Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom K

You get what you pay for

Posted Sep 28, 2014
I booked this room for 9 nights..price was great but it was lacking a few things. The room had a air unit which did not work half the time and one night it went completely out and I had to swap to another room at 3 am in the morning. ..the lighting is horrible...with all lights on in the room you can not even read a book close to your face due to lighting being so dim...bathroom door locks did not work...the room had a very unpleasant odor and the beds were literally like sleeping on the floor...they were very hard...The good side...its in decent location to downtown....it looks nice as you walk in...other than that I will pay the extra money next time and get a much nicer hotel....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom maryland

Great hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Very nice hotel near everything. Very clean. We traveled with two small children and felt very cimfortable. Staff was great and friendly. Very helpful and accomodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom australia

Todo es Bueno

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Very helpful staff and clean, comfortable rooms. Good location and modern style rooms. No complaints
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near Beach, Shops, & Restaurants

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: I love the location. Everything you need is walking distance away.
Cons: The only thing I would recommend being improved would be the bedding, its a bit too firm for my liking but hey, thats my opinion.
Location: There are three night clubs a few blocks down towards the boardwalk, there are shops where you can buy anything from beach attire to tequilas.
We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and was very pleased with the staff. They assisted with any inquiries we had and any special requests we needed. There is a convinence store across the street, a pharmacy a few stores down and the boardwalk is approx 2 blocks away. This hotel is located as close to it all as you would like it to be and its really affordable. I would definitely come back here in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Patricia Penafrom Oakland, CA

Room 103 is horrible !!

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were given room 103 and had problems quickly. Lights would not work properly, air conditioner did not work and you had to manually change channels on the tv remote. We called for maintenance and someone came up right away and tried to fix the issues. We were told that this room ALWAYS has these problems!! We spent the night and were moved to another room the next day. Since we were leaving at 6am we had to pack our stuff and leave it in their secured area until we returned at night. When I needed to use the computer to check in and get my boarding pass for our flight,the bellboy said I could use the computers in the lobby and the lady at the front desk would help me if needed. I checked in and tried to print our boarding passes and the woman at the front desk would not let me print them !!! She was also very rude when I had called down to inform them of the problems in our first room. If you can't deal with the public you should get another job. When I asked for extra towels she told me I had to leave my driver's license or credit card with her or she could not give me extra towels. I have stayed at this hotel before and NEVER had to leave my driver's license or credit card for extra towels or blankets. The other heavyset woman at the front desk is nicer but everytime you walk by she is on the computer on the internet. We are staying again in July and I hope the service is better or we will have to find another hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ricardo and Jazminfrom California

Best hotel of the melecon

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is the best hotel in the downtown of the Pv , they have good service and the rooms are clean and big , the other great thing that the portonovo have is the pool is the roof and you can see the beach and other hotel is an excellent hotel we stay for 4 days and everything was perfect I recommend this hotel and I would stay again in this hotel .....
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tonyfrom PV

Best Hotel in old Puerto Va

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you are older that 16 yrs old careful and order 2 dble beds. I spent a great last day of my holidays in PV and was dissappointted I couldn't get hot wtaer.....at all!! Its great to have a pool on top with a great view
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Brittfrom Mexico

We love Hotel Portonovo

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
My fiance and I have stayed here three times. We love it! The staff are friendly. The hotel is clean, modern, and intimate. Every time we visit Vallarta (every three to four months) we stay here. We can't wait for our next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Davidfrom Wichita, KS

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Great little hotel. It's a 1 minute walk to the beach. It's in the heart of downtown so everything from nightclubs to the flea market is within a short walking distance. The rooms are small but there's plenty of closet space and we found, since we were downtown, we only used the room to shower and sleep. The Wifi was unreliable but Overall we were very impressed by the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Davidfrom Wichita, KS

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Great little hotel. It's a 1 minute walk to the beach. It's in the heart of downtown so everything from nightclubs to the flea market is within a short walking distance. The rooms are small but there's plenty of closet space and we found, since we were downtown, we only used the room to shower and sleep. The Wifi was unreliable but Overall we were very impressed by the hotel.