Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

Just ok hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Hotel is older. Room furnishings are good, but rooms and hallways need plastering and painting. Menu geared toward locals. Weekends many locals and lots of kids in pool. Food ok not excellent. No name brand alcoho except Bacardi rum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 star staff and service

Posted Dec 22, 2014
We are returning guests to this property - and they have many. We have met people that have been there a dozen or more times over the years and this was our 4th time. We may not chose the time of year again as there were very few weekly visitors, so they filled the rest of the rooms with weekenders who were often 4 to a room which put a lot of stress on the staff and the service quality went down. They also booked a lot of weddings on the weekends which also took staff away from the rest of the guests, and since it's a smaller property with a beautiful, but smaller beach front, if there was a wedding many of the weekly beachfront events were cancelled and there was limited space just to hang out and enjoy the beach in the evenings. Despite the busy times they do have an amazing staff, and we always know what to expect even on the days the staff is overworked. Food is high quality, even though it may not always have the best presentation, they have amazing service everywhere including the beach, there is almost always an "a la carte" option with or without reservations, and they actually treat the guests with respect - something we haven't gotten at many all inclusives no matter how many stars. And where else can you have a handmade woodfire pizza delivered to your lounge chair on the beach with your pina colada.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wausau Wi

Love this place!!

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Location, size and staff.
Cons: They are constantly making improvements.
Location: Close to downtown.
I've stayed several times and will stay more in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NY and L.A.

NOT FRIENDLY !

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Nice waiting staff and maids.
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: locations is convenient, easy to get to downtown malecon and to marina terminal for short islands excursions.
I requested a quiet room on 12 floor when I've booked it. I additionally sent them e-mail requesting quiet room on 12 floor two days before arrival. I was placed on 4th floor. I told a tall lady at reception (Alejandra?) that I requested 12 floor. She told me that the higher the sound goes, the louder it becomes. Interesting physics, I thought... She promised me that my room 2514 is perfect and that I would not want to move. I again asked her to make sure that I would not want to move, because I would not pack after I unpacked. She promised it would be quiet. IT WAS NOT. When I asked them to lower the unhealthy level of music, they told me that people needed to have fun and that nobody complained about it. Not true, a lot of people were complaining about non-stop music all over the premises - lobby, restaurant at the beach, on the beach itself and in the pool area, different kind of music blasting simultaneously. TERRIBLE. I had to call the police and only after that they reduced the volume somewhat. One could not hear TV in their room, while talking with Reception staff, I had to scream in their ears. On top of that, they started renovation and three last days of my stay, there was all day long construction noise on mezonin level restaurant. Food and drinks - terrible. The only exception was their gourmet restaurant, reservation required. I not even once used their pools or beach, had to go to Fiesta Americana. One of the elevators never worked. Sauna never worked either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CHICAGO, ILL. USA

VERY NICE HOTEL, GREAT SWIMMING POOLS

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: WE LOVED THE VIEW OF OUR ROOM, BEDS WERE COMFORTABLE AND THE ROOM BIG AND AIRY AND VERY CLEAN.
Location: GREAT LOCATION, VERY CLOSE TO DOWN TOWN AND THE MARINA. MANY BUSES AND TAXIS IN FRONT OF HOTEL. ZIP LINING, PARA SAILING, FISHING & OTHER ADVENTURE
LOCATION, LAYOUT, CLEANLINESS, VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL STAFF. WILL GO OUT OF THEIR WAY TO MAKE SURE YOU GET WHAT YOU NEED AND ARE VERY HELPFUL AND THEY ARE ALWAYS CHEERFUL AND VERY POLITE. THE FOOD IS EXCELLENT AND VERY TASTY AND PLENTY OF IT.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

The friendlist staff on earth

Posted Nov 10, 2014
We love the staff at the friendly hola hotel Everyone is so nice and genuinely warm and caring On leaving after a week 6 of the staff and mr Ortega ran to tell our group good bye It was very touching It's not the fanciest hotel but the service, location ,food and the view make it the best. Only change we could ask for is s better work out room with fans Also some hooks on back of public bathroom doors so u don't have to put your bag on the floor Otherwise we will be back again and again Love to the staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bryonyfrom New Zealand

Friendly Hotel!

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly lived up to its Name! On check in I was welcomed with a smile, refreshing welcome drink provided at this time...always a nice. Room was fresh and clean with balcony and ocean pool view....fantastic! Staff were always attentive and friendly. Waiters even served us on the beach :). Ocean was warm and I spent 8 days preferring the ocean to the pool. Both pools were nice one family and the other adult infinity pool, I just prefer the beach. See my TripAdvisor review for october 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom b.c canada

Friendly staff they make you want to come back

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Staff went out of there way to make you feel at home, food is good. Very relaxing,nice beach. We went out fishing the hotel kitchen cooked our catch it was amazing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DF

Me quedó a deber el Hotel Frendly

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Los meseros y los restaurantes son los mejor del hotel, sus albercas súper limpias, la mayoría de sus habitaciones tienen vista al mar.
Cons: El trato del personal de recepción, se ve súper mal que te pidan un depósito cuando llegas.
Location: Puerto Vallarta es hermoso, sus atardeceres me dejaron sin palabras, puedes ir a las Islas Marietas, Malecón y espectáculo de Piratas.
El personal de recepción no tiene toda la información del hotel y no siempre tienen buena actitud, la alberca que es solo para adultos no te permiten nadar en ella, mucho "ojo" te piden un deposito de $1,000 pesos al llegar por si hay daños en la habitación (qué hotel de 5 estrellas pide esto???? Su playa es muy muy pequeña.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Antioch Ca

Excellent people

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Very nice experience and good food, but you need to fix a few things in your building, like the sound system quality, wi-Fi and touch up on your building, over all it's good.