Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy hotel close to the beach

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Great service, fun atmosphere, clean, and inviting!
Cons: It didn't have a pool or ocean view. (However, it was so close to the beach!!)
Location: SO many things! Great bars, restaurants, and shopping...
The staff were super helpful and friendly. The accommodations were clean and fun. Each room is uniquely decorated! Everything is walkable (the beach, fun restaurants, flea markets, etc.)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Whittier, CA

great location

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: It is located near the cathedral and theater.
Cons: It needs an infusion of TLC.
Location: In the historical district. Many restaurants, museums, and parks within walking distance.
Hotel needs some upkeep. Nice lobby bar with music. Great bar and lobby staff. The bed was extremely hard even by Mexico standards. I had to get up and take 600 mg of Motrin during the night so that I could endure the discomfort of the mattress. The hotel is in a noisy location, it did not help that I could heard people talking very loudly at 0600. The window opened to a shaft of some sort and the sounds of their voices was directed upwards. They were staff members of either the hotel or an adjacent business. They quieted down when I asked them to keep the volume down. There are quieter rooms in the hotel as I have stayed here in the past.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester UK

great location , friendly staff

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: location , helpful staff and it looks good with inner courtyard full of plants and colour
Cons: maybe bathrooms need a bit of modernisation
Location: Great location for beach , shops , restaurants/cafes , bus station etc . 30 mins from airport.
Hotel located downtown convenient for beaches , restaurants shops etc. With that convenience comes downside of street noise ( and church bells !) . We stayed 16 nights and got to know staff well and they were all unfailingly helpful and friendly. Hotel and rooms are basic but adequate with essentials of WIFI and aircon . Main thing is very high standard of cleanliness. Summary , if you're looking for all in luxury , look elsewhere but for basic , comfortable , friendly , clean place in good location - this is it !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Vancouver, BC

Can hardly wait to return

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Choice of decour, courtesy of staff, location, cleanliness, quiet.
We chose this hotel primarily because of location, without prior knowledge of anything else beyond what the advertising shows. We felt very much at home in terms of the beauty of the place and the hospitality extended by the staff and the owner himself. It was trully an oasis of tranquility in the centre of town. One can not miss how much love and detail the owners have put into it. The location is perfect and it seems like everything we needed and wanted was within minutes walk in a pleasant neighbourhood. Having discovered Hotel Catedral makes it that much more appealing for returning to Puerto Vallarta, because now we know we have a home away from home where we an relax and regroup. Much gratitude to everyone and Carlos, the owner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southern Alberta

Nice Hotel in Old Town Puerto Vallarta

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Firstly, the cleanliness of the rooms and the decorating. Price was excellent.
Cons: Some of the bathrooms could use some update, but all in all it is an old building with plenty of character.
The hotel is old but beutifully decorated with "themed " rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful with directions. It is located close to the "Malecon" (shopping plaza.. flea market and close to the Cathedral and within 10 min walk to the beach. We stayed here between flight and resort check-in. Was pleases with the stay even though it was just overnight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Clean, friendly staff, great location.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Everything was great. It was as advertised. We really liked the location.....we wanted a hotel close to old town, not a beachfront "resort." This was it. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nottingham

excellent Staff

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: The staff & the place
Cons: the pillows are very big
Location: excellent
The staff is very proffesional & nice, the room are very clean & the hotel is so beautiful. The staff is warm people & friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

In the heart of the ACTION

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: Ambiance
Cons: Nothing
Location: In the Romantic Zone with lots of activities.
Everything you will need in Puerto Vallarta. It is near the market and lots of restaurants. One block from the river.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Javierfrom León guanajuato

Buenisimo

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excelente para las necesidades de mi viaje de trabajo buena ubicación,muy limpio,muy amables lo recomiendo mucho, lo unico que le faltaria es estacionamiento