Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Canada

Fourth visit - steady as it goes

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: The location, clean accommodation and good selection of food. I also acknowledge that some of the staff really know how to make you feel at home
Cons: Take the social events out of the lobby in the evening, allow pouring of beer in personal mugs instead of plastic glasses and provide better computer
Location: Location perfect for us as we like walking around town and even catch a bus to go further away like the Marina area. Also close to the Malecon
This was our fourth visit at this hotel. We like the location and the accommodations. It is certainly not the best but we already knew that. Over the years we have been there, there have been little improvement. I suspect some of the staff don't enjoy their jobs anymore but there are certainly a few who merit a big vote of appreciation. Dalia (cooking the breakfast), Leticia, Roberto, Joel & Carlos (servers) to name a few. There is always a good selection of food and social activities. We enjoy walking around town and on the beach on our own time and leisure. There is unfortunately and abundance of interference by vendors on a continuing basis just about everywhere. Overall we go for the sun and warmth and usually do very little other than take walks, read and relax with a drink or two, trying to forget about winter
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful resort right on the beach

Posted Feb 22, 2015
The hotel, the staff and the location were fantastic! We had no complaints and would definitely go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Dakota

great proximity to downtown

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Wonderful staff! Great location!
Yes, it may be an older resort, but it was the best!! The staff was wonderful, sweet, attentive. The room was clean and tidied every day. The pools were great. Food wonderful. The beach was fabulous. We were a 6 block walk away from the downtown boardwalk. For the location, the price was more then reasonable. Yes we did cab to the Marina after we golfed one day. But I would put this side of the strip closest to the boardwalk on the top of your list!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

After 12 or so times at this hotel disappointed

Posted Feb 19, 2015
My husband and I began coming to this hotel in 1996. Over the years we have been there approximately 12 times with various friends. It was always just an average hotel with a few amenities. The hotel was damaged in the Oct 2002 hurricane so in January 2003 when we arrived we were quite pleased with the updates/changes. January 2015 was our 3rd trip to this hotel in 5 years and no other updates to rooms and amenities have been made in the past 12 years. The front desk staff is quite unfriendly and not accommodating at all. The first room they put us in was on the alley side at the very front of the hotel, as far away from the ocean as one could be and the door to the room would not lock. The floor had some massive chips in the ceramic tiles. We asked to be moved which of course made the lobby staff very friendly (NOT) and they took 2 days to get us a new room. There are safety deposit boxes in the rooms but you have to be there 2 days before they can even get you a lock/key. Leave you pretty vulnerable for the first part of your stay. On a positive note....the wait and bar staff (the ones who make the vacation fun) are wonderful and work very hard and I'm sure under paid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tucson

Good location to walk to downtown.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Good staff in all areas friendly and competent.
Cons: Food could be improved.
Location: Great location.
Great helpful staff. Place needs updating and new furniture in lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Great staff, bartender great, food ok. Close to downtown. Rooms need a little updating. Would be nice to have more variety of food. Food was good thou. Beach clean, Beach chairs comfy. Pools nice. Kid friendly. Would suggest to a friend. Was quiet facility. Would be good for someone looking for a relaxing quiet vacation. Not much for night time entertainment.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible rooms and front desk staff

Posted Feb 7, 2015
We had a bad experience checking in, harassed by staff at the front desk after being harassed at airport, just wanted our room. Got yo room and stunk and toilet leaking all over bathroom floor, so we walked into toilet water covering floor. No apologies at all by hotel and not very willing to change our room, good food and unlimited drinks. Beach and pool staff were great and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom calgary

Great staff

Posted Feb 6, 2015
This was another great stay at a hotel I have been going to for over 20 years. I stay at riu resorts bonito resorts, am an owner at several others but love the service and location of this hotel. Fabian the front desk manager, Belen the concierge , Jorge , Gustavo , Ernesto , Eduardo and Omar are all the best. Canada could learn a few things about service. It's a small hotel great beach great location. 3 pools one has recliners. 2 pool bars. A lobby bar. Good food. Relax enjoy your self
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom northern CA

Fantastic people.

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Very nice hotel. Very service oriented staff. They really make sure you have everything you need and they bend over back words for every guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Paul, MN

Stop in for Great service and fun in the sun!!

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: The service!! This has to be one of the best spots for service that we've stayed at in the 10-12 years of traveling. The beach was good also.
Cons: The rooms are a little dated and the mattresses weren't the best.
Location: Quick walk to the Malecon, short cab ride to the Marina, laundry across the street and many shops and food spots near by.
This is a great hotel that is near a lot of good things. If you want to stay near downtown and have a good beach...this is the place. The service was outstanding....the workers bust their tails to please everyone. I especially want to give a shout out to the bartenders and the servers....Jorge, Fausto, Carlos, Gustavo, Eduardo.....thanks for your outstanding service!! Please tip your servers and bartenders....they deserve it! You also have a very short walk to the Malecon.