Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David Carr from Ireland

A brilliant place to stay

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I traveled to Puerto Vallarta Nuevo for a wedding where all the other guests were staying at an all-inclusive hotel close by. We chose Casa Virgilios because of the great reviews that we had read before booking. Imagine our surprise upon our arrival to find out that Virgilio had no notice of our booking and was not expecting us! Virgilio rose to the occasion and provided a beautiful room for us which became our home from home for the next week. Some of our friends from the all-inclusive hotel visited us at Casa Virgilios and were pleasantly surprised at the spacious surroundings, pool and garden where we spent a very enjoyable evening. I would highly recommend Virgilios.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gary from SLC< Ut.

Will come again

Posted Mar 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly host, excelant breakfasts, beautiful property,quiet,nice atmosphere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Casa Virgilios - recommend

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Enjoyed our stay at Casa Virgilios. The place was kept very nicely and the staff/owner were really welcoming and helpful during our stay there. Will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tess from Cranbrook

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The place to go to get spoiled. Everything is just about perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lorna and Gerry from Nuevo Vallarta

Small Mexican feel hotel that met all our needs !

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was beautifully decorated in Mexican style, located in a lovely residential area only a short walk to the ocean and convenient to buses or cabs to Porto Vallarta and small neighbouring towns.Breakfasts were fabulous, the staff were friendly and helpful and we spent quite a lot of time with many interesting people around the pool in the beautifully landscaped surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by beernesday from Vancouver, BC

Rest and relaxation

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Beautiful pool in a lush well-cared for garden; fabulous buffet breakfast every morning; beach towels; daily maid service; clean and spacious rooms...
Cons: At Casa Virgilio? Nothing. This place is perfect just the way it is!
Location: Vallarta Adventures is nearby, as are Puerto Vallarta and Bucerias. Sayulita is not far away either. For all of those you need to bus or cab though.
Nuevo Vallarta isn't for everyone, and it is not a place I would usually stay. But for a couple of very relaxing days at the end of a hectic two week Mexican adventure, it was the perfect place to go. If you are the gated community type of traveller, then this is the perfect place for you. If you are an adventurer and lover of authentic experiences of the places you visit, this is probably not the place for you. I spent two of my three days at Casa Virgilio pool-side soaking up rays. It was peaceful and relaxing and just what I needed for my last two days of holiday. And the breakfast buffet is delicious! There is not much to do in Nuevo Vallarta itself, but it is close to Puerto Vallarta and Bucerias. This is a gated community so there are not very many restaurants around. I went outside the gates for a few more authentic meals, but the two dinners I had in Nuevo were fabulous and not too pricey. Ginger Garden Lounge was so tasty I went back for a second meal there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ivan from Anchorage, AK

Just wonderful...

Posted Jan 19, 2014
There is nothing to say except that this place is perfect, just truly wonderful. A little oasis in the midst of the hideousness that is Nuevo Vallarta. Virgil is a gracious host, the staff work hard to keep the place just perfect, sumptuous breakfast every morning... just loved my stay here. It seems petty but I am going to point out a couple of mildly negative things, mainly so people know what to expect. The temperature of the pool will take your breath away (stayed in January) but then, we were spoiled, there was always the hot tub. The beds, while big, are very firm and if that's not what you like, then you will sleep fitfully. And the main negative thing, it is situated smack dab in the middle of the wasteland that is Nuevo. If you have a rental car, much of this problem is alleviated, but if you don't, you're kinda stuck. I admit, I'm an Old Town guy, but really, there's nothing going on here. There's a row of shops and restaurants a few hundred yards away, but it's a good 3/4 mile to the beach and the ghastly all inclusive hotels. They built Nuevo kinda thinking that the hotels would make the surrounding area thrive, but the fat tourists don't ever come out of their hotels so it hasn't really worked. After that little rant, though, I will say, absolutely without reservation, that if I had to be a prisoner in Virgil's compound for a period of time and not let out beyond the walls, I would surrender myself to that duty in an instant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Matt from Santa Rosa, CA

Complete Relaxation w/ the BEST breakfast in town!

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING!
Location: Easy 10 minute walk to the public beach, 2 minute walk to a few good restaurants, easy for taxi drivers to find.
My wife and I stayed 7 nights at Casa Virgilios for our honeymoon, and leaving was one of the hardest things either of us has ever done. We loved the atmosphere of eating breakfast with the other guests every morning, we loved how comfortable and welcoming Virgilio and his staff were, and we cannot wait to return. The house itself is absolutely beautiful, with so much custom tile work I was seeing new designs even after I had stayed there for an entire week. The breakfast every morning changes from day to day, and was simply delicious, wholesome, and just plain amazing. Casa Virgilios was about a 10 minute walk to the public beach, and is a cheap taxi ride to the Marina or neighboring areas. I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to everyone. We simply do not have one bad word to say about it. If you want a mellow, easy-going atmosphere, and like a little adventure is your vacations, Casa Virgilios is for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Kerry from Kansas

Quaint Bed and Breakfast with local charm

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pretty house with beautiful gardens around a pool. Good Mexican style breakfast. Our room was clean and comfortable but not sound-proofed.