Ratings based on 1,134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rich & Toni from New Jersey

Posted May 6, 2014
We have been coming twice a year for 10 years (Jan & May). We love this resort. The grounds are beautiful and staff are pleasant and go over the top to make the stay pleasant. Housekeeping is excellent and maintenance when necessary are responsive 100% to your needs. They do NFL when the games are in play, room set aside to view, they have the latest movies to view on a big TV on the beach, shows from town, i.e. Fire Dance and alot more... everything during the day from fresh catch from the ocean to butcher to grill to eat with drinks of cocunut & pineapple....lots more.. This resort had so much to give. Breakfast.. lunch and dinner... great Captains (Fernando-the best!) ,all you can eat... all good food, plus 24 hour room service. The bar stations... all wonderful staff (Salvatore, Victor, Jose, Xalisar, and more) that walked up and down to bring you what you wanted (gladly - no problem). The staff, from the moment you exited the taxi from the airport ....welcomed you on the stairs with a glass of champagne and a cool cloth. We will never forget that feeling of welcome. It is with tears in my ears that I say that I want this place back the way it was. The Hyatt chain can not match what the Dreams had on a day to day basis. This is a paradise lost! 10 Yrs & over 14 stays at Dreams will not be easy to forget!
2 out of 5
by B from California

shutting down

Posted May 2, 2014
The hotel was shutting down the weekend after our stay, which might explain the poor quality of service. Disappointing front desk service; constantly stalked by vacation/timeshare sales people; restaurants were understaffed, so long wait to get seated at peak hours, and even longer wait to get food....and for an all-inclusive hotel, you have to pay for wi-fi!
3 out of 5
by Troy F from San Jose, Ca

The hotel closed one day after we left

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: beach, food
Location: Went on two great outings with Vallarta Adventures. Snorkel trip and Outdoor adventure (zip lines) both were outstanding trips. Highly recommend
Dreams was purchased by Hyatt. It would have been nice if Expedia would have informed us of this, we would have moved to another hotel. Some of the staff were being professional to the end others were totally short timers and were acting like it. Lots of things were not working at the hotel. When you would ask for something it took forever. Beach was great, food was good, but facilities were not up to date.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was good the beach area awesome.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The location was great, out of the downtown core but close enough that a quick cab ride could take you there
Although just a quick visit we found the hotel staff very accommodating and they went all out decorating our room for my husbands birthday. The romantic birthday on the beach was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leisha from Texas

Beautiful hotel property with gorgeous views

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Great location with gorgeous views, and a nice staff.
Cons: Some of the food was sub-par. The sodium levels needed to be taken down a notch and less over cooked.
Location: The town and boardwalk are a short cab ride from the hotel, where are lots of shops/bars/and restaurants. We took a fishing trip one of the days.
My boyfriend and I stayed here for a friend's wedding. We had an ocean-view balcony room, and it was amazing. It has it's own stretch of gorgeous beach, with amazing views. Two of the mornings, we even saw dolphins. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. It is in a great location, a short cab ride from town. There are multiple restaurants/bars on property with a good food variety. Our only complaint was that at the Oceana restaurant, they over-salted everything and over-cooked most everything as well. The other restaurants yielded better results. The breakfast buffet was probably our favorite, as it had an omelet station and wide variety of food. The drinks were yummy as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Beach Vacation

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Great location, Good food, Excellent Service. Perfect Vacation for us on our anniversary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by K.Slatts from NYC

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Top location. Great staff. Good food. Fantastic view. Beautiful beach. Take a taxi from airport, set price no haggling, booth just past the timeshare hawkers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Grama from Illinois

Special Vacation

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: The beautiful beach and rooms facing the ocean were incredible. All of the services and attention of the staff at this hotel were wonderful.
Cons: Snacks in addition to drinks in mini refrigerator would be nice. Also shampoo and conditioner instead of just shower gel and lotion.
Location: The location is about 30 minutes from downtown and is gated for security. The beach is private. More than one agency was available to arrange tours.
This vacation was to be special with our grandchildren and it truly was pampering, beautiful and special. While my husband and I relaxed on the beach or by the pool, our grandchildren enjoyed a canopy zipline off premises, a jungle hike, boogie boarding, kayaking and swimming in the pool. We especially enjoyed the all-inclusive with specialty drinks at the swim up bar even without alcohol for the kids (10 & 12). The food served in the restaurants was quite good and you did not need a reservation to eat at the sit down restaurants. Everyone at the hotel were very accommodating and went out of their way to provide service with few exceptions. Our only complaint was that after arriving home, most of us had sand flea bites from the beach which did not start itching until we got home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by camran from santa monica ca

best customer service

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: service
Cons: restaurant food
me and my wife stayed at this hotel for days ,and from our arrival to our departure we were pampered .staff are great and they do the best possible to satisfy the guests .buffet breakfast at this hotel is the best specially with a great hostess named Norma which is very pleasant at all times ,restaurants foods we did not like and we went for dinner to outside restaurant ,beach is private and beautiful I highly recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cal from woodstock, Illinois

best beach in puerto vallarta

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: Located close enough to town for shopping and sight-seeing, but far enough away for a feeling of privacy and jungle flora and fauna. Taxi service.
Cons: more direct flights from chicago
Location: perfect location on best beach in Puerta Vallarta. Go to see Ritmos de la Noche....do not miss it!
Swimming was enjoyable in the ocean or in the pool. Beach is wonderful with plenty to do in addition to swimming. All inclusive makes everything stress free and enjoyable.