Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Beautiful hotel in a great location.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
My friend and I stayed at the Now Amber for two weeks this August. It is a beautiful hotel, very new and modern. The rooms are all junior suites with ocean views. They are large and very comfortable. The staff at the resort are outstanding, so friendly and go extra miles. The food was excellent with lots of choices. After 6pm, we could also go over to the Secrets adults only resort side and eat at the restaurants. I enjoyed the buffet too, lots of variety and delicious, fresh food everyday. There are also lots of activities and the activity staff outside at the pool are fabulous!! I can't wait to go back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

You can't avoid the relaxation

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The restaurants, the spa and gym facilities were all excellent but the Lobby bar with its sunset views was our absolute favorite.
We have been to a few Mexican resorts but this one wins as a result of the fantastic condition of the resort, friendly staff and food that exceeded our expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Nice place

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Very nice staff.When you first check in you are overwhelmed with hotel staff trying to set up appointments for time share previews and excursions.After this initial time during check in everything was great.The hotel itself is comparable to a 4 star hotel in the states.Good restaurants.Very quiet family atmosphere. Hotel has security for ingress egress
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Great Stay

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Location: I walked into town (about thirty minutes). Best to do this early in the morning, as the humidity is high.
Upon my arrival, staff let me know that I had been upgraded to the adults only side of the resort (Secrets). I stayed in the preferred club section and was very grateful for the upgrade. As a teacher, I really needed a break from kids. I really wanted my two-week stay to be relaxing. It was. The room was large and well laid out (the spacious shower, desk, chaise lounge, a well-stocked fridge, and king bed all hit the mark). The balcony had a jet tub, which was a pleasant surprise (I think these are available only on the preferred club side). I had a great view of the grounds (pools and palm trees), the ocean, and the sunset. The staff were excellent; very attentive. It wasn't long before the lovely hostesses at the restaurants knew my name. The staff--servers, hostesses, bartenders, concierges, and entertainment personnel--were all very pleasant, enthusiastic, and professional. I did yoga on the beach, swam in the ocean, worked out each day in gym (actually lost four pounds), and drank marguerites around the pool. Was initially worried about traveling to Mexico during the rainy season. It did rain, but only three of four times in the early evening or over night. So really, there was nothing to fret about. Met great people from the U. S. and Britain. Ate five times at the French restaurant; service and food...both superb. I travelled alone to Mexico. I felt very comfortable at Secrets. I would highly recommend this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best hotel and vacation I have ever had.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Better tv stations in am
I can not wIt to return to now amber hotel. Let me know if there are any upcoming specials. Noreen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The nicest resort I have stayed in!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Excellent food, service, rooms and pools!! I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

NOW Amber...

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Beautiful, modern hotel. Stunning mountain scenery. Great AC. No humid feel in rooms or waking up in bed feeling damp. The food is good but lacks variety/choices. The beach (sea bottom) is very, very rocky. The beachfront is narrow but nice. Depending on how quickly you "make friends" with the bartenders, drinks are great, or poor. No top shelf on the NOW side, only SECRETS, unless you "make friends." Pools are nice but small for the size of the hotel. All staff members are wonderful and attentive. A medium push at check in to join their vacation club. Overall, I would rate this hotel experience a 3.5 of 5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Upgraded Upon Arrival

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: We liked the exceptional service, the wonderful food and selection of food, the top brand liquors and beer/wine selection, canned soda -not fountain
Cons: I cannot think of anything to be improved upon.
Location: Numerous activities in Vallarta.
The moment we arrived the front desk staff upgraded us in to the Secrets resort. We are not sure why, and never asked any questions. Have been to numerous all-inclusive resorts that claim to be 5 start resorts. I now know they never came close to it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Welcoming staff in a relaxing, comfortable hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: comfort, ambiance, staff, food, everything
Cons: more responsive DJ at the disco who plays something other than techno and rap
Location: easy taxi/bus to main town or marina area with lots of good restaurants all kinds of adventure tours available this is not an isolated place
We have already booked to return as we just feel so good at this place. What do we like? no bracelets • no reservations needed at the many a la carte restaurants (except for Teppanyaki) • very good security • screen doors so you can listen to the waves with no bugs • iPod dock: not necessary, I know, but indicative of how they think of everything • the coffee shop • 24 hour room service included, and free wifi (if working) • hydrotherapy in the spa • disco • yoga and well-appointed gym • comfy beds • friendly, efficient, helpful staff • good food (above usual resort standard) • sound of waves and spectacular sunsets • music, beach/pool activities, nightly dance shows
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Great hotel with great food. Only bad part is that the beach is rocky.