Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to attractions, ok but not great

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Near the melacon and walking distance to things. Restaurant in the lobby was reasonably priced and had good food
Cons: see above review: re: pool, internet, and overall ambiguity of the front desk staff
Location: Melacon is right down the way, lots to see and do within walking distance. Be aware that you have to WALK to get to the beach.
Decent hotel, as long as your expectation is that you are NOT staying at a resort. It's location is good- right near all the activity of the melacon and NEAR the beach (very short walk to decent beach). However, if you are expecting american style amenities and resort type environment this is NOT the place for you. On checkin, the staff was efficient but definitely left things out- such as "heres information re: the internet" and "to turn on the lights and air conditioning you need to insert your room key into a box on the wall". Overall, the staff at the front desk were ok- but definitely not overly helpful or friendly. With regards to the rooms- overall it was tidy and clean, I will say however that there were tiny ants everywhere in our room (not big scary ones, just annoying little ones). But like I said, overall clean and well maintained. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was adequate. I will say our balcony overlooked a VERY busy street and it was extremely noisy. With regard to the "amenities" of the hotel- maybe I didn't read the fine print well enough and for that I take responsibility however 1) the "Pool" is LITERALLY in the middle of the restaurant, there are no lounge chairs, etc. such that were you to use it (which we never saw anyone do), you would likely feel like you were providing entertainment for the dining guests. 2) internet- only worked in common areas like the restaurant- NOT in our room (not super helpful).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Clean And good location.
Very noisy thorughout night. Air conditioner did not work. Told staff about it on second day but nothing got fixed. Great location to but I would recomend different hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a room on the malacon was noisy but comfortabl

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Loud room comfortable and pretty clean gods food in the restaurant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria BC

Central

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Location, staff.
Cons: Food, bathroom (no fans, nowhere to hang anything)
Location: Malecon, Isla Cuale, Romantic Zone
First time in PV and we wanted a cheap weeks vacation. We arrived late but luckily the Malecon is just a minutes walk from the hotel. The first day we ate lunch at the hotel and it was not very good -- fries were from frozen and pizza rested in a pool of grease. That's our only complaint. The hotel is central to both the old town for sightseeing, shopping and the Malecon, and the Zona Romantica for beaches, restaurants, and (gay) nightlife. The Mardi Gras parade went right by the hotel. Also nearby are bus stops and taxis (80 pesos to the marina). We bussed to the Botanical Gardens and Sayulita for cheap getaways, tho the latter took 100 minutes each way. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the beds are comfy. We needed almost daily cleaning as everything gets damp really quick, and earplugs are needed for sleep as the traffic can be loud. But for the price and location it's a really good option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Rio review

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: In the Center of things but not "on the ocean". Noisy, but easy walking to most everything in old town areas.
Cons: Back bar area, not being used , could be a possibly sunny area that could be a patio.
Location: Close to most everything in old town area. Interesting local restaurants.
Old Hotel dating to the 1950's or earlier. 1 block coastal walk way but not near beach. Old town area, on BUSY and Noisy Street. Being revamped room by room. Pool is decorative only. Restaurant in Hotel is ok with very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. John's,NL, Canada

A/C perfect; location perfect; incredible clean

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, staff, room quality, reception, like everything was great value.
Cons: Better lighting in the rooms for seniors. I often bring lighting when I travel because I had laser surgery and don't have good night vision.
Location: This is in the center of old town. This is in the middle of the main tourist area. Maybe 500 feet from the beach
I had a room facing the courtyard which was very quiet. Other guests preferred rooms on the main street where there was lots of traffic because they liked to look at people. Tastes differ. All of the staff were incredibly accommodating. The Director is Victor Zamorano. I met him a couple of times and he was always cordial. Repeat guests seem to adore him!! The dining room offerings are on a par with the finer restaurants in Puerto Vallarta and I was certainly in the finest restaurants there. The morning breakfasts tended to be overcooked as the morning progressed. Very minor issue. I felt very comfortable and very secure. I have stayed in other nice hotels but this was by far the best location / best quality in the romantic zone. There may be more elegant new hotels a twenty minute drive from the City but I came to see Puerto Vallarta, not to be isolated in some all inclusive resort that might be anywhere from Cancun to the Dominican Republic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

A Good Time was had by All!

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Nice and clean, great staff.
Cons: Nothing major
Location: Just off the beach and lots of good food nearby
A great time in PV. Great location-all was good. Gracias!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Idaho

Close to everything. Helpful staff. Good restauran

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Staff. Location. Price.
Cons: Beds were hard. Air Conditioning was weak. Our $2500 camera was stolen at the nearby malecon :(
Location: Beach, food, day trips, shopping, bus, taxi.
Air conditioning was not very effective and beds were super hard. Everything else was a good value for what we paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saint John NB

Great staff, right on the Malecon!

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Staff were awesome; on site bar and restaurant - great food and drink; air conditioning; location; price - not expensive
Cons: Wifi was bad; no elevator; no comfy chair in room (only bed, side tables and desk); street side patio wasn't inviting (only 1 chair)
Location: Malecon only a block away; lots of shopping and dining in the area; a block from the ocean
This is a great little hotel, right on the Malecon! So close to everything! The staff there were fantastic! We loved the Coexist bistro on site, was nice to have a drink before bed. Happy Hour special was great, 2/1 every day late afternoon. The fellas made the most beautiful cappuccinos, attention to detail was fantastic. While the hotel is close to the water, the section it's on is rocky, you have to walk a little to get down to the sandy area where it's a bit more comfortable to swim.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington State

Great location, terribly uncomfortable room

Posted Feb 8, 2015
The hotel is located only one block east of the Boardwalk ("Malecon") and only six blocks north of a decent public beach (Playa de Los Muertos), and directly on a great bus line. The rooms, however, left much to be desired: extremely uncomfortable beds (I recommend removing the crinkly plastic liner between the mattress and sheet and either folding up a blanket for padding or purchasing an egg carton style mattress pad ($20 at WalMart there), few and terrible pillows (you can request more), a lot of street noise with little barrier from it (you might try requesting a room off the busy street, but the majority of the rooms are going to be quite loud), a strong sewage stench in the morning coming from bathroom drains (it helps to keep the bathroom door closed, as it is not a fun stench to wake up to and can overwhelm the roomm), and a TV with only one channel in English. Restraunt food was excellent with decent prices, but expect slow and inattentive wait staff service. Maid service and front desk staff were great. Overall, despite being young and usually having no problems with my back or sleeping through the night, I was unable to sleep three of my five nights here given the poor mattresses, stench and excessive noise, and my husband had difficulty as well. We will be staying elsewhere next time.