Ratings based on 304 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Alberta

Great hotel, great service

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Proximity to beach, food quality and service.
Cons: Snack bar location and lack of sit-down food availability from 5:00 pm to 6:30 pm. There should be more warnings about the rip tide.
Location: Long way from downtown Puerto Vallarta and any shopping. The Nuevo Vallarta marina is about 5-10 minutes away by taxi.
This hotel has great service and the rooms are large and comfortable. The staff were very attentive to our needs. Since we had a family group of 14, the hotel located us on one floor adjacent to each other, which was what we asked for. The food is well prepared and all restaurants allow children except the Italian one. We would have liked easier access to the snack bar, which is located closer to the beach than the main tower. I think they used to have the snack bar closer to the lobby, but it was moved due to preparations for the Christmas Eve supper. Also between 5:00 pm, when the snack bar closes, and 6:30 pm, when the restaurants open, the only food available is through room service. The Christmas Eve supper was really excellent, with Mexican folklore entertainment by the pool side. The rooms have a strange set up with the bath-tub standing out in the room between the shower/toilet area and the sleeping area, which makes it too open for comfort. There were also some plumbing issues is one of our many rooms and no stoppers in the sinks. However, the rooms are very spacious and each has a couch seating area. The mini bar had beer and soft drinks and was restocked each day. There is a jacuzzi on the deck, which is nice to relax in the open. The beach is clean and lots of fun for boogy boarding. One of our party got hurt is a large wave and the Amerimed doctor was there quickly. I can't say enough for how attentive the doctor (Brenda) was. All turned out well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver

Great service and amenitties

Posted Dec 31, 2014
They have free wifi in your room with no restrictions, free unlimited calling to local nacional phones, USA and Canada. Service is great and fast, they help you with what ever you need with no extra charge. Food is excelent in all of the restaurants. They just need more shade spots on the beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver, bc

Nice hotel with great food and a huge pool

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Staff were very accommodating. The food was far better than other resorts that we have stayed at in the area over the last few years. Same goes for the alcohol selection. Not great for catching the game as it lacks a proper sports bar or even high def on the tv's it does have.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good, but disappointing

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: See above.
It was hard to get a cup of coffee in the main buffet room at breakfast. (The cafe on the other hand, made excellent coffee/expressos, etc. and with a very short wait.) Most restaurants not in view of water/beach; same for the pools. There were too many children at the hotel. The hotel needed an adult only pool. (The hot tub was classified adult only but children were in it.) Three times our room key did not work. Maid service was late the first 4 days of our 7 day stay. Service around the pool was excellent. Service and food in the fancy Portifino restaurant was excellent, but spotty in the other restaurants, and generally not good for breakfast in the main buffet dinning room. The entertainment was for children; generally silly with colorful costumes. The sport staff were friendly and energetic; very good group of guys. By the 5th day we were ready for our condo rental in town.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta

Beware of Timeshare

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly, clean and comfortable. Food was good, lots of variety at the buffet, seafood was good. Mexican food was great and loved the mexican night.
Cons: Stop the sales promo stuff...overdone and a big turn-off. Ask once at check-in and after that leave people alone...they're on vacation.
Location: e've been to Puerto Vallarta 3 times now. We rented a jeep this time and went to Punta de Mita, Sayulita, Mismayloa - loved it. Los Caletes.
The resort itself is very pleasing and let me say that the rooms are very comfortable and exceptionally clean. Service was very good at the restaruants, bar service. Everyone is very friendly and always smiling. The check in and check out was very easy. The biggest disappointment for us was the fact that we were approached 6 times about going to see some sort of presentation which we assume was timeshare related or similoar to a time share even though we were told otherwise. If both have to attend then there's some catch, but the real deal breaker for us was when we were in the spa and approached there. This is my private, quality time to relax and to be approached in the spa was enough for me to say I will never visit this resort again. Thisa is really the main reason we would not return or recommend to someone. If you don't mind this hassle you will probably enjoy the resort. Balconies are spacious and great to watch the sunset. Most rooms will have some view of the ocean. The bar lobby I would say is for smokers which is unfortunate because it's a beautiful comfy area but it makes it really difficult when you 're a non-smoker. There are no designated smoking areas , except you can expect clean air in your room and the restaurant areas. Pool side expect smoking as well..you can always move or just deal with it. Food was good. You can always find something.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok resort

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Staff was amazing. Wine was really good. Usually at an all inclusive not very good but there's was excellent.
Cons: Building is very old. Our shower had a leak and paint was peeling off the wall.
Location: Location is good.
Rather wear a bracelet then being asked ten times a day everywhere what your room number is. It looks big but 80% of the rooms are condos. Restaurants were very good but buffet very small
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis, MO

Great Resort...Family / Couple oriented.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Entertainment & bartenders more personable/friendly. More pool loungers. Music by pool.
I have stayed at 13 all-inclusives in MX & Punta Cana. This resort was one of if not the BEST. It was myself, husband & 3 YO daughter for 6 nights. 2 bldgs are private owned condos (mostly empty) & rest is the resort. Check-in was ~5 min. Concierge always friendly and helpful (Alexandria). Rooms were clean & spacious. Balcony was huge. We got a rollaway for our daughter w/ no issues. Food quality was Amazing. No reservations required. We went b/t 6:45 & 8 each night and no wait. Drinks were tasty (ask for top shelf liquor) and good variety. Entertainment & bartenders could have been more personable/friendly. We tipped, very few did. Pools were nice and cool but need to play MUSIC. We brought our ipod. There were barely enough chairs. Like others said, they are stringent about drinks around the pool. Ocean and sand are rough. We played blackjack, beach volleyball and boogie boards and did hair braiding on the beach. Kids club was Awesome & 1 reason we picked this resort. There were hourly activities/events & they give a cell phone for peace of mind. Worked out great. Loved Francia. As it was late, we only watched 1 show (Circus), it was pretty good. I have seen at other resorts that having the show away from the main lobby area tends to reduce attendance. People get settled after dinner & don’t want to move. Riu resorts have this figured out & get good participation. GREAT RESORT. Family/couple oriented / Quiet. Don’t look to party-harty here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Was nice hotel. Friendly staff nice rooms, and good food. Needs to relax rules around pool, have food closer to beach. Was good hotel and would go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area, CA

Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly, and the hotel was clean. It has great views of the beach, as well as the jungles of Puerto Vallarta. The pools are great!!
Cons: I think that the food at the World Cafe could be better.
Location: Bucerias and Malecon. VALLARTA ADVENTURES for outings!!
My boyfriend and I stayed at Dreams from 10/11-10/19. Right away we were welcomed by Marlon (who does the Preferred Club check-ins). Our room was great. It was cleaned, and stocked with shampoo, conditioner, towels, and a full mini-bar!! If you are debating on getting the regular package or the preferred, I definately say it is worth paying the additional bucks to go with the preferred! The hotel was great, aside that during our stay, only one elevator was working. It was an inconvience for everyone! (Why it wasn't fixed, I have no idea.). I loved that they had their days planned out with activites and had a show everynight. A paper is delivered to your room the day before, with the next days activities.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, Co

Nice hotel,but not a 4 stars

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Rooms with jacuzzi in the balcony
Cons: Mini bar with bottles of different spirits, don't denied service in restaurants to the kids, if they are not welcome either will I
Location: The best part is the Vallarta adventures, please do the playa caletas and the ritmos de la noche it is spectacular, be carful of the mosquitos bites.
When we arrive about 4:00pm we got the check in and after the offers for " time shears" or wherever they call it. We went to our room at 5pm the restaurants was closed so we try to order some room service, but they never answer. We chose this hotel because the rooms with jacuzzi in the balcony, so the jacuzzi was dirty with hair from the last guests. Other problem is the minibar they have it's only a couple mini beers cokes and water, they don't have snacks no bottle of wines like in others hotels. If you have kids there is one restaurant the portofino that is adult only so I couldn't go, that's ok for an adult only hotel . This hotel is not an adult only and either kids welcome hotel. Try to choose others options because Puerto Vallarta is beautiful, it was my first time in Vallarta and I defiantly will come back, but in a different hotel