Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Great hotel, staff and food. Wish the wifi wouldve been free and that schedule of activities (theatre show, yoga, karaoke) would ve been posted in the lobby or elevators.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Oct 16, 2014
My family total 6 people stayed in Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta for three night four days. We had a good time. Every thing is good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Close to beach

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Hotel is remodeled but still shows some age. Would have been better without the staff continuously asking us to join the time-share. Beach sand was slightly more dirt than sand. Staff was very responsive. Buffet was slightly different nightly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

Ok stay

Posted Oct 5, 2014
The hotel staff was friendly/great and very helpful. Our room was nce and cold and we had an ok view of the ocean ( the palm trees blocked some of the view) the food seem to be about the same everyday at the buffet so I recommend that you make reservations at the Italian and Mexican restaurant there. The adult pool was not so great. Had no view of the ocean, no music, no swim up bar which meant we had to get out of pool to get our drinks. Beach area was nice but the vendors from the hotel flea market were very persistent, the same guy came up to me about 6 times. The shows at night were just ok, there needs to be more crowd involvement. Overall it was an ok stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great honeymoon location!

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Staff were so nice and friendly!
Location: Location is great, about a 10 minute walk from a pier which you need to check out for at least one sunset!
We went here for our honeymoon in August, we had great weather, food was awesome, and staff were so nice! Our beds were two singles put together, a bit uncomfortable but otherwise the room was perfect! All the buffets and a la cartes were so good! The only nuisance was the birds that fly around and land on your tables at the buffet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Im sure there is better out there!

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Location: Canopy River Zip-lining & Marietta Island tour was amazing - great value Make sure to book w/ the guy in the orange shirt sitting in the lobby
The resort was okay. Not much to do at all on the resort itself. Rooms were decent, nothing great about them. If you decide to stay here get the deluxe royal club deal. The staff is much nicer and willing to work with you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C.A.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Great hotel, excellent staff, if anyone said other they are a Damm sensitive princess
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lake balboa, ca

Friendly staff! Walking distance to the beach.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The staff was always very friendly. There's remodeling going on but wasn't much of a bother to us. Small resort, need more staff the rooms are ok but I felt the beds were too hard. I read a lot of complaints about the noise, we didn't experience much noise except on karaoke night... Very loud but it was over by 1am so no biggie. The adult pool needs it's own bar!!!! I would compare it to staying at the Luxor in Vegas not the best hotel but definitely not the worst great for the price, decent food, great location and very family friendly. If your single and out there to party it up this Is probably not the best resort for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver bc

A great experience

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Convenient location in Nuevo Vallarta, close to tour companies and airport. Great beach, all sand no rocks like downtown. Staff were super attentive and a lot of fun. Food was great - selection including seafood, marlin, steak, roast beef, traditional foods, fruit, pastries etc. At least 50 choices for the buffet each day. No complaints.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Poor service. Hotel rooms loud and need improvement. I would not recommend hotel, but the area is nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by OGNV, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for the time you have dedicated to review Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta . Your feedback is very important to us, we truly regret that we couldn't meet your expectations, let us express our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your comments are very appreciated and are useful to improve our services. We look forward that on your next visit to Nuevo Vallarta you can give us the opportunity to reestablish your confidence in Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta. Sincerely