Ratings based on 482 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom South Lake Tahoe

Good location, all inclusive not worth it

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: The view & the staff... clean rooms
Cons: the buffet
Location: Ocean Grill past Mismolya... Pepe's Tacos (yummmmm)
Great location... the asian food (buffet) was tolerable, but I came to Mexico for mexican food... . I tried the buffet & went out for tacos at Pepe's right around the corner... The best tacos ever....The staff was great & the facilities are nice... I'm not picky, but it would have been nice to have some local food to choose from...
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle WA

Management issues

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: Location is great, a few blocks from the Malecon and the staff is so nice (very under paid and under train) trust me every employee was so nice to us.
Cons: Replace managers starting with the main manager, his poor leadership reflects on the staff that is trying to do the best with so minimum resources
Location: Walking distance to the malecon,
We had an overall bad experience in this hotel, old installations, smelly, and the management is not good. We reserved the honeymoon suite, they said is private, nice with a jacuzzy inside, etc etc, internet, etc The room was so small that we have our luggage under the sink because there was no space, no internet in the room, at night and with the door open we have some signal but very week and the internet was very spotty anyways, the room was not private at all, it was located at the exit to the pool/bar so it is activity all night because they close the pool bar at 1am. I complaint about the internet and the concierge told me "uuuuuu sr, everybody complains about the internet in those suites, the manager says that they will fix it, but he has been telling that for so long that who knows if it is really going to be fix ever" (Not a great response to a client) At check in they really recommend us the restaurant at la palapa in front of the ocean, and just to find out it is closed for maintenance, the front desk didn't even know that the restaurant was closed. when I complaint, the concierge said, (welllllllll we didn'tt know it was closed either, sometimes they close things for maintenance in this hotel and we don't know until the guest tells us" ( not a great response for a client) Now after that, the concierge try so hard to take me to the "Presentation" about they own version of time share from the hotel, all concierges are timeshare sellers not concierges.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, MB

Ok hotel with great staff but poor food

Posted May 5, 2015
Cons: FOOD Privacy The activities guy sometimes talked for hours straight and it was very loud through a speaker and impossible to get away from
There was no rope around the beach chairs so peddlers were constantly bugging you to buy things. I don't think I ever went 5 minutes without being bothered! Even when we were eating dinner, the peddlers came right up to the restaurant if you were on the side closest to the beach and bothered you. It was very annoying and hard to relax for this reason. The buffet food was very poor. Fruit was only offered at breakfast, and it was the same melons and pineapple every day. The fruit was not that great either, I could have gotten the same quality of bland tropical fruit in Canada. The Sunset restaurant was okay. Some nights very good but other nights the food was cold. Often you would order a dish and it would not include all the ingredients listed on the menu. Ex) a salad with avocado that came with no avocado or onion soup with cheese and a baguette that lacked cheese and a baguette. The resort website made it sound like there were 3 restaurants but there were only two - the buffet open for all meals and the Sunset restaurant open for lunch and dinner. The "third" restaurant was only open for a couple hours daily serving hamburgers and hot dogs. No snacks were available throughout the day. The staff at this resort were all very kind and friendly. We originally chose Puerto Vallarta because we were told it was less touristy than the Caribbean side of Mexico. I found this not to be the case; I was pestered so much as I walked along the street or boardwalk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Older facility, not bad for the price

Posted May 3, 2015
Nice resort but its dated. Activities throughout the day was the weakest point. Food was just ok. I have had better experiences with All inclusive resorts in Cancun and Punta Cana
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Nice spot

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: FOOD
Location: Very close to Malecon...lots of restaurants and shopping.
Really enjoyed the fact that you could walk to the Malecon. Very centrally located. Beach was Okay...nothing to brag about. Lot's of families and kids....too many kids. No swim pool was just for adults, just a small place for adults only with chairs in the water. The upper outside bar was closed from Mon-Wed which made it harder to get a drink. Although the waiters that came around to take orders worked very very hard and were really good and pleasant. The food at the hotel was NOT good....same thing everyday for breakfast and lunch. The burgers on the beach were very thin and dry...NOT good. We pretty much ate in town every night for dinner and we did not have a bad meal out there once. Good place. Not great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago Illinois

Best Staff Ever

Posted Apr 28, 2015
The Faculty and staff are AMAZING! They all truly made my stay very warm and welcoming with their continual friendlyness. also the beach sports coordinator, Rene, is awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom minneapolis

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Location: There is something for everyone. Great vacation even if you do nothing but sit by the ocean.
This was our second time staying here. Staff was wonderful and was very relaxing. We will be going back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Great location but beach vendors were obnoxious and even bothered us in the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great getaway, well worth your $$$

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Loved the pools, the beach the hotel bars were excellent. The bartenders and waiter were excellent, always remembers your drinks, great food too.
Cons: I wished the bars and pools were opened later, other than that it was perfect.
Location: Malecon is the boardwalk near by with so much to do, excursions, sightseeing, shows. A lot of venders, restaurants, and cute shops.
We had a great time, loved the food, the drinks, the entertainment. Staff was great and very accommodating. The views are incredible. So much to do, so little time. Hotel is not the most luxurious but doesn't need it. You are close to everything in walking distance. Everybody speaks English which is a plus. My only negative review is that they try to push a membership presentation, told them no politely and continued to our vacation. Had a wonderful time and would reconsider coming back many more times. Well worth my money and time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom calgary

Average hotel, good price on sale

Posted Apr 23, 2015
This is an average hotel but good for the price we paid on sale on expedia. The room views from the suites are great on the 3rd or 4th floors but can be noisy with hallway noise or lobby band echoing up the stair well. It seems to be popular with local for their vacations. There are tons of beach and pool lounges as well as umbrellas. There are afternoon servers for the beach but the bars are close if you want quicker service. The food was good for the price we paid but had I paid full price I would have been disappointed. The internet is free and although you will have full signal but it is very slow. The early mornings and late evenings it seems to speed up. Best part of the resort is the view. It was good for a quick 5 day trip. If you are looking for a quiet resort with lots of options for activities or food choices this may not be good for you. If you are looking for a smaller resort without a lot of walking and lots of children this may be a good choice. All on all not a bad resort.