Ratings based on 340 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Nice hotel with plenty of activity

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Good location from downtown - not too close to be noisy, but close enough to walk to. Also the food was vey tasty!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Just the right distance from city life. Plenty of tours available. Recommend the 'City Tour' and 'Rythms of the Night'!
It was a great, mid-quality place to stay. We were comfortable in our room, the food was fabulous, and there was enough to do no matter what you felt like doing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom edmonton,ab

Very nice hotel, good location, enjoyed everything

Posted Mar 13, 2015
For our first time would recommend this resort good location, great place, will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom salt lake city

No complaints

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Had a nice time there.staff very friendly and helpful good food .drinks ok and plentiful.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Interesting 3 star?

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: The Hotel Staff, pool and bars were very good.
Cons: This hotel needs to have an overhaul to bring it up to date.
Location: The hotel is a short taxi ride from down town Puerto Vallarta, where you can enjoy the sites, visit old buildings, go to different islands etc.,
The Hotel is in desperate need to an face lift. We were put into a very old room that was horrific for the first night, however, the staff were kind enough to move us the next day to a much better room. The staff are friendly and helpful, the facilities are good and do all they can to make sure that your stay is a good one. The food is mediocre but there is plenty and pool is very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fremont

Nice accommodating hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Had a very nice warm pool with swim up bar. Food was really great, food available during afternoon and special occasions.Hotel staff was very accommod
Cons: The patio by the ocean in the evening always had smokers by it and no room to sit and watch the ocean at night
Location: Was close to the downtown. Could get there easily shopping and night out on the town where is easy to get to. Nice location beach was a little rocky.
We had our family vacation there 10 days of beautiful weather great accommodations good food. Everything was great tell staff took care of any questions or problems that we had,and answers to any questions that we had. Would go back again very friendly and busy hotel a lot of people to get acquainted with and talk to
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom buffalo, ny

Good Location, Excellent Staff and very clean

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: It was very clean and welcoming
Cons: The entertainment staff and how about a place to dance and listen to music.
Location: There is a karaoke bar on the main street, good location!
It was a nice place, the beach was extremly small. Food was only ok, the best food was at the snack place near the pool. Mostly older people and families not a good place if your looking for a party place, hardly and music or fun activities on resort. The staff did not update the activities board accurately, we went to see the show that said started at 9, but is was over when we went there because it actually started at 8.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Nice Hotel, Nice Swimming Pool and Beach Area.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Pool, Staff, Right on the Beach
Cons: Rooms
Location: The boardwalk and marina are very close. Nice location.
Everything about the resort was very nice except the rooms. We checked in with 3 other couples. Within 24 hours, 2 couples had to change rooms. We paid extra for king bed and ocean view. First night we did not get either of those, they said they were over booked. So on day 2 we had to meet with staff 2 different times to get our room changed to an ocean view, still no king bed. Which we paid extra for. No refund of any kind. The beds are tiny, 2 people can not sleep comfortably on them and our AC did not work. Not wanting to waste more time switching rooms again, we just stayed there. The resort is nice, friendly staff, but there were a lot of complaints about the rooms not being what people expected/paid for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL.

Great staff and good value.

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: I loved the pool area and the buffet restaurant staff and food. There was a very decent variety of food choices.
Cons: Older rooms need to be upgraded. Also; WiFi was mostly available only in the lobby and pool area.
Location: You can walk down the main street towards the Malecon and there are shops along the way. Short cab or bus ride to the city.
Overall experience was good. Biggest problem was check-in. I had asked for a quiet room and upon entering room there was a loud banging noise. Was told it had something to do a/c motor. When asked if there were other room choices I was shown horrible old dark rooms. I stayed in original room which faced the tennis courts and the mountains. Fortunately I never heard the banging noise again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall nice hotel, but needs updates

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Pool, Pool Area, View from our room, View of ocean from Patio area (near snack bar), Staff
Cons: Rooms should be updated, drinking water more accessible, Improve WiFi conectablitilty, Food quality at Buffett and snack bar
Overall we had a good experience at Canto Del Sol. The staff is very friendly and do their best to make you feel welcome. The pool, pool area and view of the ocean are great! Waiters and service staff are great! The "Italian" and "Mexican" Restaurants are fantastic, but the food at the buffet and snack bar are mediocre at best. The WiFi hardly ever worked, The rooms do not feel like you are in a "luxurious" setting. Our room definitely needed to be updated and felt cheap. You get 1 bottle of water every three days. As a guest, you are responsible to not lose it, and refill it at water stations through out the hotel (which are usually empty).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DFW TX

The Staff are the All Stars here

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: The staff
Cons: The food
Location: Melancon boardwalk is a 20 minute walk away, beach access
A little dated, but you can see the improvements they are making. Bed was comfy, room was spacious. The food is average, especially at the buffet, but you can find better at their made to order grills. Nice pool, good crowd but the best part is the staff, always smilling, always looking to please and making sure you have a great time. Very hassle free resort with all the fixings, I would go back.