Ratings based on 1,286 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly

Nice hotel on beach but need better food options

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: View & location
Cons: Food choices & options.
Location: Close to Zoo El Eden -zip lining, hiking, pool & restaurants. Bus will take you in town.
I enjoyed my time there. It was pleasant,nice & relaxing. The pools were great & so was the beach. There need to be more food options & evening entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Lovely resort with lovely staff.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Location: There is a small zoo across the road about 20 minute walk into the hillside.and a tequila factory with a tasting room. 'Mr Tequila'
The resort it very picturesque, and the decor is has an updated "Mexican' flavor, dark woods and frosted glass, lots of beautiful iron work chandeliers about the resort and the rooms, which are well maintained, the tiled rooms are cool in the heat. The upper floors of the hotels have amazing views of the ocean, pools,and the lush hillside . The buffet is delicious, everything appears to be hand prepared, real food, not pre made/packaged stuff. Although they did have chicken nuggets in the kids buffet. The buffet has theme nights, ie Italian, Asian etc. plus a great selection of Mexican favorites and a selection of non Mexican items as well. The desserts are all freshly made and delicious. The restaurants each had their own flair and specialties. the swim up bar in the pool is fun and the local Iguanas reside in the pool waterfalls. They will eat hibiscus flowers from your hands. The entertainment staff were fun and outgoing. The dance lessons and morning aqua fit were really fun.I won a tour with Vallarta Outdoor Adventures playing bingo by the poolside! I did not get the chance to redeem it before I left the Barcelo so I'll have to go back. Nice place for a family or wedding etc. If you are looking for nightlife in Puerto Vallarta you should probably stay somewhere else or take a taxi into the city. But the small band in the cantina at night is fun place for couples to relax and dance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Beautiful hotel-but the club music?

Posted Aug 25, 2014
This was our honeymoon and we had a very romantic trip-but had to laugh at the setup of the pool. Loud speakers at every pool with a dj playing loud club music all day long. We were there in August, the slow season, so not many people were at the pool. It just seemed funny, to try and create a club atmosphere in the middle of the day with loud house music and no people. We did fine and had a good laugh, but by day 6 were really tired of the music:-) staff was awesome, everything clean/immaculate. Food was so-so, we never went hungry though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from anaheim CA

good

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: room
Cons: food
Location: beach
The hotel is nice and the room had two tv plasmas. the wifi service is expensive and very slow . Also the buffet meal is not of good quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very pleasant experience, will be back

Posted Aug 24, 2014
We loved this hotel, can't say one bad thing about it. My three year old loved the kids club
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Murfreesboro, TN

Poor Service.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros:
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from wyoming

right on the beach, own bay area

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: location by beach
Cons: airport was so far away better and more restaurants
Location: go to the beach was about it, you had to take a taxi if you wanted to go do anything
was right next to the beach, in its own bay area, lots of sunshine but quite a distance from airport :( not that many options to eat and you have to book like 4 days in advance to eat there...frustrating that they didn't tell us that not many americans- lots of mexicans and indians... drinks were good for the all inclusive but lots of bees were around all the time hotel room was good, a bit dirty and old/used looking... didn't clean the sheets between each night (stayed for 7 nights!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, ca

Beautiful property-Great service-pricelss!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The size of the hotel, the staff, the food, the location, the scenery, the atmosphere, the premium room, the property, the room, the bed, the shower.
Cons: I don't typically order room service so I don't know how long it usually takes, but there was a few times my order took nearly an hour. No biggie!
Location: Walk the beach, go on tequila tours, get massages, watch the thunder and lightning, drink eat, release baby sea turtles, dance
Where do I start? The weather was absolutely awesome, both extremes. Hot, rainy and humid. The lightning was spectacular. The hotel was perfect for me and my wife. We didn't want to stay at a huge hotel with 1000's of rooms and a million people and we got exactly want we wanted. The service was great. As soon as we arrived the hotel staff greeted us and made us feel welcomed. Since we were Club Premium guest we bypassed the front desk and were escorted to the Club Premium room to check in. This entire experience was new to me and I was a bit taken back by the level of attention that was given to make us feel comfortable. The room was wonderful and the view was truly as advertised. The food was good and plentiful. We came to indulge our selves and that's exactly what we did. The room service took a bit long at times but that wasn't really a big deal, it gave time for another cocktail :-). We read in other reviews that the beach was small and it was, but for a guy who doesn't like sand it didn't bother me. Big is not always better and we felt as if the location was perfect for us not everyone. One evening we went to the beach and their was group of people standing at the edge of the water. We wondered what was going on so we walked over. Their were people with baby sea turtles in their hands. The turtles had just been hatched and the people were preparing to release them once in was darker and the pelicans couldn't see them. A very cool experience. We had fuuun!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Three day getaway

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Great getaway. Too far from town to easily visit. Food is mediocre at best. Very good staff and other visitors. Resort is at a river mouth, no beach swimming. Great night time music. Beautiful location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley Ca.

What a great location

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Great part of Puerto Vallarta, your in the jungle baby.
Location: Close to the zip lines, fishing, and beautiful beaches.
The resort has a beautiful bay and fishing pangas that depart from there. If you like to fish, it doesn't get ant more convenient than that