Ratings based on 1,513 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort with ocean views

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Great place to stay. Friendly staff, especially some of the bar tenders, the wait staff, and entertainment crew. Would definitely stay here again. Views from room balconies are beautiful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom h

Nice hotel in a quiet location and near beach.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Lovely property in Mismaloya which is 30 minutes south of downtown PV. Family suite had 2 rooms each with a king size bed and 2 baths which was great for families. Wish the room had more than one chair to sit on though. Pools were nice and heated which was a plus. All inclusive with good food. Only downside it was a long way to marina for many of the water excursions. Could take 25 minute boat ride across bay for some excursions or a 30 minute taxi ride.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, B.C.

4 star far from everything

Posted Mar 24, 2015
The resort is nice, but small. In a cove meaning a small, short beach. 25 mins from town so all your money goes to cabs or you just have to stay at the resort. Don't upgrade to club premium before you get there. It's not really worth the extra cost, and we found out it's cheaper to upgrade when you get there (half the cost cheaper). They also don't have a rule on reserving loungers so you need to get there early to grab one or get stuck in the back, surrounded by tons of empty chairs with towels on them. Pools are nice, food is decent, gym is small, guacamole is da bomb. We won't go back mostly because it's too small and too far from anything. If you enjoy pooling it every day, then you will enjoy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nevada

Great pool, not great beach.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Rooms and pool.
Cons: Food, entertainment and beer selection.
Location: Nothing else to do nearby.
Very clean, although 2 days my room didn't get cleaned until 5 PM when were trying to get ready for dinner so that was annoying. Food was varied and was able to find something for everyone. Poor beer selection. Pool was great, would have loved poolside service for food not just drinks. The beach was not good, no shade and we all got bit up with sand fleas. We did go over the public area and rented jet skis which was reasonable. We found no areas that were good for snorkeling off the beach as had been previously mentioned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great services

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Cons: PREMIUM PKG
we had a great time. It was our 30 wedding anverserity
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wisconsin

Family vacation

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Everything was great
Cons: WiFi is lacking
Location: Zoo was fun.
Everything was Excellent, the food was great, comfortably rooms, staff was great, no complaints, would good back for vacation.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta Canada

Barcello Puerto Vallarta You Can Do Better

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Food was good and pools were very nice. Also very clean.
Cons: Staff attitude can use some improvement.
Location: Went to the zoo. Also very sad looking animals. Also took the local bus to downtown Puerto Vallarta.
My main concern was the staff who can did seem friendly. They almost looked like they did not love their jobs. Most were very unhelpful. Bar staff (Pablo and Gerraro) were very nice and helpful. My main disappointment was the front desk staff. Not friendly or helpful. Actually bordering on rude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WI

Great hotel with a friendly staff

Posted Mar 21, 2015
The staff at Barceló is welcoming and friendly to everyone. With plenty of events and activities, the stay at Barceló was exciting and fun every minute of every day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver Canada

Fun in the sun

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: We loved the size of our two bedroom suite. The view of the ocean and mountains were awesome. The food section at all the restaurants were great.
Cons: Do not allow smoking on balconies, or around the pool area. It was hard to find a spot to relax without a smoker next to you. Maybe a smoking area?
Location: The location perfect. The semi private beach was beautiful. The bus ride into old town was always interesting in a fun way. It was only 0.60 cent.
Barceló once again did a great job to make our stay pleasant. From the time we arrived until we left the staff went out of their way to make our visit fun, enjoyable and memorable. The zoo is a 15 min walk from the hotel and worth the visit. You can hire a semi private boat from the beach out side of the hotel to go snorkeling. They are a lot cheaper then the big tour companies. You can pay for how long you want to go for and pick up and drop off is right on the beach by the hotel. Worth checking into.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Very nice hotel - a solid 4+, but not quite a 5

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Excellent staff, good location
Location: We went zip-lining, scuba diving and whale watching - all were great!
We would go back to this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast food was great, and the three on-site hotels were good. We loved the location. It is right on the beach, and it's very easy to get a taxi into town.