Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a nice but is right on the beach.

Posted Jun 11, 2014
The room was old and dirty. Upon arrival there were dirty floors and hair on the bathroom counter tops and showers. It was old and not very appealing, it looked nothing like the pics online.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It is a good hotel. Close to the beach.

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The location is great.
Cons: For the price people pays, the hotel definitely should modernize.
It is a good hotel with outstanding location. not gay friendly even if it close to the gay beach. I will consider stay in other hotel. Bed, pillows and bathroom are not confortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Peter from Denver

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was great except the front desk staff very very unhelpful and seemed to go out of their way to be unhelpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Could not have been more pleased

Posted May 10, 2014
Cons: Coffee and filters could have been provided.
Location: It's location is wonderful; close to shopping, restaurants, and the beach is beautiful. All beach activities are within arms length.
Desk personnel were so nice and went out of her way to answer questions about anything and everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location & price makes it work

Posted May 5, 2014
This hotel is located in a great spot if you like to walk and try new places to eat and drink. Tons of choices all within walking distance! Love the area and the hotel itself is clean and modest .... All that you need without the frills and prices to match. Not much help from staff but ...oh well, your in Mexico so enjoy the sights, food, culture and beautiful weather!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brenda from Calgary, AB

Nice hotel, friendly staff close to the Malecon

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Clean, right on the beach so we could hear the waves at night and watch the sunset.
Cons: Coffee in the room for the morning.
Location: Everything is near by if you like to walk, or just take a cab. The gay district is right there, which is fine they are very happy.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Tropicana, it is right on the beach and right near the old town area so we could walk everywhere. The room was nice, clean and we could hear the waves from our bed at night since we left all the windows open! It was fantastic. I will say the beds were rather firm, which is great for staying cool at night. There was air conditioning in the room but we don't like to use it. We had a junior suite so the room was big and there was a little kitchen with a full gas stove (but we didn't end up using it after all). There was bottled water down the hall for drinking. The only thing that was missing was coffee in the room for the morning. We will definitely stay at this hotel again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming, spacious and quiet

Posted May 1, 2014
Location: There are numerous restaurants, pharmacies, corner stores, massage parlours, jewelry stores and coffee shops in the area.
We enjoyed staying right on the beach at Hotel Tropicana. The staff were friendly and helpful. The grounds, lobbies, and restaurants were spacious and clean. There were a lot of stairs and levels, so you did have to watch your step. Our view was phenomenal. One of the staff provided us with a cooler, as we did not have a fridge.
2 out of 5
by Andre from Toronto

Beautiful views, if you are willing to pay extra

Posted Apr 29, 2014
The Tropicana is ideally situated, right on the beach, and rooms with beautiful ocean views. Unfortunately, I was forced to pay an extra 30 dollars a night for a room with a decent view. I booked a superior room which are indicated to have ocean views. The room they booked me into was on the first floor and while I could see the ocean, more prominent was the dirty shack and trucks parked right in front. I have heard and read reviews that this happens frequently at this hotel and this leads me to believe that this is a "scam" to coerce more money from their guests. I was not pleased. The hotel itself is clean and has a great pool, however the staff were not particularly friendly or helpful. I will not be staying here again.