Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Great room, amenities, and service

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Service, amenities, spacious pool, great all-inclusive package with many good food options.
Cons: I wish the TV allowed me to hook up my laptop so I could watch my own shows in bed. The free wifi signal was very slow and spotty. Night time pool.
Location: There is a boardwalk area in Puerto Vallarta with a lot of food vendors and shopping. Other than that, you can lounge on the beach like paradise.
My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. The room was spacious and comfortable. The king size bed was great. The AC worked well for when it was hot outside. The Jacuzzi and shower had nice hot water at any time of day. The porch had a really comfortable couch that we spent a lot of time lounging on. All the facilities in the bathroom worked well. We had an all inclusive package, and they kept the room stocked a few times a day, especially useful for having a steady supply of bottled water. We ate at 2 restaurants at the hotel: Azul and Piaf. Azul was open at nearly any time of the day. The dinner quality was better than I expected and really tasty. The lunch options were generally buffet style but still pretty good and with a large variety. Piaf is a French restaurant and was frankly a bit underwhelming. The portion sizes were small and the food was tasty, but I wasn't blown away. If I weren't on an all-inclusive package I probably would have felt like it wasn't worth it. We also ordered room service at basically all times of the day, even for snacks. The room service food quality was really good, too. On the day of our checkout, my wife wasn't feeling well, and the hotel was able to let us stay in the comfort of our room for hours after checkout time so that we could go straight to the airport. I was very pleased that they accommodated us this way. The pool was busy but not overly crowded. Lots of families with loud kids, though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Fabulous pool, resort and staff was wonderful!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Pool, sevice and food!! 15 minutes from airport which is great!
Cons: Need another bartender at the pool bar to help with people sitting at bar, even thought the pool waiters were fabulus and fast with drinks and food.
Staff was wonderful! Catered to the guests! Made dinner reservations prior to coming which was helpful to get our prefered times. Food was best we ever had at an all-inclusive. Lots of kids but the layout didn't make you feel like they were by you. Pool water was perfect temperature. Awesome not to fight for chairs and towels like other A-I's. Beach was super clean, had very high/low tides. Little busy if you are looking for quiet beach area. Great for long walks! There are venders on the beach but they don't bother you if you say no thank-you!! Very respectful! Would definitely go back!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle area

Quite incredible staff and facilities

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: What is not to like?
Cons: Not sure much more could be done to improve except maybe the specialty restaurants thou it would be picky to put a knock on them.
Location: Not much need to go elsewhere
Facilities, staff, food, pools were all the best. As is typical people put towels on recliners and reserve the whole day but that happens everywhere. One just has to be an early bird, though there are many opportunities. I doubt there is any good way to manage that
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great service and location

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Location: Swim with the dolphins -- great experience.
Best all-inclusive service we've ever experienced. Hotel staff exceedingly well-trained, available, and always looking to assist and serve. High quality restaurants. great pools, and nice beach. Not the Caribbean, but close and very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great size resort and amazing service!

Posted Feb 10, 2015
We have been here twice and love this resort. The size is great - lots to do and amazing service. It's worth the money!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Best place to stay!!

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Amazing resort! Great service, beautiful place, wonderful staff, awesome activities, delicious food!!! Thanks to Omar for fun water aerobics and kayaking and to the other activities guy (wish I could remember his name!) for great water aerobics and a fun bike trip to see the Dolphins and macaws!! Thanks too to spider (amazing magician) and Pablo the piano player in the Italian restaurant!!! We had an unforgettable time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice small hotel.

Posted Jan 26, 2015
This hotel was perfect for our needs. The food was great - good variety and convenient. The spa was spectacular. Great massage, nice locker room with all the amenities - hot tub, sauna, steam, showers, lotions. The staff was friendly and helpful all over resort - pool, reception, dining areas, house keeping, bars. The grounds were simple but clean. Pool was perfect temp, clean and big - plenty of chairs, towels and servers around the pool and beach. The beach was clean with comfortable places to sit with shade.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Paradise, only maginfied by staff excellence

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Location, size, accomodations, and cleanliness
Cons: We were so pleased, any issue that arose was aided by wonderful staff and superior service!
Location: Facing directly to the West over Banderas Bay, gorgeous sunsets! 15 minutes from the airport. Wonderful beaches with long-spances of sand for walks
Just returned from Grand Velas yesterday. 5th time in Puerto Vallarta, yet 1st time at this property. The reviews do not lie. The attention to detail and the overall customer experience are wonderful. From the initial welcome at check in which was topped off by a light shoulder massage, the Grand Velas staff went above a beyond to assure we were comfortable and delighted. The weather is perfect this time of year in PV as well, which just makes the experience that much greater. Special thanks to Jose (Chepe) our wonderful concierge and Gloria who made our evening cocktail experience at the Lobby Bar so special. My wife trul enjoyed the the spa, and all of the amenities it offered. 1st class all the way. Food choices were much better than other all-inclusives. Ask them for what you want, they will deliver! We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bogota, Colombia

Excellent Stay in Nayarit

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Restaurants and rooms.
Cons: Showers at the pool area and better tv signal and program.
Location: Nayarit is a beatuiful bay located near Puerto Vallarta.
I have travelled to several high end all inclusive resort but by far Gran Velas is the best. Excellent food, drink / cocktail selection and service from all the staff. I would highly recommend this destination!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

An Outstanding Resort with Just One Weak Area

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Great food, lovely beach and pool, very well appointed rooms.
Cons: Hotel could provide pool and beach toys for kids. Kids Club was disappointing. A good movie plus popcorn each night for kids would be good.
Location: We did not find the city of Puerto Vallarta very interesting. There may be interesting things to do nearby for couples or families with teenagers.
The hotel and its setting are lovely. We had 4 couples with a total of 5 children ages 1-8 for a family reunion. Breakfast and lunch were at casual family-style restaurants. Dinner for adults was at one of three 5-star restaurants. A treat to be able to choose a different cuisine each night and enjoy gourmet meals. Nice gym, nice gardens. Not much to see outside of resort. Kids Club needs work--nothing much to do.Some good movies, a bunch of Lego, Mindcraft, some outdoor games, etc would help. One could hire excellent babysitters to stay with young kids in room at night.