Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, quiet resort

Posted Jul 23, 2014
I liked my experience . Clean rooms. Good food. Close beach. But it is a very quiet relaxing atmosphere. Don't expect loud music or a party atmosphere. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

Very nice, confortable, Good food hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Rooms are very nice, food amazing
Cons: Would be nice to have more restaurants a la carta
Location: We went downtown Vallarta, very nice place and easy to get there.
The food was Amazing, the room is modern, comfortable clean. The people is extremely nice. The only thing I don't like is that they "chase" you trying to sell you packages, other than that they are always helpful, with a big smile! The hotel has incredible views. I
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Nice hotel, but lacking.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Cleaning staff and rooms were awesome!! We loved the turn down service at night. I would recommend renting a car and exploring the mountains.
Cons: I wish the hotel had a friendlier more accommodating staff and that they would stop trying to push timeshare presentations on their guests.
Location: Location is beautiful! Not great for snorkeling, but perfect for sailing or deep sea fishing. The mountains are amazing and should be explored.
My husband and myself recently stayed at the Occidental. We came to Puerto Vallarta to renew our vows. We loved the area as a whole, but there are some things that have dampened my enthusiasm for Puerto Vallarta as well as for the hotel. If you love to haggle and barter, than this is place for you. If you enjoy timeshare presentations, than this is place for you. If you don't like either than don't come to Puerto Vallarta. I am of the persuasion of folks that does not really love to be sold, nor do I want to buy a timeshare, so I did not enjoy this aspect of our trip. Everywhere we went people were always trying to sell us something or get us to attend a timeshare presentation. No matter where we were; at our hotel, eating at a restaurant, on the beach, in town. Someone was always trying to sell something. I don't mind haggling when I'm buying something or when I am in the flea market district, but not when I am trying to relax at my hotel, walk on the beach or enjoy a meal. The worst part about the hotel is the fact that even the staff is actively trying to sell you a timeshare. They are abrasive and pushy and become very rude if you decline. Not what I want to experience at my hotel where I came get away from it all. The beach is beautiful at the hotel and goes on for miles along the coast. The food at the hotel is ok, but definitely caters to bland taste buds. You will need salt and pepper to say the least. The least helpful/accommodating staff I have ever experienced!!!
2 out of 5
by DA from Texas

Worst hotel experience, don't waste your money

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Beachfront
Cons: Air conditioning to be set up and ready when you are checked in. Food needs more variety,
Location: A plaza at a walking distance is very close by with a Starbucks, a grocery store and a small café which had great food!
Simply cannot understand how this hotel was given as an option. If you are going to arrive before 3 pm they will not provide your room until that exact time. Excuse was that the room was not ready even though this hotel was confirmed since March and had to wait in the lobby in the extreme heat being that it is out in the open with no AC. Had to be changed to another room the following day due to a water problem. Supposedly, was upgraded with a suite (with no AC). Reported the Ac problem since we moved in at 3, left to enjoy Vallarta and when I came back at 11pm room was still no AC. Given another room to spend the night. Went back to the room which according to them was fixed which was still the same temperature. Called an extension which they provided if the room "does not meet your expectations" and of course, no answer. Called again and was told they would send maintenance once again and demanded not to have them sent and to be changed to another room. Basically, was able to enjoy only a one day stay with no water or AC problems for one day as I we were to leave the following morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2014 by OGNV, Hotel Management
Dear DA, Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to hear you did not enjoy some nights stay with us due to the lack of air conditioned. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff work diligently to keep all facilities working in proper order and cleanliness. We assure you that we work around the clock in order to see that these problems are solved with the utmost urgency. We apologize for your unpleasant experience while staying with us; we would love another chance to show you the experience you deserve. Sincerely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johnson Creek WI

Wonderful staff

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Food was great, probably the best I've had at a resort. Staff is great! Everyone remembers your name.
Cons: Softer beds. Waiters at the pool. Free wi-fi
Location: Close to airport. Mall across the street. Starbucks and mc Donald's in mall with free wi-fi. Puerto Adventures is close for excursions.
Just got back from spending 10 nights at the Occidental. We had a wonderful time! This resort has a new manager, who has just been there for a week. She has started making some changes and the staff seems to be excited about it. I'm not for sure how old the resort is, it is in good shape, with some minor upkeep needed. They were tearing out bushes and doing some demolition while we were there. There is no swim up bar, but the bar is right next to the pool and beach. They do have name liquor, you have to ask for it by name or they will pour bar brand. I suggest taking an insulated cup as it is very hot there, and your drinks melt very fast. At this time they do not have any waiters around the pool or beach, but we were told that the new manager is going to start that soon. They do have lots of chairs at the pool and beach, so no one was getting up early to save chairs with towels as I have seen at other resorts. This is their slow season, or rainy season. There was not a lot of guest during the week, but on the week ends locals come for their vacations, so it gets busier then. You are able to swim in the ocean here, unlike Cabo, and the water was very warm. Sometimes the water has a little seaweed. The beach was really dirty with trash and other seaweed the first few days we were there, then it was cleaned up and stayed that way. The ocean here is not the touquoise color like Cancun, nor is it clear like Cancun, but there was some great boogie boarding, which is free.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Nice hotel,close to the beach nice rooms. Horrible customer service, the fridge of one of the rooms was not working for 2 days asked for towels never given to me. Too noisy other guest drunk running around the floors.staff not friendly n accessible. Food not so good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Liked the size of the resort.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Enjoyed my time there. Took advantage of some of the hotel activities- yoga and stretching classes, aqua gym, and the nightly shows.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs maintenance

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Cons: A/C, refrigerators and food.
We rented 5 different rooms and they all have a bad smell, some smelled like humidity. The A/C of 3 rooms weren't working which made it impossible to be there because it was very hot. Also most of the fridges in the room didn't work at all, so the sodas and waters were always warm. I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all. There are better hotels at the same price. If you can, avoid it.
1 out of 5
by Manu from Denver

Not as we expected!!

Posted May 29, 2014
I thought the occidental brand was suppose to be nice. Compared to its rating. I thought Nuevo Vallarta occidental was not at all nice. We we're suppose to stay there 4 nights, but we checked out the next day. The place is small, like 10 mins and you can go all around and come back. Not a lot of activity going on. Okay fine, that's not a problem. But the food, it's horrid! No variety and tasted old. Don't we come to mexico for the ambience and the food. It didn't have either. Why we checked out was because of customer service. I practically called room service like 5 times once arriving to have them fix the fridge. Hours later when they do come they said this is the coldest it gets. It was like just like the outside room temp. That's not okay when you child has major allergies and needs to put milk in the fridge. Then when we asked about food preparation, the kitchen and outside staff were not helpful at all. I'm being nice when writing this. I wouldn't go back. A vacation isn't suppose to be stressful!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2014 by OGNV, Hotel Management
Dear Manu, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please allow us to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We took all the necessary actions to correct and improve the areas that you mentioned to us; our mission is to exceed guest satisfaction and offer a personalized service. Hope you gave us another opportunity to show you our improvements.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by university grad from AB, Canada

Great location. Close to the beach. Airport, mall

Posted May 10, 2014
Had a great holiday with 4 other university friends everything was great! Just too bad the pool closes at 8pm. Would go back to this location for sure.