Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Quiet and in the middle of everything

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Small with double pane glass (quiet) and in the center of town.
Cons: I stayed for 7 days and during my stay I noticed that one of the sheets was not changed daily.
Location: Great location.
My objective was to to get away yet find a place that is quiet and stress free. This Hotel Rio is about 1 block away from the well known Malecon, a long side walk next to the beach shore similar to Venice Beach, 3 blocks from the plaza, and 1-4 blocks away from local shopping markets. Also, the food was great at the Coexist Cafe, wich is part of the Hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carmen from Washington State USA

Great spot for a short stay

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Location, air conditioning
Cons: beds beds beds - better quality beds
Location: Super location!! EVERYTHING is steps away
Great to be right off the Malecon and step out into el Centro with shops, flea market, and great eats just steps away. Air conditioning in the room worked great once it got going. Beds too small and extremely hard. Nice little kitchette, very helpful front desk, and lovely little pool/restaurant area in the interior. Not sure I would stay again though with the uncomfortable beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LeftAtThePier from Minnesota

Good value, friendly staff

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: Good service, friendly staff, great value, quiet.
Cons: Softer beds, add coffee pots to room.
Location: This hotel is downtown and very, very close to the Malecon, which is the main draw in Puerto Vallarta. There are also many convenient shops nearby.
The staff were exceptionally pleasant to speak to, and will happily chat with you for a bit if you sit in the cafe downstairs. The hotel itself is nice and neat, with a little pool in the center and open air hallways. I stayed for two nights and found it extremely enjoyable. The location is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jessica from San Jose, CA

Location, Location, Location

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The Location and cleanliness of the hotel
Cons: WIFI signal can be improved. Parking space/garage is needed.
Location: It is right in the middle of everything malecon/beach
I love this hotel the front desk was very friendly and nice at c/i and c/o time. The hotel is one block from the beach/malecon. Unfortunately, my cellphone WIFI didn't work in the room but it did just outside of the room. Also we had rented a car and unfortunately in their description it says SELF PARKING we had assumed that they had some sort of parking space/garage, they didn't the front desk said we had to go looking for parking outside. There is a parking garage accross the street but they charge $2USD an hour, fortunately we were able to find parking right outside the hotel, and left it there for the duration of the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ponytail Jim from Mazatlan

Nice distance to beach

Posted Mar 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, very nice restaurant, just no parking if your driving, you have to park on street or in 25 peso a hour parking garage..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jamie from Ensenada, MX

It was the most enjoyable stay.

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and service and location is # 1 with us.They provided that. The hotel is in the right location to provide us with the entertainment.
Location: This location is a 1/2 a block from the Malacon and all the shopping you could ever want. We found numerous scrumptious places to eat and shop.
The staff was very accommodating to our every need. The restaurant food and staff were exceptional.We ate there most meals because we new what to expect after the 1st meal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: the friendly staff
Cons: adding lounging chairs instead of straight back would fit better as it is more relaxing. Also inroom safes would add a lot of convenience.
All in all we had a positive experience. Can't really say much more than we got up in the morning and left for the day and returned later to find that the room was made up and the floors were washed and fresh towels. its a hotel not an out of body experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chuck & Kathy from Princeton, Il

Nice, close to the beach

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Great little hotel, Friendly staff, excellent restaurant, great location in town. Will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location was perfect, close to the beach and close to the clubs. The restaurant had good food, good prices and service. I will be going back!! They did give me a cheap room when i payed for a nice room but the didn't hesitate to change their mistake!!