Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I would not return

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: It is right in the heart of old town.
Cons: The building is in bad need of renovation.
Location: It is in old town near the water.
The facility is quite old and in need of a serious update.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Cons: Lighting in the rooms.
We enjoyed stepping into the lovely and serene courtyard upon our arrival. That set the tone of our visit. Our room was bright and colorful in a very tasteful way, and quiet at night for restful sleeping. All in all very enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pleasant Hill CA

Great spot in town

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Convenient In-town location. Calm.
Location: Many nearby restaurants.
Quiet and calm yet only a moments walk from liveliness (and all that goes with that). Felt genuine. Nice staff. Art and books. Basic room was airy and comfortable. Only downside was periodic sewer gas smell wafting through, from bathroom drains (I think). It was not constant and was tolerable, but certainly not welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Park City, UT

They walked us to another Hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Color, charm, location, quiet streets, access to points of interest.
We had a one night reservation to bridge the gap between a house rental and our departing flights. When we came to check in, we were told that the room had a problem with the plumbing and they didn't think it'd be fixed quickly. So they made arrangements with a near by hotel ("a nicer hotel") for us to stay there for no additional charge. All this was fine and understandable and accommodating, although I did wonder if was our reservation that was moved because we were only a one night reservation. Anyway, the point of this review is to say how much I preferred Hotel Catedral to Hotel Rio. We stayed at Hotel Catedral last trip, and I would gladly stay there again. And now having seen another area hotel which is supposedly comparably priced, I know even better why Hotel Catedral stands out above others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy hotel close to the beach

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Great service, fun atmosphere, clean, and inviting!
Cons: It didn't have a pool or ocean view. (However, it was so close to the beach!!)
Location: SO many things! Great bars, restaurants, and shopping...
The staff were super helpful and friendly. The accommodations were clean and fun. Each room is uniquely decorated! Everything is walkable (the beach, fun restaurants, flea markets, etc.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mikefrom Seattle

Lovely place, would stay there anytime

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
I loved this place. My favorite thing is that the staff were all super friendly and helpful. They made every effort to make things go smoothly. The place was totally clean and well-taken-care-of. There are restaurants all over the place nearby and it's only a few blocks from the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Janetfrom Charleston

Wierd bathroom in a nice hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
Cute hotel with a nice central open air gathering area. The staff were very nice and helpful, spoke good English. We had stopped in the week before our reservation to check it out and were shown a room with a standard bathroom. on our arrival we were given a room with a very small bathroom in which the sink was in the shower enclosure. Made it impossible to store anything in the bathroom (toothbrush, makeup etc). It was also awkward to wash your hands as you had to step onto a wet shower floor then track the muck through your room. Aside from that the room was comfortable and very clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Whittier, CA

great location

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: It is located near the cathedral and theater.
Cons: It needs an infusion of TLC.
Location: In the historical district. Many restaurants, museums, and parks within walking distance.
Hotel needs some upkeep. Nice lobby bar with music. Great bar and lobby staff. The bed was extremely hard even by Mexico standards. I had to get up and take 600 mg of Motrin during the night so that I could endure the discomfort of the mattress. The hotel is in a noisy location, it did not help that I could heard people talking very loudly at 0600. The window opened to a shaft of some sort and the sounds of their voices was directed upwards. They were staff members of either the hotel or an adjacent business. They quieted down when I asked them to keep the volume down. There are quieter rooms in the hotel as I have stayed here in the past.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Janfrom Craik

Hotel Cathedral

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hotel was great for our last couple of nights in Vallarta,altho quite noisy until the traffic slowed down at night.We were suspicious of that though.Great location near the malecon and lots of restaurants.They could update the morning cookies!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester UK

great location , friendly staff

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: location , helpful staff and it looks good with inner courtyard full of plants and colour
Cons: maybe bathrooms need a bit of modernisation
Location: Great location for beach , shops , restaurants/cafes , bus station etc . 30 mins from airport.
Hotel located downtown convenient for beaches , restaurants shops etc. With that convenience comes downside of street noise ( and church bells !) . We stayed 16 nights and got to know staff well and they were all unfailingly helpful and friendly. Hotel and rooms are basic but adequate with essentials of WIFI and aircon . Main thing is very high standard of cleanliness. Summary , if you're looking for all in luxury , look elsewhere but for basic , comfortable , friendly , clean place in good location - this is it !