Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Keep in mind the reviews when booking the hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: It was right on the beach
Cons: Everything
I read a few reviews and did not considered them-so my fault. The checking-in process was so long Benjamin was doing a million things while getting us checked in, not talking to us or communicating of why it was taking so long. When we finally got the room key they asked us to wait for someone to come help us to the room. Again, that was taking so long that we just started walking with our luggage to find the room our selfs. One of the workers ended up catching up with us and assisted us to the room. The T.V and clock in the room did not work. There was no hot water-this was on another review as well. I told one of the guys at the front desk of the issues and he just said he would report it to maintenance. This hotel is not soundproof- i don't think, it was so loud at night we could hear every noise from every corner, making it hard for us to sleep. We went to the restaurant and nothing seemed organized. The staff where not helpful or friendly and the food was mediocre. If I ever visit Puerto Vallarta again this hotel would Not be on my list of choice!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

Large decline in last 15 years

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: The service personnel (desk, baggage, room-service) were all very nice and attentive.
Cons: See main review - just about everything having to do with the food and the facility.
Location: The 'Romantic Zone' of Old Vallarta is interesting. The marina was our favorite location. Neuvo Vallarta Paradise Mall had very little going for it.
15 years ago, The Krystal was a wonderful resort, 5-star I thought, but unfortunately has declined greatly. Disappointments probably too many to mention all, but a few: the food onsite very disappointing - in the buffet, very bland, with same choices each morning (we had one unappetizing dinner there, then went elsewhere for remainder of the week). Service personnel were all good, and rooms were kept 'apparently' clean. But, I bring nightlights so we can get to the bathroom in the night - one of these was completely filled with bugs by end of stay - obviously, they live in the walls. Bed was broken-down. Went to the Kamakura our last night - promoted as Benihana-style Asian cuisine - turned out to be yet another bland, non-descript buffet. Best experiences were well away from the hotel, at the marina, where we had wonderful meals, and in Old Vallarta (Archie's Wok *highly* recommended).
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cd Juarez

Muy viejo

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Muy viejo, sucio, descuidado, pésimo Servicio de ama de llaves. Tardaron 2 días para cambiarme el microondas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great time

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: The staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. Perfect weather and great beach!
Cons: Dining variety in hotel, needs a swim up bar!
Location: Everything close by!
Although the hotel was a little dated, the staff more than made up for anything else that was lacking. Close to everything. Had a good time and thought it was a good value.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Stayed in a lot of places this one was the worst

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Didn't deliver on anything advertised all the way around
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Van. BC

Older room, seen better days...

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Needed a single night after we couldn't extend at the Riu. Room was clean however there was no hot water for a shower in the morning. Had called the front desk for maintenance to check it out, guy came out and magically hot water, after he left back to no hot water....The place is definitely in need of a spruce up.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Poor customer service

Posted Dec 6, 2014
My negative review is basically aimed at the poor customer service I received while checking in on Wednesday November 26th. The employee assisting to me was Benjamin. He was not much help when I told him I had booked together with a group and was hoping to have rooms close. He said no rooms were available and that accommodation is based on availability. He didn't, however, even check his computer to try and move things around to help us. His attitude was not pleasant and it was almost as if he was annoyed that I even asked. It was too much work for him to do. Horrible service by the staff at check in. This is when they are supposed to pamper and cater to the customer to set a pleasant first impression, however they lacked that completely. Management needs improvement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2014
overall great love old fashion building, great staff and clean very clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Granada Hills, CA

Dose of Iconic Puerto Vallarta!

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: It's on the beach for a great price!
Cons: They should have more lights all around the hotel!
Location: Catching the bus is easy and a must if you want to get around for a reasonable price.
The rooms are very roomy and comfortable rooms. The only thing is that the walkway paths should be a bit more lite up; as well as their pools for the guest. Pool bar closes early nothing to do after 8 pm if you're a night person.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Jalisco

Hotel económico

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Albercas
Cons: Mantenimiento a los edificios
Mala comunicación entre los encargados del hotel. Se ve abandonado el área de instalaciones cuartos. Las albercas están bien.