Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton,alberta

Beautiful hotel! Clean and comfortable

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: I didn't like that Sergio repeatedly asked me to come to the 90 minute managers meeting every time I came in the lobby...
Location: The location is perfect... Just close enought to the markets
We had a wonderful stay... The staff was amazing... Big thanks to Juan, Gaguiurmo, and Daniel for making our stay amazing! The rooms were always clean and we appreciated the extras! (Swans made of towels) The food was delicious! Always hot and ready... The Italian restaurant was amazing for our friends birthday... All in all a good stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from laredo texas

Nice hotel could be better

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Good staff, terrible when we got there that there was no Air condition in any of the restaurants , lobby, and lounge very hot weather and don't like the idea of having breakfast , lunch and dinner sweating all the time , but nice rooms friendly people and fair to good service
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by OGNV, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback about your experience at Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations; please accept our most sincere apologies.Please be sure that your concerns will be shared with our management. Warm Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, quiet resort

Posted Jul 23, 2014
I liked my experience . Clean rooms. Good food. Close beach. But it is a very quiet relaxing atmosphere. Don't expect loud music or a party atmosphere. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

Very nice, confortable, Good food hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Rooms are very nice, food amazing
Cons: Would be nice to have more restaurants a la carta
Location: We went downtown Vallarta, very nice place and easy to get there.
The food was Amazing, the room is modern, comfortable clean. The people is extremely nice. The only thing I don't like is that they "chase" you trying to sell you packages, other than that they are always helpful, with a big smile! The hotel has incredible views. I
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Nice hotel, but lacking.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Cleaning staff and rooms were awesome!! We loved the turn down service at night. I would recommend renting a car and exploring the mountains.
Cons: I wish the hotel had a friendlier more accommodating staff and that they would stop trying to push timeshare presentations on their guests.
Location: Location is beautiful! Not great for snorkeling, but perfect for sailing or deep sea fishing. The mountains are amazing and should be explored.
My husband and myself recently stayed at the Occidental. We came to Puerto Vallarta to renew our vows. We loved the area as a whole, but there are some things that have dampened my enthusiasm for Puerto Vallarta as well as for the hotel. If you love to haggle and barter, than this is place for you. If you enjoy timeshare presentations, than this is place for you. If you don't like either than don't come to Puerto Vallarta. I am of the persuasion of folks that does not really love to be sold, nor do I want to buy a timeshare, so I did not enjoy this aspect of our trip. Everywhere we went people were always trying to sell us something or get us to attend a timeshare presentation. No matter where we were; at our hotel, eating at a restaurant, on the beach, in town. Someone was always trying to sell something. I don't mind haggling when I'm buying something or when I am in the flea market district, but not when I am trying to relax at my hotel, walk on the beach or enjoy a meal. The worst part about the hotel is the fact that even the staff is actively trying to sell you a timeshare. They are abrasive and pushy and become very rude if you decline. Not what I want to experience at my hotel where I came get away from it all. The beach is beautiful at the hotel and goes on for miles along the coast. The food at the hotel is ok, but definitely caters to bland taste buds. You will need salt and pepper to say the least. The least helpful/accommodating staff I have ever experienced!!!
2 out of 5
by DA from Texas

Worst hotel experience, don't waste your money

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Beachfront
Cons: Air conditioning to be set up and ready when you are checked in. Food needs more variety,
Location: A plaza at a walking distance is very close by with a Starbucks, a grocery store and a small café which had great food!
Simply cannot understand how this hotel was given as an option. If you are going to arrive before 3 pm they will not provide your room until that exact time. Excuse was that the room was not ready even though this hotel was confirmed since March and had to wait in the lobby in the extreme heat being that it is out in the open with no AC. Had to be changed to another room the following day due to a water problem. Supposedly, was upgraded with a suite (with no AC). Reported the Ac problem since we moved in at 3, left to enjoy Vallarta and when I came back at 11pm room was still no AC. Given another room to spend the night. Went back to the room which according to them was fixed which was still the same temperature. Called an extension which they provided if the room "does not meet your expectations" and of course, no answer. Called again and was told they would send maintenance once again and demanded not to have them sent and to be changed to another room. Basically, was able to enjoy only a one day stay with no water or AC problems for one day as I we were to leave the following morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2014 by OGNV, Hotel Management
Dear DA, Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to hear you did not enjoy some nights stay with us due to the lack of air conditioned. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff work diligently to keep all facilities working in proper order and cleanliness. We assure you that we work around the clock in order to see that these problems are solved with the utmost urgency. We apologize for your unpleasant experience while staying with us; we would love another chance to show you the experience you deserve. Sincerely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johnson Creek WI

Wonderful staff

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Food was great, probably the best I've had at a resort. Staff is great! Everyone remembers your name.
Cons: Softer beds. Waiters at the pool. Free wi-fi
Location: Close to airport. Mall across the street. Starbucks and mc Donald's in mall with free wi-fi. Puerto Adventures is close for excursions.
Just got back from spending 10 nights at the Occidental. We had a wonderful time! This resort has a new manager, who has just been there for a week. She has started making some changes and the staff seems to be excited about it. I'm not for sure how old the resort is, it is in good shape, with some minor upkeep needed. They were tearing out bushes and doing some demolition while we were there. There is no swim up bar, but the bar is right next to the pool and beach. They do have name liquor, you have to ask for it by name or they will pour bar brand. I suggest taking an insulated cup as it is very hot there, and your drinks melt very fast. At this time they do not have any waiters around the pool or beach, but we were told that the new manager is going to start that soon. They do have lots of chairs at the pool and beach, so no one was getting up early to save chairs with towels as I have seen at other resorts. This is their slow season, or rainy season. There was not a lot of guest during the week, but on the week ends locals come for their vacations, so it gets busier then. You are able to swim in the ocean here, unlike Cabo, and the water was very warm. Sometimes the water has a little seaweed. The beach was really dirty with trash and other seaweed the first few days we were there, then it was cleaned up and stayed that way. The ocean here is not the touquoise color like Cancun, nor is it clear like Cancun, but there was some great boogie boarding, which is free.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Nice hotel,close to the beach nice rooms. Horrible customer service, the fridge of one of the rooms was not working for 2 days asked for towels never given to me. Too noisy other guest drunk running around the floors.staff not friendly n accessible. Food not so good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Liked the size of the resort.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Enjoyed my time there. Took advantage of some of the hotel activities- yoga and stretching classes, aqua gym, and the nightly shows.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs maintenance

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Cons: A/C, refrigerators and food.
We rented 5 different rooms and they all have a bad smell, some smelled like humidity. The A/C of 3 rooms weren't working which made it impossible to be there because it was very hot. Also most of the fridges in the room didn't work at all, so the sodas and waters were always warm. I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all. There are better hotels at the same price. If you can, avoid it.