Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the jungle

Posted Apr 3, 2014
we are very happy with the hotel the only thing we complain about was that the jacuzzi was in operating otherwise the stay was very comfortable the restaurant food was delicious and the Hispanic waiter was amazing he gave us all of our options he described everything that we had a question about on the menu we will be back there to stay again on our next vacation thank you so much
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by pam

Great, but off the beaten path

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Real Mexican flavor
Cons: It is great for the experience of real Mexico
Location: Near zoo, zip line, bus to Vallarta
Very authentic Mexican, so if you want all amenities in a resort this is not it. Staff very friendly, helped arrange tours. Room simple but clean, food in restaurant fair. Pool and grounds very pretty. Had an overall great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fred from Roy, WA.

nice and small

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: What we like is, the location is in a village about 15 minutes south of Puerta Vallarta with big rooms including a kitchen.
Cons: We have no major complaints but this is an older hotel so you will get the rustic scene here.
Location: within minutes from the hotel there are many great restaurants, the village, zoo, horseback riding, hiking, Tequilla tasting, and Mismaloya beach.
this has been our sixth stay here and have enjoyed every visit. My wife and I like to get out and do more than the all inclusive scene and if you don't need to be within walking distance of the night life this is the hotel for you. Also you enjoy views of the jungle and the wild parrots usually appear in the morning hours. the local bus runs every 10 minutes and can take you farther down the coast or into Puerta Vallarta for about 7 pesos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michelle from British Columbia

Quiet, no bother, peace and rest.

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Jungle at your window, beach over one street, great bus service to Puerto Vallarta.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brian and Susan from Denver

Casa Iguana-intimate, quiet, relaxing

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved our stay. The staff was so helpful - the owners left chocolate in our room for Xmas. The restaurant is amazing - huge thatched hut next to a tiny town with cobblestone streets. I loved the veggie omlette. For dinner, venture up the road to Juan's tacos - it looks like a bistro and the food is incredible and reasonable. Ask about the specials. The beach is across the street - a 5 minute walk. As the beach is an inlet, you can snorkel right from the beach and not take a snorkel boat. We went to Puerto Vallarta one day - bus runs very frequently and is a 2 minute walk to the hotel, but we prefered the quiet of the town. Overall, definately recommend!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mom of 3 from seattle,wa

A boutique hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2013
This a boutique older hotel. The staff was great and very helpfull! The rooms have a look that is pretty oldfashioned but are very clean. If you re looking for a more a mexican experience this is a great hotel. We walked to the zoo through the little village (10 minutes walk) and took the bus into Puerto Vallarta (20 minute drive)!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ken from New Mexico, USA

Great out family vacation

Posted Dec 27, 2012
Pros: Staff and landscaping!!
Cons: Rooms are comfortable but need updating.
Location: Beautiful location away from the big city but still close enough to visit PV. There is plenty to do around the hotel from all family members.
Our family of four stayed at the hotel for 9 days from 12/17-12/25 and we all had a great time. The hotel is quiet and landscaped beautifully. We ate at the hotel restuarant a few times and all meals were excellent. There is a small store at the hotel for bottled water, soft drinks, beer and other items to cook. The prices in the store are very reasonable and we did buy milk, eggs and other food items to prepare in our room. It is a 20-30 minute bus ride into PV for 7 pesos per person. We traveled all over PV by bus and found it very easy. The Zoo is amazing for being so small. You can feed most of the animals. We went horse back riding with the family place right across the steet from the hotel, I believe is was called Manola. The horses were amazing and very gentle. The beach is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. If you are looking for a quiet, nice place for a vaction............... this is it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Casa Iguana- Mismaloya

Posted Apr 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is mine and my son's third trip to Mexico and certainly the most memorable. Mismaloya is an amazing, rural little town nestled in a broad and beautiful expanse of mountains. It was a wonderful experience in experiencing the charm and beauty of Mexico and the kind, friendly people. While there, we ate locally at the small hut/kitchen which is across the street from the hotel on the way to the beach. We had filling, delicious meals for about 70 pesos. I took a ride into the mountains with a lead from the ranch ( also across the street) and we swam in a clean, jade-colored river and lay in the sun. All in all wonderful, however, if you are the impeccable, resorty-type of traveler it is unlikely that you will like the accomodations because they are very homey (and what we personally found so charming!) Also, if you want to travel into Vallarta inexpensively, just take the bus in... I think it is about 70 cents and you will enjoy the feel of the dusty, bumpy road! So much to say... it was an all-around wonderful trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Casa Iguana

Posted Jan 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
The distance is to far from Puerto Vallarta main town which makes tourists anxious about transportation costs and there is not a very good access to the beach from the Hotel and not enough space on the beach since the hotel Barcelo has taken over most of the beach. It is not a very good setting for a tourists to try to find a spot to enjoy the beach and being able to feel comfortable. I do not recommentd this Hotel to anyone in the US or Canada.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Roy, WA.

quiet and away from main city

Posted Apr 1, 2011
A nice small hotel off the beaten track in the village of mismaloya. Rooms are nice with two bedrooms and a kitchen with cooking utensils. Short walk to the beach or take bus to boca and or pt vallarta. The village has a small but wonderfull zoo where you can feed most of the animals. Any restaurant that you eat at in the mismaloya area , will have good food.