Ratings based on 531 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Trip!

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Service and staff were excellent from bottom up!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Check out Vallarta Adventures! great affordable activities, and get staff and service!
Actually got moved to Marival Residences (resort down the street). Great vacation, Great staff, not one single complaint about either Marival property! Service was amazing at both! Will go back for sure!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Friendly staff!

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Respond to emails regarding dinner reservations!
Location: Location was great! We mainly stayed at resort except for dolphin swim and zipline adventures!
Our late check in was fast and courteous. We had a 3 bedroom ocean front suite that was very nice and clean. It could use a little more d├ęcor! All staff, except the dinner reservation lady, were very courteous, polite, friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed are evening meals at LaPergola and Amalfi. Excellent service and delicious meals!!! The buffet food was ok. A lot of activities for all ages! Only negative was the constant locals selling there goods along the beach!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Nice hotel but old

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The all inclusive and the differentiated areas loud/quiet.
Cons: Rooms
Location: It's located on the beach but far from Puerto Vallarta. Nuevo Vallarta is 20 min away (more or less) from Puerto Vallarta. Taxi was 150 pesos.
It was a nice Hotel. The food was good. The staff good overall (except for one girl that told us we didn't pay to make reservations in the restaurants every night). The rooms were not bad, but need an upgrade. Just too old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Nice hotel and near the beach, too much wave

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Very good, ocean has too much wave and not blue like cancun
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine

Posted Jun 8, 2014
This resort is fine. Nothing to rave about and nothing to complain about. Food was consistently good. Service was good. Great for families. If you decide to book a massage I strongly recommend visiting the "spa" first. It's a hotel room with massage tables in it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Great hotel!

Posted Jun 7, 2014
It was our first time going to Puerto Vallarta. My family and I were very impressed with the Marival hotel. Everyone was extremely nice. The food was excellent, and having the beach next to us was amazing!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, Canada

Very disappointing

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: The staff were very pleasant.
Cons: The food was awful in all the buffet locations. Didn't like the forcefulness of the timeshare pitches. They even called us in our room!
This resort was a terrible disappointment to us, especially after having been recommended by three other families that we knew; however, after discussing our experience with them, we understand our stay may have been an anomaly. It was so incredibly busy and hectic, not relaxing at all - and LOUD. We were in one of the suite buildings, and had a series of issues with our room. We were surrounded by partiers the first night so it felt like elephants in our room (difficult with children sleeping), and we were drunk dialed about 5 times. Staff attempted to hold all calls but they kept coming through. After having our room changed on Day 2, another family was sent there which created another series of issues (our keys stopped working etc.). The food was horrible, it took about 20 minutes just to get seated at the buffet restaurant and then half the food was gone. I think if this stay was not the norm, this resort might have provided reasonable value, especially for families - but it wasn't the experience we were after. On Day 2, the concierge offered us an upgrade to the Marival Residences, their sister (4.5 star) resort up the road. THAT stay was phenomenal and more than made up for the issues we had in the first 1.5 days. Next time I would gladly pay to stay at the upgraded location and given this was our first all-inclusive, we will simply know for next time!
3 out of 5
by Don from Michigan

Poor 1st impression

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Food and waitstaff, entertainment.
Cons: Speed at check in and communication skills of staff. The bedding was not comfortable and the rooms could use some style.
Location: Plenty of opportunities to go on tours, charters, and exploration.
Arrived at hotel early, took 45min to check in with no rooms available until 3pm. Came back at 3pm, took an additional 60min to get room keys just to find out they had reserved the wrong room type. Not enough help at the front desk. Room was very plain and bed uncomfortable. Food was above average for an all inclusive. The pools were loaded with kids, the adult only pool did not have a swim up bar. Nightly entertainment was fun. Nice beach area. Looks like they are doing 1 day stays for local families do to the large volume of people checking in and out daily. Recommend going elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stephen from Edmonton, AB.

Nice all inclusive by the ocean.

Posted May 5, 2014
Cons: The internet is way too expensive and the airport taxi transfers at $27 per person should be avoided, when a cab ride for the family cost us $25.00.
Kid friendly pools. Lots of activities for the kids. Need to upgrade some of the sports equipment for mini golf and tennis. The internet is way too expensive. Buffets are quite good in variety and quality, however the sit down evening meals are of delicious fine cuisine and highly recommended. The Mexican show at the entertainment complex was first class, and they even had pinatta's for the kids to all attempt to break with candies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by CanColTravelr from Toronto, ON

Great for families, very close to the airport

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Natural Orange Juice at breakfast buffet
Cons: Vacation club sales people should tell straight what their aim is. Not tell you that they will give you info about the hotel which is available anyway
Location: Beachfront, great walks on the beach, water sports,
Natural Orange Juice for breakfast. Good a la carte restaurants, Lots of pools, including a children's pool, Children activities. If you are not interested in their vacation club just say no after your check in to the person who will give you "information" about the hotel