Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great honeymoon location!

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Staff were so nice and friendly!
Location: Location is great, about a 10 minute walk from a pier which you need to check out for at least one sunset!
We went here for our honeymoon in August, we had great weather, food was awesome, and staff were so nice! Our beds were two singles put together, a bit uncomfortable but otherwise the room was perfect! All the buffets and a la cartes were so good! The only nuisance was the birds that fly around and land on your tables at the buffet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Im sure there is better out there!

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Location: Canopy River Zip-lining & Marietta Island tour was amazing - great value Make sure to book w/ the guy in the orange shirt sitting in the lobby
The resort was okay. Not much to do at all on the resort itself. Rooms were decent, nothing great about them. If you decide to stay here get the deluxe royal club deal. The staff is much nicer and willing to work with you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C.A.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Great hotel, excellent staff, if anyone said other they are a Damm sensitive princess
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lake balboa, ca

Friendly staff! Walking distance to the beach.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The staff was always very friendly. There's remodeling going on but wasn't much of a bother to us. Small resort, need more staff the rooms are ok but I felt the beds were too hard. I read a lot of complaints about the noise, we didn't experience much noise except on karaoke night... Very loud but it was over by 1am so no biggie. The adult pool needs it's own bar!!!! I would compare it to staying at the Luxor in Vegas not the best hotel but definitely not the worst great for the price, decent food, great location and very family friendly. If your single and out there to party it up this Is probably not the best resort for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver bc

A great experience

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Convenient location in Nuevo Vallarta, close to tour companies and airport. Great beach, all sand no rocks like downtown. Staff were super attentive and a lot of fun. Food was great - selection including seafood, marlin, steak, roast beef, traditional foods, fruit, pastries etc. At least 50 choices for the buffet each day. No complaints.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Poor service. Hotel rooms loud and need improvement. I would not recommend hotel, but the area is nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by OGNV, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for the time you have dedicated to review Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta . Your feedback is very important to us, we truly regret that we couldn't meet your expectations, let us express our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your comments are very appreciated and are useful to improve our services. We look forward that on your next visit to Nuevo Vallarta you can give us the opportunity to reestablish your confidence in Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta. Sincerely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton,alberta

Beautiful hotel! Clean and comfortable

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: I didn't like that Sergio repeatedly asked me to come to the 90 minute managers meeting every time I came in the lobby...
Location: The location is perfect... Just close enought to the markets
We had a wonderful stay... The staff was amazing... Big thanks to Juan, Gaguiurmo, and Daniel for making our stay amazing! The rooms were always clean and we appreciated the extras! (Swans made of towels) The food was delicious! Always hot and ready... The Italian restaurant was amazing for our friends birthday... All in all a good stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from laredo texas

Nice hotel could be better

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Good staff, terrible when we got there that there was no Air condition in any of the restaurants , lobby, and lounge very hot weather and don't like the idea of having breakfast , lunch and dinner sweating all the time , but nice rooms friendly people and fair to good service
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by OGNV, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback about your experience at Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations; please accept our most sincere apologies.Please be sure that your concerns will be shared with our management. Warm Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, quiet resort

Posted Jul 23, 2014
I liked my experience . Clean rooms. Good food. Close beach. But it is a very quiet relaxing atmosphere. Don't expect loud music or a party atmosphere. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

Very nice, confortable, Good food hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Rooms are very nice, food amazing
Cons: Would be nice to have more restaurants a la carta
Location: We went downtown Vallarta, very nice place and easy to get there.
The food was Amazing, the room is modern, comfortable clean. The people is extremely nice. The only thing I don't like is that they "chase" you trying to sell you packages, other than that they are always helpful, with a big smile! The hotel has incredible views. I