Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great value

Posted May 29, 2014
unfortunately construction has begun on adjacent lot 5 to 7story condo project and plenty of construction noise and congestion. End result may be a negative effect on stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by c

Close to the beach

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Great hotel very comfortable except the cleaning the housekeepers dnt clean very well but overall great hotel backyard beach and great for snorkeling saw many fish i do suggest you take water shoes because there are alot of rocks and seashells in the water
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Very close to the beach, walking distance into Old town - would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ranjo from MN

LOVE IT

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: This hotel is close to down town. Can take the bus or walk the beach.
Cons: The lower restaurant and some of the maid service. 3rd stay and first time with a complaint of maid service.
Location: We really like the location. When taking the bus make sure you hop on the orange bus to centro or Mismaloya. The buses are marked differently.
We love it at this hotel. It was our third time staying at Conchas Chinas and will be going back again. The staff are friendly and helpful when you need anything. We could see the dolphins in the morning from the balcony. Took the bus for 8 pesos to downtown and to Mismaloya. The upper restaurant has amazing food and very nice waiters. I would not recommend the lower restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adrienne from Calgary Alberta

Great little hotel close to an excellent beach

Posted Mar 23, 2014
We were a family of 6 (two adults, two 18 years old and two 8 years old) and stayed here for 10 days. We had an excellent time. Our room was great: Clean, big, quiet, comfortable, with a kitchenette, a great deck overlooking the beach (all rooms have a balcony facing the beach, some are just bigger than others) a fan and air conditioning (we only used the fan). The staff were friendly and helpful but not intrusive or over the top. It is an old hotel so in places it is a little tired but this had no impact on our stay or the overall aesthetic of the place. We only ate at the hotel restaurant once so cannot speak to that. We cooked and ate at the restaurant closer to the beach (Lindamar which is an adjoining hotel). There is internet in the lobby but not in your room. There is free water which was really great and beach towels that you could trade in. We loved the beach, it is sandy with rocks and tide pools that the kids loved, there are really nice beaches close by (three minute walk) that are bigger. Depending on the surf the waves can be daunting but this is the same no matter where you stay on this coast. The snorkeling is better here than on the VERY long and rather arduous tour we went on to Marietta's island. It is a 5 minute bus ride to town, so going in and out is easy and the buses are frequent. We would totally go back to this place for the price is was fantastic. Don't go if you are a fancy pants and have a lot of demands and special needs though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Northern California

A REALLY GREAT PLACE TO STAY

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: Everything!!! The staff - Salvador, Miquel, Franco and Eleakeo (sp?) are super. Location is minutes from downtown (using the bus). Beach front!
Cons: Beds could be a bit softer. Quieter refrigerator.
Location: Super location in the really nice South PV area. Take the buses to everywhere!! OXXO convenience store a block away.
The hotel is 35 years old so don 't go expecting a 5 star Hilton. All rooms face the ocean/beach. The decor is Mexican from 35 years ago. Staff is outstanding. Rooms are clean and the beds are hard but you'll get used to them. The sound of the pounding surf will put you to sleep. Room service everyday. The place is super convenient since the bus going and coming from town stops almost in front and it's only 8 pesos per person. The La Playita restaurant is down on the beach and the food is good. It's shared with the Lindo Mar timeshare right next store. El Set is connected also but we didn't eat there since it's a bit pricey. We took most meals in town at a different place each night. They have "free" bottled water dispensers in the hallways and coffee in the lobby. The kitchens are nicely equipped. The rooms are a comfortable size. They had AC but we didn't use it. Left the room open to the balcony. NO insects - flying or crawling. Chirping birds wake you in the morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and close to the beach

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: Closeness to the ocean
Cons: Bed comfort
Location: Within walking distance to Puerto Vallarta town, and a short cab ride to Misamaloya
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Loved the restaurant next door at the Lindo Mar hotel. Rooms were adequate, but the bed was rather uncomfortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chuckie from Illinois

Cozy hotel with it's own little beach.

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Location: Quick 4 minute bus trip into Old Towne and the Malicon. It was nice to be out of the hubub at night and still be so close.
Staff and layout of the hotel were great for young energetic guests. Room was beautiful and very open and airy. Restaruant at bech level was amazing and very reasonable, especially breakfast: best Chorizo of the trip. Many problems with plumbing which were all fixed quickly but they just kept occurring. Hotel was rustic and in need of some real repair and general maintenance. Would recommend to a friend but only at a really good price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sandi and charl from summerland bc

Beautiful views

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: Internet
Cons: Some updating
Location: Close to town a nice beach walk
The views are amazing,the staff is helpful The restaurant on the beach has great food. The beds are hard but you get used to them Great value for the money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from BC

Beautiful beachfront

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: The Conchas Chinas beach next door is the best in the area.
Cons: Given the star rating, there would be little that could be improved as they are an older, quaint hotel.
Location: Located a 20 minute walk from el centro and the malecon, this is a quiet area with two onsite restaurants. Water sport rentals are nearby.
This was our second time visiting this hotel and was as delightful as we remembered. It has aged more but you cannot beat the price and views!! If you want quiet and relaxing, this is it! The staff are very accommodating and always available should you require assistance. The beach is unbeatable next door for those who like privacy. Two restaurants onsite are good but there are kitchenettes for those who like to cook for themselves. We find Mega grocery store to be a lot less crowded than Walmart and the prices are the same. There is Costco as well. We would stay again should we return to PV.