Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

The name says it all

Posted Feb 24, 2015
The Friendly is a great resort in so many ways. I noticed this year there has been a noticeable effort being put forth with upgrades. A new pizza oven, yum!! New lobby furniture, lovely. And general tweaks that make this older gem shine!!! But it's the staff, every one of them are truly lovely and incredibly accommodating. They go above and beyond and it makes for great vacation memories!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly lives up to it's name

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Cons: Hammocks could be added! Also, maybe more beach seating is necessary, although it wasn't a problem we had to reserve our chairs at 7am.
Location: Easily took a taxi downtown for less then $10.
The staff is extremely accommodating and made the experience a great one. All the food is good, drinks are great too. The shows and events the staff puts on are fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Awesome place to vacation

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: All Inclusive
Cons: Hotter showers
Location: Went to Happy Lobster to eat, I would recommend it.
The Hotel and Staff was great, very friendly and I would highly recommend it to anyone I know. Thank you for the great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, MB, Canada

The staff live up to the hotel's name.

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Location: In the Hotel Zone, short ride from the airport, and a short bus/cab ride to the Malecon.
Not a big chain & an older hotel, but continually making changes to improve their facilities. Good, varied menu, but drinks are mediocre (made for speed, not quality; no brand names). Great beach, nice pools, and clean facilities. Great managers, service staff, support staff, and recreation/entertainment team are what makes us come back! The "kids club" continues to grow to accommodate families, and this hotel is for an older crowd...they don't cater to "spring breakers". Still, the lobby bar stays open late for people that want to socialize without heading downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Friendly Hotel !

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: I like that is clean and close to every place and the pool facilities, But the stuff is the best part of the hotel!!!
Cons: The mattress, the chairs at the lobby , don't let people smoke around or inside of the lobby and the TV 's on the rooms, also the balconies chairs.
Location: Location is great !
The hotel is dated it was build 28 yeas ago and there is no to much renovations, but they keep it very clean , The stuff is amazing every single day all the time they make feel like home and very welcome. the location is great buses at the door for 0,50 cents of dollar you go any place is safe and easy to go up and down. Food is good and entertained also very nice , start a little early night but you have every day something nice to do also during the day. Cons the bed mattress are really hard and the TV on the rooms are so old !! no flat TV or good programs to watch or news, also people smoke all the time at the lobby if you don't like breath smoke you cant seat there. is the area for the smokers and is the entrance of the hotel. and you don't have another seat area to be comfortable any way the seats pillows are very old too. Honestly the best is the stuff , the employees they treat you like a friend they are amazing. They maintain the hotel very clean we had a very relaxed and good time .
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

Just ok hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Hotel is older. Room furnishings are good, but rooms and hallways need plastering and painting. Menu geared toward locals. Weekends many locals and lots of kids in pool. Food ok not excellent. No name brand alcoho except Bacardi rum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 star staff and service

Posted Dec 22, 2014
We are returning guests to this property - and they have many. We have met people that have been there a dozen or more times over the years and this was our 4th time. We may not chose the time of year again as there were very few weekly visitors, so they filled the rest of the rooms with weekenders who were often 4 to a room which put a lot of stress on the staff and the service quality went down. They also booked a lot of weddings on the weekends which also took staff away from the rest of the guests, and since it's a smaller property with a beautiful, but smaller beach front, if there was a wedding many of the weekly beachfront events were cancelled and there was limited space just to hang out and enjoy the beach in the evenings. Despite the busy times they do have an amazing staff, and we always know what to expect even on the days the staff is overworked. Food is high quality, even though it may not always have the best presentation, they have amazing service everywhere including the beach, there is almost always an "a la carte" option with or without reservations, and they actually treat the guests with respect - something we haven't gotten at many all inclusives no matter how many stars. And where else can you have a handmade woodfire pizza delivered to your lounge chair on the beach with your pina colada.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wausau Wi

Love this place!!

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Location, size and staff.
Cons: They are constantly making improvements.
Location: Close to downtown.
I've stayed several times and will stay more in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NY and L.A.

NOT FRIENDLY !

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Nice waiting staff and maids.
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: locations is convenient, easy to get to downtown malecon and to marina terminal for short islands excursions.
I requested a quiet room on 12 floor when I've booked it. I additionally sent them e-mail requesting quiet room on 12 floor two days before arrival. I was placed on 4th floor. I told a tall lady at reception (Alejandra?) that I requested 12 floor. She told me that the higher the sound goes, the louder it becomes. Interesting physics, I thought... She promised me that my room 2514 is perfect and that I would not want to move. I again asked her to make sure that I would not want to move, because I would not pack after I unpacked. She promised it would be quiet. IT WAS NOT. When I asked them to lower the unhealthy level of music, they told me that people needed to have fun and that nobody complained about it. Not true, a lot of people were complaining about non-stop music all over the premises - lobby, restaurant at the beach, on the beach itself and in the pool area, different kind of music blasting simultaneously. TERRIBLE. I had to call the police and only after that they reduced the volume somewhat. One could not hear TV in their room, while talking with Reception staff, I had to scream in their ears. On top of that, they started renovation and three last days of my stay, there was all day long construction noise on mezonin level restaurant. Food and drinks - terrible. The only exception was their gourmet restaurant, reservation required. I not even once used their pools or beach, had to go to Fiesta Americana. One of the elevators never worked. Sauna never worked either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CHICAGO, ILL. USA

VERY NICE HOTEL, GREAT SWIMMING POOLS

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: WE LOVED THE VIEW OF OUR ROOM, BEDS WERE COMFORTABLE AND THE ROOM BIG AND AIRY AND VERY CLEAN.
Location: GREAT LOCATION, VERY CLOSE TO DOWN TOWN AND THE MARINA. MANY BUSES AND TAXIS IN FRONT OF HOTEL. ZIP LINING, PARA SAILING, FISHING & OTHER ADVENTURE
LOCATION, LAYOUT, CLEANLINESS, VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL STAFF. WILL GO OUT OF THEIR WAY TO MAKE SURE YOU GET WHAT YOU NEED AND ARE VERY HELPFUL AND THEY ARE ALWAYS CHEERFUL AND VERY POLITE. THE FOOD IS EXCELLENT AND VERY TASTY AND PLENTY OF IT.