Ratings based on 1,026 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2014
awesome staff! everybody is very accommodating and always greet you with smile,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom L.A. CA

Nice hotel. Friendly service. Close to the beach..

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Like everything, the atmosphere, friendly service. Very pleasant.
Cons: Have no complaints
Location: Everything was closer. Had a pleasant vacation.
My friend and I had a great time..Hope to come back soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Granada Hills, CA

Nice and clean hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The majority of the employees and polite and the cleanliness was immaculate!
Cons: Make sure the employees are not pushy on their guest about time share and if they decline continue to be helpful!
Location: You're pretty much in the epic center of Pueto Vallarta, everything around within walking distance of taxi. Great location..
Our overall stay at this hotel was pleasant. Except for the pushy timeshare representative that offer to give us all the information we needed to explore Puerto Vallarta, for the first two days we would get integrated about where we were doing and with who. He pretend to be concern- in reality he just wanted us to go to a presentation for a time share. ( I wish I would have remembered his name-but, I just didn't want to get near him for being so pushy) Although, we told him clearly that we wouldn't be interested he still stalked us. But, other than that the hotel and the rest of the employees were very professional and polite.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Bed hard Pool great Food ok Service so so language barrier at restaurant
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Needs help

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The pool was nice.
Cons: Staff need to be on the same page.
We've stayed here before but will not stay again. The staff generally were clueless when asked a question. You'd get two different answers every time. Our group generally had to request something two to three times before getting it right. The beds were hard as a rock...never had that much pain starting from the first night. They are switching to an all inclusive resort which had the staff confused.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Albuquerque

Be Prepared for "ALL INCLUSIVE"

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: This is a nice hotel. The pool and beach are quite nice too. Just be aware of what you are getting into with "All Inclusive". We weren't.
Cons: Improvements would start with not requiring the silly wristband showing your status or lack thereof. Lighten up on the "hard sell" at check-in.
Location: Location is good. Easy, cheap bus ride to old town 5 min. to excursion terminal, ten min. to airport and supermarket and other services across street
I will rate Fiesta American only two stars due to not being notified of their apparently new "All Inclusive" status. My wife and stayed in this hotel one year ago for three nights. We liked it very much and decided to return again and stay from 11/7 to 11/12. Upon arrival we were told at the desk that to utilize the many services the hotel provides we would need to pay extra for them up front and would not be able to pay as we go or charge to o. This was news to us and I'm displeased that the hotel and Expedia did not inform us of this policy. Furthermore, we were immediately wrist banded with one of those plastic wrist bands (like the ones they use for carnival rides etc..) that showed that we were "no service or amenities" status. Well those stayed on our wrists for maybe a couple of hours before cutting off. Also, all of our meals, excursions etc. etc. were purchased outside the hotel. I can't imagine going to Puerto Vallarta and not experiencing all the wonderful restaurants, clubs and beaches this wonderful place has to offer just because you have already purchased services from the hotel. The hotel and staff were fine but I will not stay again at the Fiesta American. It's just not our cup of tea. Oh, by the way, we were not informed that if you cut off your plastic wristband you have to pay extra at checkout. I'm happy to report they waived that fee or this review would be a whole lot more negative than it is. Now I know why the online rate was so cheap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

PV - Nov 2014

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Cons: Better music at the pool
The hotel was nice, and in a good location. The Asian restaurant had service issues, but the food was excellent. All the other restaurants were great service. The food (other than Asian restaurant) was good. We didn't get ill so that's better than last time in Cancun (I didn't take any steps to make sure I didn't either). However there was nothing amazing about the cuisine either. The main thing would be what you have for expectations around the pool/beach area. It's nice, and quite. So if you are a couple single guys (or girls) looking to hit either and party and meet girls, then it's not the place to be. It was quite, there was no music that was really audible except if you sat right by one of their speakers but that was slow paced Mexican jams. Nothing that really made you want to party and up the energy. With that said, if you are a couple, older or with a family it's probably the perfect setting for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

An old classic that continues to impress

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: The staff was fabulous. Particularly Larissa at the front desk, Hugo with luggage and valet, and Josefina and Frances who provided wonderful massages
Cons: There were a few areas that needed a bit of maintenance; some missing tiles in the pool area, etc. But pretty minor.
Location: The hotel is in the heart of the hotel zone. That area is a tad boring, but everything is within a short taxi ride. Downtown, romantic zone, marina.
I had stayed at the Fiesta Americana over 10 years ago, and had a great time then. Since that time I have tried many other hotels in the Puerto Vallarta area, some of which were quite nice and some of which were only ok. So I decided to go back to the Fiesta Americana. It did not disappoint. The huge palapa reception area is still beautiful and unique, the grounds and facilities are great, and the service is excellent. They just switched to all inclusive, which I believe was necessary and a good idea. It isn't brand new, it isn't "exciting," and it may seem just a bit dated. But it is a classic Puerto Vallarta hotel that is still wonderful, and the service cannot be beat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Difficult if you don't do the all-inclusive

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: The facilities were beautiful.
Cons: Service quality of staff. Availability of information and prices for guests not on the all-inclusive plan.
Overall the hotel facilities were beautiful, but we were very disappointed by our experience as guests on the "european plan"...meaning we decided not to do the all-inclusive (because we were only staying for one night on a layover). Most of the staff members we encountered had no idea what to do with us or how to charge us. When we arrived there were no food options available to us. There was a snack bar open for the all-inclusive and we were willing to pay per item, but the staff had no idea what to charge us, so they called a manager over who informed us that the snack bar was only for all-inclusive guests and we would have to wait an hour for one of the restaurants to open...not what you want to hear after a long day of traveling. When the restaurant did open up, the menu had no prices. The whole process was very frustrating and really left us feeling like second-class citizens. I can't speak for the all-inclusive experience, but if you're not looking to go all-inclusive, I recommend you stay somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recent wonderful stay at Fiesta Americana

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Excellent service with a smile in both the restaurants and bars and also by the pool and beach.
Cons: The bed mattresses were too hard and made us a bit sore. The brand new spa was amazing but no hot water in the showers or the indoor soaking area.
I cannot say enough about the kindness and professionalism shown at this hotel. Every one we met had a smile on their face and was very approachable and helpful. The property was immaculate and quite charming. They have obviously been keeping up with the updating and upgrading throughout the years. Special thanks to the servers who made the stay more special, Gume and Carlos. Be sure to find them. Had a massage with Arturo in the spa. A little bit of heaven.