Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Riley from Chicago, IL, USA

Everything you need for a quiet beach vacay

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Loved the staff!!
Cons: There's no free wifi anywhere at this resort but you can mooch off of the Hard Rock Hotel's next door. It's nice to be off the grid sometimes though.
Location: The town of Puerto Vallerta is about a 20min bus ride away so we never ventured there but they had a little mall about a 2 min walk from the hotel.
Came here on a short vacation with a friend and it was everything we could have wanted. The resort, while on the smaller side was very nice and clean. It was busy enough to be exciting and fun and to make friends, but not too busy and you could always find a good chair on the beach or by the pool. The entire staff made our trip so great! We became friends with everyone from the bartenders, to the activity staff, to the photographers. Everyone was so friendly and willing to help and accommodate anything we needed. There is so much to do at the hotel. We played water volleyball, did water aerobics, sang karaoke, learned traditional Mexican dances, paddle boarded, and so much more. The Mexican restaurant was definitely the better of the two restaurants but the Italian restaurant and the buffet were still very good.
4 out of 5
by a&d from Minneapolis, MN

Great beach

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Well, overall it was nice but I really liked the new renovations they had with the modern somewhat Mexican touch. The Italian restaurant was great. Nice staff. They should update the outside though. It doesn't match the inside of the hotel at all.
3 out of 5
by Barguy from Canada

Great location

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Staff, staff, staff and location.
Cons: Food, breakfast, lunch, snack and dinner.
Location: Best beach in Vallarta, mini mall across the street. $12 cab ride to just about anywhere.
Went here for a week. April 2-9 2014. Went to Barcelo in January and was going to go back but this trip I wanted something near local attractions. I must say that the staff really make this place. They learn your name and what you like and dont, very impressive. I was a little disappointed with my room as I had requested a smoking room which do not exist in the hotel unless you have a balcony which they did move me to after the first night. The rooms are standard hotel rooms, maybe a bit on the small side but well appointed and comfortable. By far the biggest disappointment was the food. It was mediocre at best and sometimes just awful. At Barcelo the food is amazing so maybe I was spoiled.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Northern United States

Great value

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Great value, we paid less than 2 grand for 2 people for one week including airfare from Wisconsin. food- very good, happy employees, nice little gym.
Cons: Try to accommodate more people at 2 ala carte restaurants by turning the tables faster by adding additional waiters.
Location: Easy to get free WIFI from Starbucks, restaurants, hotel next door. Casino across the street was fun and safe, many fun tours/activities available
Nice clean resort on a beautiful beach where you can walk for miles! Enjoyed the Adults only pool even though the resort did not have an overabundance of children. Ocean is great for boogie boards but could be difficult to swim in as they have consistently larger waves. 2 ala carte restaurants were both excellent and even the buffet was done very well each day. very nice selection of food. Ignore the people who complained about the food or a repeat of entrees, it is not true. Do not miss the beach party night. Grilled steak, fish, chicken, vegetables, along with a complete buffet, music, dancing, fireworks. It takes them almost an entire day to set it up. We always had towels available and never had a problem with finding a chair on the beach or around the pools. We were there 3/27/14-4/3/14) Drinks were served the way you wanted them and they had most brands available. The employees really make this resort as ALMOST everyone of them did their job with a smile. We tipped at each meal, bartenders, maids, etc. and we were ALWAYS thanked for the small amount of money (few dollars is very welcomed just like in the States the tip money helps them to pay their bills as well) It is not required, but if you can afford to take a trip then we should be able to afford a little tip money! This is a nice 3 star resort and we found that our fellow resort tourists were enjoyable to be with.
2 out of 5
by antonio from southern ca

Needs urgent renovation too many broken chairs on

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Needs more beach chairs and new ones room had very smelly odor I reported and was not corrected effectly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by =^._.^=

occidental nuevo vallarta

Posted Mar 10, 2014
i love this resort, and have been there at least 9 times. always a great vacation! no complaints :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location and very kind staff.

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Attention from the staff, location and variety of food, in that order.
Cons: Schedules to serve meals at the different places inside the property. There are gaps in service between them.
Location: Visit Sayulita, San Francisco and Punta de Mita where are beaches more beautiful than in the location where the property is.
Very good property from the location and kindness of the staff, overall conditions of facilities are good, beds are comfortable, bathroom is good and variety of food is extense. A couple of drawbacks are 1) the schedule to serve food since there is no overlapping when one restaurant stops serving and others should be working, there are gaps where you have to wait since one site stop serving until the other starts doing so and 2) there is only one ATM inside the property and it delivers only US dollars instead of local currency so if you need cash you have to exchange money somewhere else or walk a couple squares to the mall nearby where there is a bank. Parking lot is free and it worths to rent a car to go to Sayulita, San Francisco and Punta de Mita, small towns with better beaches and typical atmosphere if you like surfing, kitesurfing or enjoy a sunset departing with local people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Haile from Cincinnati

Excellent service by all staff members.

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: The service and hospitality was impressive day-in and day-out.
Cons: None. All we can say is keep it up.
Location: The location is conveniently located for walking, swimming and soaking the sun. In addition, various organized trips are available.
We enjoyed the hotel location being close to the ocean and convenience to relax in many ways including walking by the ocean, sitting by the swimming pool and staying in our room. We loved the outstanding hospitality and services by the hotel manager and staff, particularly by those who served us in the cafeteria, cleaned our room and the receptionists that welcomed us and treated us well. We enjoyed the performances/activities provided every night. Last but not least we enjoyed the healthy food variety offered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wish we could've stayed longer!!!!

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: Everything!!
I’ll keep it short and sweet...My girlfriend and I stayed here for 5 days and we had a wonderful time. This hotel is the absolute best; from accommodations, to food, service, and cleanliness. It is just amazing on every level. The hotel staffs are very friendly and are always helpful and smiling. Both the beach and pool areas are very beautiful and always kept clean. Everything was top notch. Can think of nothing that would have made this mini vacation any better. Would definitely come back! :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by K/M from Bend, Oregon

Very friendly, helpful staff.

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: The incredibly helpful staff, even when we didn't speak the same language. Beautiful and clean beaches. Nice variety of food offered.
Cons: Maybe a quiet spot somewhere, no loud activities going on behind the adult pool. Also, I'm not sure why people can 'reserve' a beach chair all day.
Location: Walk up the beach for a massage. Walk over to pick up a water taxi for Puerto Vallarta tours. Walk to Starbucks for Wifi ;-(
We were very happy with our stay. The staff was very helpful and friendly, went out of their way to see that we were happy. The rooms were large and clean. The buffet had enough variety that everyone should be able to find something to make them happy.