your feelings about your perception of the rest of the services you mention that definitely allow us to concentrate our efforts in those areas in which we can still improve our service levels aiming at a more pleasant stay for you; I assure you that we will review all the situations and will reinforcing this, so the next time you visit us you will receive the high level service we are used to offer. We hope you can open your mind and once you notice this was just an unfortunate experience and with a positive attitude give us the opportunity to show the true service of Barceló Puerto Vallarta with which we are building our reputation and please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful scenery

Posted Jul 8, 2015
A great experience. But need to hire new managemnet. Often the staff don't know and /or don't relay the rules to the guests. Ex: never told us we have return pool towels to the towel desk. On our 4th day we were refused towels bc we had 5 "unreturned towels" which we had to pay 20dollars for each. Of course the manager fixed that issue. And once when my husband was locked out of our room was told he needs to pay 20dollars for an extra room key. Unheard of! Also, ordering food into the room wa as big problem as they got orders wrong each time. I believe it was a language barrier. But overall it was a nice experience, beautiful scenes, nice evening shows, and friendly people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2015 by Rodolfo Pacheco GM, Hotel Management
Hello dear guest, First of all, thank you for take your time to do a review of our hotel, we really appreciate this effort because this is how we can provide a better service day by day. On behalf of all the hotel and of course my part, I ask a sincere apology, the inconvenience you lived in your stay are unacceptable and we're working on it. I invite you to return soon and see by yourself the big changes we are doing to our resort. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento ca

Paradise

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Second visit in 12 years. Same beauty and tranquility and staff was hard working and friendly. Rooms clean and comfy. Hotel was invaded by Canadian high school grads and was loud and terrible but after talking to Olivia she moved our stuff to a new upgraded room and we could finally sleep. Kids club is fantastic, Ana is amazing and my child didn't want to leave. Food and facilities excellent. The staff is what made the vacation wonderful and relaxing. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2015 by Rodolfo Pacheco GM, Hotel Management
Hello dear Athena, I apologize about the group of Canadian grads. I really appreciate your comments, they give us a lot of motivation to continue giving the best serve in all Puerto Vallarta. I invite you to return soon and live once again the experience of Barceló. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

Great hotel with beach access

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Great experience will definetly return. Great service and great hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2015 by Rodolfo Pacheco GM, Hotel Management
Hi Jesus first of all, thank you for taking your time to give us your comments. The opinion of the guests are very important to us as it is the way we can grow and provide better service. We look forward to your return soon, Greetings
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice secluded beach

Posted Jul 3, 2015
the hotel staff were friendly and drinks were good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2015 by Rodolfo Pacheco GM, Hotel Management
Hello Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel, we really appreciate your valuable time. I invite you to return soon to this nook of the pacific ocean. best regards