Ratings based on 1,266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Nothing to really complain about

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Everything about this place is a hit! The front desk staff could use some happy pills or be more pleasant.
Cons: It felt good to be away from the world for a week but internet access here could be improved. Having to pay for it was a drag.
Location: The sceneary of the beach is awesome. The zoo was a nice walk & interesting surprise. Having access to Vallarta Adv and the local boats was great.
The lone complaint about this place that I have is that the front desk staff were not very friendly or helpful. They seemed bothered by our questions so we sought out answers from other employees. The guys taking our luggage and getting the cabs were the MOST helpful and nicest. Without them I would have been lost. The Vallarta Adventures crew was also very nice. Between the two we were able to find out about the details and perks of the property that the front desk seemed too bothered to answer for us. The food was great and the restaurant staff in every location was awesome. The bartenders were exceptional and the overall layout, pool, pool bar, jacuzzi, other guests, and entertainment options were all beyond satisfactory!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendliest and most helpful staff! Great pools.

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: The environment all around was perfect to make you slow down and enjoy the sun. The staff's friendliness really stands out.
Cons: Humidity stuck in the room the first couple of days and the room smelled a little musty, but it wasn't bad. That's the only thing I can point out.
Location: There's a bus stop right across the street or reasonable cabs that can take you into Old Town to walk the boardwalk (El Malecon). It's worth doing.
No complaints - we were there for a wedding and the event staff was wonderful. The staff every day was extremely friendly and accommodating. The facilities are beautiful and it was a great vacation. The entire vibe was relaxing - I really felt like I was on vacation and at a world-class resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Beautiful Hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The hotel and location is very nice but could be improved with more night entertainment aside from the cantina. The service was great and the staff.
Cons: nightlife and maintenence
Location: Goto Ocean Grill for lunch one day it is the BEST!! Also go enjoy a massage that is a short walk down the beach.
We had a great time at the hotel but had some issues that we felt could have been resolved but never fixed. The first was our sliding closet door light wouldn't turn off and maintenance never came to fix it. The second was the wireless internet was horrible in our room and throughout other parts of the hotel. The third was the ability to be able to get a reservation at the available restaurant for dinner. We did enjoy massages from a location that is walking distance from the hotel for very inexpensive per hour and we enjoyed the available kayak and snorkel gear.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Beautiful hotel, very clean. Don't go to the restaurant Capri. Overall very good experience, would definitely go back!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pedroza

Horrible costumer service

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The room had no A/C! Called front desk and when maintenance come to look at the room their answer was all rooms are like this, had to call Expedia to have them move us to another room, will never stay there again!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Memorable honeymoon trip

Posted Jul 15, 2014
My wife and I just celebrated our honeymoon here. We had an amazing time. This is a very special beautiful resort. Hard to beat the location, tucked away in it's own private cove in the mountains outside of the city. The swim up bar is the best part. The only negative thing I can say is for our dinner in the very beautiful Spanish restaurant looking out the water during sunset, there was a dying pelican on the beach nearby and the staff put it in a bag and buried it right in front of us. It ruined a very romantic evening and I can only hope they handle this differently in the future when this happens again. Besides that incident, everything was great. I would recommend this place highly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Angleton, Tx

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: well everything was more in the middle of town but we didn't mind the taxi ride. It was The location was so peaceful.
words cannot describe our stay. everything was perfect. everyone was so friendly and were their to answer any questions we needed answered. I will recommend Barceló to all my friends and family.I hope to go back and for sure stay at Barceló. Thank you Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Great staff,beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
We just returned last Tuesday from Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, and found the accommodation beautiful. Big rooms, good food , amazing staff. Two things to mention, grad party's that time of year so very loud and not a huge beach but worth the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice place to stay, great service

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Always friendly service, great pool.
Cons: WIFI. The only reason I wouldn't stay here again is there is no free wifi or internet access anywhere.
Location: Tony's restaurant Eden Zoo Very easy to get anywhere with a cab!
The service was great. Rooms have updated furniture, but need a bit of TLC. The location is about 20/30 min south of the main city, so about a $20 cab ride. There is their own private beach and vary laidback. Food was good. Note to who ever is going, bring pants if you want to go to the restaurants not the buffets. There are a few fun adventures right outside of the hotel - Tony's restaurant for an authentic, delicious meal, eden, and the zoo. Great low key stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Very impressed

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The food is great, the staff is quick to respond, it's clean and they have a lot of fun activities to keep your busy!
Cons: Some free wifi hot spots would be nice.
Location: Kind of far from the city but a cheap taxi ride in to town, the beach is on site, and can take boat taxis anywhere from the beach!
My boyfriend and I had an amazing stay at Barcelo Puerta Vallarta! We stayed for 7 days for a romantic getaway and had the best time! The staff is always very friendly and helpful, the food is amazing, and the facilities are very well kept. Even when we weren't out enjoying the pool and beach our room was very comfortable! I would also highly recommend working with Adelina to schedule your shuttles, excursions and reservations. She made our lives so simple and is so friendly. I would absolutely come back here again and recommend it to all my friends, family and coworkers. Thanks Barcelo for helping our getaway to be as relaxing as possible. We also do not have children but this is a very family friendly and kid-friendly resort.