Ratings based on 325 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stu from alberta, canada

On the beach.

Posted Apr 12, 2014
We had a wonderful oceAn view room and had a great time getting to know the staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Close to the Malecon

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Above all we loved the location. We left the resort every single night for either a walk on the malecon or to hit a local club or restaurant.
Cons: Rooms need some updating and proper curtains should be installed in the bedroom. We awoke with the sun everyday. Entertainment staff needs training.
Location: The nightlife of PVR is great fun and within walking distance.
Great service and good food made up for what lacked in this hotel. We upgraded to the honeymoon suite ahead of time in order to guarantee a balcony and ocean view. What I didn't realize was how small the room would be! The balcony (with a pleasing view) was barely large enough for 2 chairs and the jacuzzi tub took almost an hour to fill to a level where you could turn on the jets! This would have been an excellent hotel to take my mother on a vacation, not my girlfriend. (we are a couple between 28-38). The nightly entertainment was an excellent way to fall asleep and the life around the pool (and activities provided) were not the way they sound on paper. The only time the hotel had any energy was the group of locals who stayed for a day or two. This often brought with it a pool full of kids. The "adult only" section was not even available and do not be fooled by the large outdoor jacuzzi... it in in the spa and only accessible by appoitment between 9 and 6 pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mo from San Francisco, CA

Puerto Vallarta's best kept little secret...

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: I loved the staff, facilities, cleanliness, pool, location...just about everything. Buenaventura's great for all traveling groups- adults and kids!
Cons: I would make meeting with the concierge optional as many people try to sell timeshares. And I could've done with less lumpy pillows.
Location: The location is perfect- you're not "stuck" at a resort. It's right in town, compared to other hotels/resorts where you have to take a bus or taxi.
Buenaventura Grand Spa and Hotel was quite a surprise! The facilities were better than the pictures we saw on the Expedia site. ALL staff members were amazing- I actually didn't understand when I saw guests NOT giving workers a tip. Yes, it's all inclusive (if that is what you choose), but all inclusive does not include tips for the workers. The pool and all eating areas were perfect, with a decent selection of grub... I'm trying to figure out my schedule for when I can return! What impressed me most was the first name basis between regulars and staff. In fact, one of the first people I met had been coming to the Buenaventura since 1988. Enough said!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mexico

Posted Apr 2, 2014
My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time here, loved the staff and customer service was on point! The room could use some remodeling but would return to stay due to the staff and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by j from sydney

great hotel in fantastic central location

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: hard to fault
we booked the honeymoon suite , which for the little extra is great value , have stayed at other all inclusive hotels before , this hotel shames all the others by far . great food variety , unwatered down drinks , excellent staff no need for taxi┬┤s , most things in walking distance or take the blue buses one block over anywhere for 50 cents
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve Benz from Wisconsin deepfreeze

Excellent hotel on beach with good location

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: The location, facility, beach and most of all; the staff
Cons: More seafood on the buffet would be nice.
Location: Great location to town / oldtown shopping and beach.
When I return to Puerta Vallarta I will stay there without a doubt. Staff can not be beat. Buffet was good, sunset restraunt was the best one could dream of. Our luggage was lost and concierge/ manager Ceasar Soto went far beyond the call of duty to help us. Funjet and AirTran dropped the ball and seemed to care less about our lost luggage. With Ceasar's help we finally got it after three days. He turned our trip around and made it a very enjoyable experience !!
3 out of 5
by ivan from vancouver wa

Very good stuff

Posted Mar 22, 2014
The hotel was not even close to what Expedia showed it to be. The rooms had a weird smell to them and they were not in the best shape but overall the hotel was okay the food was excellent and the staff were very very nice. The hotel is not in the best shape but a good location and I guess worth the money but if you add $500 more you would get a much better hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sky'the Limit from Chicago

Closecto everything

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Great, my only complaint is that the bed was to firm.
2 out of 5
by Bill from Nebraska

You get what you pay for..

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: the location
Cons: rooms need to be updated . more beach space and shade. better drinks. food quality
Location: Good Location , in town. good shopping and community actives
Ok Hotel close to town. Staff is Very nice. This is more of a Budget Hotel and the rooms are somewhat dated with a musty smell and air conditioning regulated by the hotel unless you complain of the room being to warm. Food ,some good and some not so good. Cold or not cooked completely on occasions had to be careful on selection of food. Mix Drink quality at bars poor .Main Beer served Sol. Beach goers will find limited seating and limited shade on the beach.Guests were grabbing up spots at sun rise to get seating with shade . If you could not get a shaded spot Vendors would rent you a umbrella on the beach, but you may not have a chair to sit in .And also speaking of the Vendors on the beach . You will be approached by people selling things constantly. like 6 to 7 times a hour .They are not rude but keep coming back wanting to sell you something. I will say we had a few issues with the room being to warm which was taken care after we went to the front desk twice. also if you decide on the Deluxe ocean view beware there is no balcony just a window. and the all-inclusive there is still a $4.00 charge per order to your room. and no microwaves no tub, just a shower, small fridge you get 2 pops 2 beer and 2 waters per day. coffee pot 1 pack of coffee per day. bed ok pillows seemed old and lumpy room overall clean and we did get notice of the monthly bug fumigation they preform.
1 out of 5
by Big mistake from california

Tricky advertising

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Simple not going back . Everything it's base on lies . I upgraded to get a better service but didn't really matter..I'm wondered base on what it has 5 star .