Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Great location. Good room. Great a/c. No elevator just in case you need for upper floors Nice bar by pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cabo san lucas

Buena ubicación, limpio buen precio

Posted Jul 12, 2015
excelente, conocimos y disfrutamos de caminar por el malecón que esta a solo una cuadra del hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Cons: Las habitaciones se pueden mejorar
Buen hotel, cerca de la playa, del malecon y los centros nocturnos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Normal, IL USA

clean, comfortable hotel with great views

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: great location, safe, clean
Cons: could use some updates aesthetically in the room
Location: malecon, shopping, eating, markets
If you're looking for a 5 star hotel this is not the place for you. This is a cozy and quaint hotel in the middle of the down town Puerto Vallarta. Location is just a block off the malecon. Great food north or south. Beds were comfortable, bathroom was clean. Rooms looked same as pics online. I can say the towels and bed sheets were stained but they were not dirty smelling. Air conditioning worked wonderfully. We were very pleased with our three night stay. It was a little weird that in the stair well they kept extra mattresses, but we figured they set up second beds in single bedroom rooms with these mattresses. We had a double queen room and this is what they did for our room. Re arranged the furniture to fit in two queen beds. It was a tight squeeze but we didn't go to Puerto Vallarta to sit around in our hotel room. It served it's purpose. The pool was clean and refreshing. The restaurant was not good, only ate there once and will review separately. Wifi was iffy... in and out but was free. No complaints overall. Friendly staff and we had nothing stolen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chihuahua

Hotel muy cómodo y excelente servicio

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: Que es un hotel cómodo bonito y con servicio de calidad, aparte muy cerca de la playa lo cual nos permitió disfrutar al maximo el precioso lugar
Cons: Es es perfecto aunque me gustaría que fuera mas grande
Location: Lugar hermoso, bastante comercio y paseos
Durante los dias que estuvimos fue muy placentero ya que el hotel cumplia con los requerimientos necesarios para una agradable estancia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Bc

Great spot!

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Three of us stayed comfortably for a week at the Rio Malecon and it was great! You can't beat the location, the staff were wonderful, the restaurant was delicious and the air conditioning was wonderfully aggressive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melaque, Jalisco, Mexico

Hotel with a nice location

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: Good location
Cons: Definitely could do better in the maintenance department
Location: Lots of (over priced) restaurants in the area
The hotel is a pleasant place to stay. Pretty good restaurant. Room had water damage from something leaky on the floor above that was never well patched.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great Hotel, good price!

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: AC Coexist Restaurant Comfy Beds Friendly Staff Good Prices
Cons: Just FYI the restaurant bar is not always open until 2am and can close before midnight.
Location: Location was great. Right downtown and within short walking distance to the Malecon boardwalk, the Flea Market, and the Romantic Zone Galleries.
Never been to Puerto Vallarta before and decided to split the trip and spend 3 days in old downtown and 3 days up at a resort in Nuevo Vallarta. My fiancee was definitely a little concerned about staying downtown and not a closed off resort while in Mexico. She was pleasantly surprised and loved being in the middle of everything. We chose the upgraded room which was very nice and the bed was actually more comfortable than the one at the resort. Our trip was at the very end of May which is at the end of tourist season and the weather was averaging between 85-90F degrees. This made the fact the hotel had AC in the rooms and in the restaurant downstairs very important and met a few locals at the restaurant hiding out from the afternoon heat and enjoying the extended happy hour. I loved the restaurant and actually some of the better food I had in PV and at a great price as well. Only con is they are right along the road which a lot of buses drive down causing some traffic noise. We live a block from the beach in San Diego and we are used to some noise but may bother someone who has a house out in the country somewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

Close to everything

Posted May 30, 2015
Excelent place to stay. Is close to all places during day and night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Muy buen precio con expedia, excelente ubicación

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Su ubicación.
Cons: No tienen estacionamiento, por lo que tienes que dejar tu auto o en la calle, lo cual es escaso, o en una pensión que cuesta $150 por día.
Tiene una excelente ubicación, puedes caminar al malecón tranquilamente. Los cuartos se ven nuevos, la piscina limpia y moderna. No me gustó que no tuviera estacionamiento y también cuando llegamos los cuartos estaban muy calientes y el aire acondicionado tardó en hacer efecto, pero lo demás muy bien, sobre todo porque casi no pasamos tiempo en la habitación.