Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BC

Beautiful hotel with nice facilities.

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: Very clean and the rooms were a good size.
Wonderful place to take the family. Food was good and the staff were great. Lots of activities to do throughout the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent holiday

Posted Dec 15, 2014
The resort was beautiful!! Very comfy beds and beautiful rooms and awesome views. We ate at capers and it was pretty bad. We ate at the Asian/Japanese, the French and Mexican a la carte resteraunts and they were so delicious!!! Christian was a server by the pool and he was very friendly and such a great person to meet. It had a very relaxing pool side atmosphere with lots of daily activities. The beach front was well kept and the ocean was warm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Outstanding Hotel & Staff - Beach Questionable

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Restaurants did not require reservations, like most all inclusive properties do, which is great, no stressing about where to eat early in the day.
Cons: Now Amber and Secrets as one complex is not a good concept. It feels discriminatory in that you feel like the "have nots" while they are the "haves".
Location: Not a lot near by, but the tours we experienced were excellent, city tour, romantic dinner at an island, jungle zip line, etc.
We stayed two weeks at the Now Amber. Hotel facilities and staff are outstanding. Restaurants are excellent. Activities are numerous, varied and fun. Children's program appears to be outstanding - kids were seen in the pool, making crafts by the pool and dining at the buffet. Upon check-in we were strongly encouraged by the concierge to sign up for a 90 minute "loyalty" program pitch the next morning, which we reluctantly agreed to do. It was a very high pressure 90 minutes that we would never agree to again. As a +gold Expedia member, we received absolutely no upgrades or amenities at this hotel, we believe because we did not sign up for THEIR loyalty program. Beach in the back of the hotel starts off sandy, but quickly becomes gravel, then more rocky if you walk in either direction. Also, the beach experiences a strong rip-tide and there was a very faded red flag out every day we there because of the danger. The hotel seems to be doing what they can to improve the beach, but there's just so much they can do by moving sand around. Also did not like the Now Amber/Secrets complex concept. We clearly were the "have nots" at Now Amber while the "haves" were at Secrets. Would not stay at that type of hotel concept again. As in other reviews, the wi-fi was very, very sketchy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Grey Cup 2014

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Everything. Food was great and not the same repeat presentation as I have seen at other resorts
Location: Location was good. Walking distance to Malecon, banks near by with resturants and bars to enjoy if you were game to leave resort.
Great resort. Numerous pools with lot of choices of beer and drinks in bars and at pool. Great service, good location and great great upper lounges. The 2 upper outside lounges give you a great view of the pools below, the ocean and a nice cooling breeze. These lounges were alive and there was always people enjoying the relaxing comfort of the chairs and drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kelowna British Columbia

I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: The service is excellent, as the food, room etc. Best part is spending the morning on the beach.
Cons: My husband and I enjoy a drink before bedtime and #43 brandy and Grande Marnier Cognac was not available on our side.
Location: The location is excellent as we keep in touch with a Mexican family we have known for years and near the downtown within our walking distance.
We have been at Now Amber four times and will return in April & November. This year in April we went to Hawaii with regrets and should have gone to Now Amber. We love it there, service is great and we can relax. We love the family area and enjoy seeing the families on the beach. I do not like having to ask the concierge for permission to eat at Bordeaux French Restaurant on the secret side. Before we made our own reservation or last time no reservation was required. Overall experience is excellent and we would not stay anywhere else. As I mentioned before we have been going to Puerto Vallarta for at least 12 years and when Now Amber was built this is our home away from home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent place

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: food
Cons: Perhaps better nightly entertainment
Location: close to malecon , a bit of distance to marine but only a bus ride away
This place is nicely located and food/accomodations/entertainment was 5 star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom calgary, alberta

Beautiful resort on the beach and close to town.

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Great service, amazing food, beautiful resort. The only drawback was that we were on the 5th floor and could hear the staff moving the furniture to clean the floors in the middle of the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom McLaren Vale, South Astralia

Fantastic resort

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Facilities, cleanliness, friendly staff, views, close to town.
Cons: Beach was a bit rocky, staff were there each morning, moving buckets of sand to try and improve situation.
Location: Day tours, snorkeling, swimming with dolphins, Dinner cruises, shopping.
We were at Now Amber for our sons' wedding and could not have been happier, the staff were friendly and extremely accommodating at all times. All areas were clean and tidy, our room was comfortable, the many restaurants provided beautiful food and were happy to cater to the children in our group. This was our first experience at an all inclusive and we loved it. The hotel has an onsite Doctor, who could not have been more helpful when I needed to see him, even driving me to a medical center to have an Ultrasound, to exclude Thrombosis in my leg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Lovely hotel, close to beach

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The whole all inclusive experience, we felt so relaxed and enjoyed this experience for the first time very much indeed.
Cons: The heavy sell on the Unlimited Vacation Club, this is not for everyone.
Location: Rhythm of the night and town tour, plus Tequila factory visit.
My husband and I had a 5 day break here at this lovely hotel, where we were greeted by Fernando at the front desk with a complimentary glass of champagne and a friendly welcome. The hotel, food, staff and variety of excellent restaurants, was second to non, so no complaints there. My husband went out sea fishing and really enjoyed this experience, a little expensive but once in a lifetime experience. Lots of trips and excursions available if you are so inclined.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Great!

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: the food and most staff.
Cons: They need to make a connecting walk way from the pool level to both the hotels.
Amazing resort. only concern was the fact of the strict dress code for men. They make you wear pants at the french and italian restaurants. Also at the buffet, men had to wear t-shirts (no sleeveless tops!) How many pants and sweaters does one bring from Canada in 30 degree weather! it's too hot for pants! food was great! pool was awesome and Leonardo at the Now Amber side pool was the best! find him!