Ratings based on 269 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to the beach. Great pool

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Great Hotel with a nice pool on the roof. The only draw back was he small bathroom and that the room smelled of furniture polish or wax. Look forward to staying there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Decent hotel for the price

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Decent hotel for the price, but not a relaxing place. Very busy hotel, mostly caters to Mexican demographic. Mostly kids though Casa Dona boasts it is kid free, you will have to go to Playa Los Arcos to get any food or drink or beach access. Playa Los Arcos is swimming with children. Do not go with the all inclusive route, the food was terrible, and the drinks were second rate. Staff was nice enough and the rooms were decent but over all I would not return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Vancouver, BC

Small hotel near beach in Old Town

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Location and price. Fabulous rooftop pool.
Cons: More windows that open. Some better oversight of noise from hotel guests at night.
Location: Near beach in Old Town. Some nice venues for live music at restaurants nearby. Good coffee place right next door.
A small budget hotel with access to two larger hotels on beach. The room was very small but acceptable. Nice location to the malecon and beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted May 20, 2014
This place is my new secret hideaway, so stay away. Please stay away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ROBERTO from melrose park,il

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: location,and quiet
Cons: paint the inside, and provide better food in the buffet restaurant.
Location: everything is close by, the beach the malecon
The hotel is in the heart of romantic zone everything is handy, some of the best restaurants in town are within 2 or 3 blocks and is very quiet by not being right in the beach but you have access to the beach thru the hotel playa los arcos the same chain as a matter of fact if you have an all inclusive plan all of the meals are at Playa los Arcos the meals are all buffet style and the food is so so but is the right place for the price that you are paying and very very safe plus it has a pool in the roof
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great stay with some reservations

Posted Apr 18, 2014
This hotel is pretty great. Close to everything and with lots of personality. The pool upstairs has great views and is less busy than hotels around. My main gripe about the place is the draconian policy about guests. You get a bracelet the first day you get in and you can't get it out till checkout. They want to control who gets in and out of the hotel. It also means you can't bring people who are not registered in the hotel to the room even for one second. This is strictly enforced. I'm assuming the reason is so people outside of the hotel don't use the pools but has some unpleasant consequences, like having to wear a bracelet all the time or not bringing guests briefly to your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old World Mexico in the heart of it all.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The location is perfect. The courtyard. The rooftop pool is the perfect place to watch the sunset.
Cons: The windows to the outside don't open. It would be nice if they opened so you could get a cross breeze.
Location: Salud is a healthy cafe right up the street. Wonderful!
We loved the hotel and the pool on the roof! It is part of the Los Arcos hotels. The restaurant in the main hotel was awful. Worst place we ate all week.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cheli from Culver City, CA

Perfect Location

Posted Apr 16, 2014
My husband and I recently stayed here for a couple of nights while traveling in Guadalajara . I picked this hotel based on the location and reviews. They were right everything is super close by I've never stayed at a hotel that had such convenient location. The staff was Amazing the best staff by far in a long time! The bathrooms can use major updates and they need a flat screen tv in the room, other then that this place is excellent, I will definitely stay nowhere else in Vallarta again. And don't forget to try Pako's Takos around the corner delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zan from Winnipeg

Location Can't Be Beat

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Charming hotel, helpful staff. We had a problem with noisy neighbors (2 a.m.) and the front desk persuaded them to be respectful. I appreciate that!
Cons: WiFi was nonexistent when we were there but we could access it from the café on the corner.
Location: There's the beach, restaurants, bars, the Malecon, shopping, art galleries, etc. all within walking distance...just watch your step!
Perfect for our mother/daughter trip. Rm.311 was compact with no view (textured window glass) but the beds were comfy, AC was cold, showers were hot and the safe worked. Not gorgeous but serviceable. The courtyard was so awesome with dark carved wood and vines and a tree growing right up to the rooftop pool area- our favourite place to bring a bubba and a book! We went AI and were very happy we did. I get up early so it was great to have a place to coffee up and then later meet for breakfast. The service and food at Mi Pueblito was great and the location beautiful and beachfront. We originally planned to eat out more but the food and white wine were so good we made it our regular hangout! Why not?You can watch the world go by...entertainment comes right to you. In the morning it's the dog walkers, joggers and the dolphins in the bay and later it's sun worshippers, bands, dancers, singers, peddlers and the most amazing harpist. In the evening the restaurant may have folkloric or Mexican dancing and usually some singers with keyboard and then customers dance, too. And the waiters were so friendly, esp. Sergio who showed us magic tricks every day. We loved Casa Dona Susana and will be back, AI again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to the beach

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Perfect place and people. I loved the hotel and atmosphere.