Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Holland, Mi

Occidental PV

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Relatively small hotel, well kept, friendly staff lots of lounge chairs at pools and beach, always had chairs available, not true at larger hotels.
Cons: Sound amplification is way too loud at shows and events. Updating outside continues, inside renovations appear to be complete. Don't buy WiFi.
Location: Beach is great, location convenient to casino, hospital, shopping center. Bit of a journey to town but lots to do at hotel, on beach, or near by.
Lots to do or just relax. Staff was amazingly helpful and accommodating. Entertainment every night ranging from magic to traditional dances. Food was excellent, lots of variety plus two speciality restaurants (Italian - climate controlled and an open air Mexican restaurant). Beach was huge and miles long, depth of water slowly increases, no big drop off so great for younger and elderly visitors who like to wade in the water. Nice waves for boogy boarding. Two lovely pool areas, one for adults only the other has shallow area for young kids and large activity pool. Lots of organized activities centered around the large pool plus a great series of free bicycle tours. Also, a kids club . Local buss to north side of town (Plaza Las Glorias) is a dollar and another local buss to the town center or the Romantic Zone is another dollar. Free WiFi at Starbucks across the street at shopping plaza. Excellent small hotel where you can really meet people if you want.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario, Canada

Close to Shopping and Directly on the Beach

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Location and close to shopping plaza. Easy to catch the bus or taxi to go in to town.
Cons: More towels in the room and better shampoo/bar soap.
Location: Close to local mall. Hard Rock Resort next door. Local craft Hut next to the hotel on the beach.
Check in was quick and easy. Hotel staff greeted us with a towel and a bottle of water. Booked an ocean view room and after 3 different rooms we managed to get the ocean view and pool view room. We were pleased with the surroundings and the grounds were well kept. The internet in the lobby was ok for free wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Québec

Bien, mais pas parfait!

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Donne accès directement sur la plage.
Les chambres sont propres et climatisées, la nourriture, tant au buffet qu'aux restaurant, est très bonne. Mais ils coupent un peu les coins ronds sur quelques détails: Verre sales ou avec le pied brisé, salsa déjà utilisé par d'autre client (reste des morceaux de "tostitos" dedans). Par contre, lorsque l'on montre ces petits éléments négatifs au personnel, ils remédient rapidement à la situation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom green bay wisconsin

Close to beach. Liked everything.

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Beach was awesome. Staff always friendly. Rooms clean. Will definitely go back to this resort. Have been in puerto vallarta/nuevo vallarta 8 times and definitely love the nuevo vallarta area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Like paradise! Excellent service, food, pools!

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Pools, beach and food
Location: Close to Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco and Bucerias. In front of a Mall where you can find ATM's, money exchange stores, clinic, souvenir stores.
Nice and clean rooms, great location, close to mall, airport and nearby towns. I spent great time at the beach and "La Noche Mexicana" was very enjoyable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

Very nice hotel , excellent staff and steps away f

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Very relaxing ambience.. Staff is super n so is the service.. Rooms are bit small but who cares? You will be in pool/ beach mostly ..highly recommended!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Manitoba Canada

Not worth the money I paid

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: the grounds were very nice.
Cons: many things could be improved - especially the temperature of the food
Location: location was great - on Banderas Bay
No welcome when arrived- had to bring own luggage. We good only go to the buffet when we arrived as we were required to reserve 24 hours in advance. Buffett food was cold for evening meal as well as for breakfast meal the following morning. Room did not have a clock nor a hair dryer. Although I did not ask nor upgraded for a view - we got the view of a parking lot. No straws were available in the bars for a mixed drink nor were the tables cleared etc in the lounge. We asked for a shot of tequila and they were not prepared to provide me the bottles to look at to make a decision. When we checked out - we received no bell boy service and were required to carry out suitcases down the stairs. In any event - i would not stay at this hotel again..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Liked the access to the beach

Posted Dec 16, 2014
But the staff could have been more friendly and attentive. Their sales team were a bit too pushy for my taste, kept hounding us to take thier condo tour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Beautiful beach and hotel, but they closed the beach bar. A lot of complaints of new pool bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Great short getaway.

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Right on the beach, close and easy access to the ocean. Friendly staff very accommodating. Restaurants have good food with a variety of options. Great ocean view room overlooking the beach, great sunsets.