Ratings based on 401 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Great location, buffet was very good
Cons: new pillows, get rid of bean bag toss
Location: Great location close to downtown
Nice hotel especially for families. Worst pillows ever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Livingston, MT

Walking distance to downtown

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Bartenders, waiters and servers in the dining rooms all top notch.
Cons: Furniture is dated, I stayed over two weeks, not a huge variety in food.
Location: The malacon is a 10 minute walk.
The hotel could use a renovation, but for the money, it is good. The employees are very friendly and they work hard to make the experience as good as possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Walburg, SK

perfect location

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Liked the food, location, staff, price.
Cons: update rooms, fix pool heater
Puerto Vallarta is our favorite place to go on holidays. We have stayed at all kinds of hotels from the Hacienda to the Secrets. We like the Buenaventura as it is the perfect location for us. We are a couple that like to walk alot when we are down there and this hotel is only a 4 or 5 block walk to the Malecon. The hotel is not new and could maybe use a little updating in its appearence but we don't spend much time in our room so it really doesn't matter all that much to me. Don't get me wrong, I would love the room to look like the ones at the Secrets but they don't. I also don't have to pay even half as much to stay at the Buenaventura as I would at the Secrets! The food was good. Service was usually excellent. Loved the firm bed. Always someone cleaning in the pool areas. The one negative I can think of is that the heater in the adult pool was broken and the water was COLD!! We had to go to the pool with the kids. Not a super big deal except on weekends when the hotel fills up with locals and the the pool is really full. Again, not a big deal. Would I stay there again? Probably will in February. Would I recommend it to someone? Yes.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Terrible Food and Hygiene, Mold on bread!

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: The beach access is good, it's right across the hotel pool area.
Cons: Food! Pay attention to the food you serve, if it's cold, stale and especially has mold growing on it, your customers are not going to come back!
I normally don't write reviews, but couldn't ignore this one. The food served as part of the all inclusive buffet is just terrible! It was cold and tasteless every single time we had lunch or dinner over the 5 days that we stayed there. The raw materials used seemed to be of extremely poor quality, especially the chicken, beef and breads. Once we ordered a hamburger, and it came with a rather sad looking bun, obviously stale, to our horror we found mold growing on the burger. It was just horrible! We did complain to the waiter and he said he'll let his "captain" know. That's all that we heard about this incident, no apology, no follow up. The rooms were just okay, the bathroom a little outdated and dirty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nevada

Great smaller hotel close to downtown and right on

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Smaller hotel that was a nice change. More attentive to your wishes.
Cons: A few more activities to participate in would have been ideal.
Location: Very close to downtown. Lots to do all within walking distance.
Great staff working here. They will accommodate any of your needs. Was able to walk to Malecon in 5 minutes. Food overall was pretty good. You are close to many restaurants if you want to eat outside of hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

A real taste of Mexico

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: The food quality, and I believe they are working on that. This year the food was better than ever before. Breakfast is by far the best meal of the day
Location: Walking distance to the Malecon and Old Town
Been coming here for 25 yrs. The hotel is rated 3 stars it is nothing fancy, but is clean and well maintained. It is within walking distance to the malecon and has a real Mexican flavor. AIl inclusive food & Beverages are just so so. What really makes this place my favorite is the staff. They are warm, friendly and attentive to your needs. They really treat you like family. We will continue to stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kamloops, BC

Great location

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Great location, friendly staff (especially Jorge). The food was decent but the beds were terrible!! Bring your own pillow and bedding!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom b.c.

A great location

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: The location was excellamt
Cons: Food was not the greatest but the staff was excellent.
Location: The hotel is close to shopping, good restaurants, and with lots of tours to chose from.
A lovely hotel right on the beach and a short walk to the Malecon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a bad hotel, needs updating

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Close to town and shopping. Wonderful staff/bartenders.
Cons: More dining options. Longer hours for dining. Bar should be opened longer. Cleanliness of pool.
Location: Walking distance to shops, restaurants and clubs. Lots of excursions to try out.
Went to this hotel for 5 days to be with family and friends most recently. Didn't realize that the hotel is right basically in the middle of the town, surrounded by other hotels, restaurants, shops, clubs. The hotel is about 15 mins from the airport, 11$ cab ride or a 1$ bus ride. There are only 2 restaurants in the hotel... the buffet and the restaurant near the beach in which you have to make reservations for in the evening (even if there are many tables available). The buffet was not bad, pretty basic breakfast foods. In the evening they changed up the type of food they were serving (ex. mexican, mediterrean). At the restaurant where you make reservations you order off of the menu. Pretty good options as well. Fish tacos are incredible, ate those everyday. When on the beach, or even in the lounge chairs in the pool it was quite annoying to have the locals who sell their products come right up to you, passing the line that they are not supposed to cross. We saw that the hotel staff do keep the grounds beautiful, however, the pool water was quite dirty and needed a good sweeping out constantly. On the beach there are bugs .... sand mites.. got a TON of bites. You don't see them or feel them biting you, but their there. Extremely itchy. Drinks were great and the bar staff were fantastic and friendly. Rooms are quite outdated and they clean the sheets supposedly every 3 day, which did not happen in our room
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Burbank, CA

Great location but needs work

Posted Oct 14, 2014
The staff is fantastic and the saving grace for this hotel. It is in dire need of upgrades and overall care and maintenance. The business center had one computer with no working printer. The air conditioning in the room could not be adjusted and when I called maintenance they said it couldn't be adjusted. The pools are great but close at 8 which I felt was early. The food is ok but better during the weekend when the hotel has more guests in it. The hotel seems to function a little better Fri through Sun. The hotel is located right on the beach and offers great views and when slow you have ample pick of chairs right on the beach. the staff was fantastic! The bartenders were incredibly attentive.