Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jr from Puebla Mexico

Not bad

Posted Apr 5, 2014
If you want to save some dough this hotel is not bad. It is a little far from the boardwalk but other than that its cool. staff was very nice I recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by Mario from Victoria B.C.

Disappointing, considering other reviews.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Good location. Good parking. Wi Fi worked well.
Cons: Kill the mold and then paint the room.
Location: Close to malicon
I had a room on the 1st floor. When I arrived the widow was open and it seemed fine but whe you closed it up, it had an overpowering musty smell. I soon realized that in the bathroom , they had painted over mold and it was coming through the paint. This made staying there almost intolerable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Budget hotel with very fiendly staff

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: - Friendly staff -Proximity to running track and Malecon -The included breakfast -Quiet street -We were allowed to use the computer
Cons: Mention on line about the breakfast not being available on Mondays.
Location: Close to the Malecon, a supermarket, and 4 blocks from a brand new running track.
We were pleasantly surprised by the Hotel Mocali. The staff were extemely friendly and accommodating. My husband needed to use a computer and he was allowed to use it there, which was great. The location is good, we were close enough to walk to the Malecon and the old town every day.We also liked the fact that it was only a 4 block walk to the new running track, which was great as it was very convenient to be able to go for a run in the morning before breakfast. Our room had a little balcony where we could sit and play cards. There is also an outdoor deck with a large table, comfortable bench and chairs. It has a pretty good view of the town, and you can see the ocean although it is not super close. The other plus was it was fairly quiet, being off the main street. Our only negatives: it would have been nice if there was some mention in our reservation that the included breakfast was not available on Mondays. Also, the bathroom was super small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel was great

Posted Sep 14, 2013
This little hotel is my favorite, it is clean, the staff is friendly, and it is located close to everything. two blocks from the beach, one block and around the corner from night life and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth the stay

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Close to the beach, the staff was accommodating and the rooms were clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Amanda from United States

Great deal!

Posted Mar 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
A heads up, you should really be slightly proficient in Spanish to stay here. There are no fluent English speakers on staff that I was aware of. But everyone will do there best to help with whatever you need and was generally friendly in the process. Breakfast was great. Awesome location to most everything. The rooms are simple but have everything you need, especially for the great price. Would probably stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Steve from Vancouver Island

Mocali

Posted Mar 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
A nice little hotel fairly close to Malacon and downtown. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Has everything you need at a good price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bonny

a little overpriced

Posted Feb 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
I paid $40 a day for 8 days. At first they gave me a small, dark room with a balcony. Then the corner room opened up and I asked if I could move into it because it had 2 windows and was a larger room. There was a bad smell coming from the shower drain in the second room, like sewer gas. I told the staff and I was immediately moved to a higher floor, same kind of room. The breakfast offered was the same every day. Coffee with 2 pieces of hard, dry toast and overripe fruit . The hotel is clean and the staff are willing to assist you, but since I travel extensively around Mexico the price is too high for what they had to offer.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

first night in Peurto Vallarta

Posted Feb 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was up a backstreet and not close to airport or beach. The room was dark as the window looked over the courtyard, and there was no air coming in through the window. I could not sleep as it was so noisywith people talking and you could hear every person coming and going in he hotel. The bed wassmall abd mattress hard. I would not recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marilu from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Unexpensive, clean and comfortable hotels, exist!!

Posted Nov 15, 2012
Pros: The room and bed's comfort and freshness. The service and the friendly Staff. The price.
Cons: That I did not have an egg at breakfast!
Location: Good location. Few blocks from everywhere: beach, shops, plaza, hotel zone, etc. Safe area.
Unexpensive, nice and very CLEAN hotel, comfortable and fresh beds (I slept as a baby!). We stayed in a double room (two twin beds), the room and the bathroom were small but functional.Very friendly and helpful Staff. Few blocks from the Cathedral, Plaza and the heart of Puerto Vallarta, three blocks from the beach. Breakfast was simple but good: fresh fruit (we had melon and papaya), coffe, toasts, butter and jam. I would stay at Hotel Mocali next time I travel to Puerto Vallarta. Seniors and families with children may ask for a room in the first floor as there is not elevator and there are many stairs!