Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C.A.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Great hotel, excellent staff, if anyone said other they are a Damm sensitive princess
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lake balboa, ca

Friendly staff! Walking distance to the beach.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The staff was always very friendly. There's remodeling going on but wasn't much of a bother to us. Small resort, need more staff the rooms are ok but I felt the beds were too hard. I read a lot of complaints about the noise, we didn't experience much noise except on karaoke night... Very loud but it was over by 1am so no biggie. The adult pool needs it's own bar!!!! I would compare it to staying at the Luxor in Vegas not the best hotel but definitely not the worst great for the price, decent food, great location and very family friendly. If your single and out there to party it up this Is probably not the best resort for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver bc

A great experience

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Convenient location in Nuevo Vallarta, close to tour companies and airport. Great beach, all sand no rocks like downtown. Staff were super attentive and a lot of fun. Food was great - selection including seafood, marlin, steak, roast beef, traditional foods, fruit, pastries etc. At least 50 choices for the buffet each day. No complaints.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Poor service. Hotel rooms loud and need improvement. I would not recommend hotel, but the area is nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by OGNV, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for the time you have dedicated to review Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta . Your feedback is very important to us, we truly regret that we couldn't meet your expectations, let us express our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your comments are very appreciated and are useful to improve our services. We look forward that on your next visit to Nuevo Vallarta you can give us the opportunity to reestablish your confidence in Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta. Sincerely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton,alberta

Beautiful hotel! Clean and comfortable

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: I didn't like that Sergio repeatedly asked me to come to the 90 minute managers meeting every time I came in the lobby...
Location: The location is perfect... Just close enought to the markets
We had a wonderful stay... The staff was amazing... Big thanks to Juan, Gaguiurmo, and Daniel for making our stay amazing! The rooms were always clean and we appreciated the extras! (Swans made of towels) The food was delicious! Always hot and ready... The Italian restaurant was amazing for our friends birthday... All in all a good stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from laredo texas

Nice hotel could be better

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Good staff, terrible when we got there that there was no Air condition in any of the restaurants , lobby, and lounge very hot weather and don't like the idea of having breakfast , lunch and dinner sweating all the time , but nice rooms friendly people and fair to good service
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by OGNV, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback about your experience at Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations; please accept our most sincere apologies.Please be sure that your concerns will be shared with our management. Warm Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, quiet resort

Posted Jul 23, 2014
I liked my experience . Clean rooms. Good food. Close beach. But it is a very quiet relaxing atmosphere. Don't expect loud music or a party atmosphere. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

Very nice, confortable, Good food hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Rooms are very nice, food amazing
Cons: Would be nice to have more restaurants a la carta
Location: We went downtown Vallarta, very nice place and easy to get there.
The food was Amazing, the room is modern, comfortable clean. The people is extremely nice. The only thing I don't like is that they "chase" you trying to sell you packages, other than that they are always helpful, with a big smile! The hotel has incredible views. I
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Nice hotel, but lacking.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Cleaning staff and rooms were awesome!! We loved the turn down service at night. I would recommend renting a car and exploring the mountains.
Cons: I wish the hotel had a friendlier more accommodating staff and that they would stop trying to push timeshare presentations on their guests.
Location: Location is beautiful! Not great for snorkeling, but perfect for sailing or deep sea fishing. The mountains are amazing and should be explored.
My husband and myself recently stayed at the Occidental. We came to Puerto Vallarta to renew our vows. We loved the area as a whole, but there are some things that have dampened my enthusiasm for Puerto Vallarta as well as for the hotel. If you love to haggle and barter, than this is place for you. If you enjoy timeshare presentations, than this is place for you. If you don't like either than don't come to Puerto Vallarta. I am of the persuasion of folks that does not really love to be sold, nor do I want to buy a timeshare, so I did not enjoy this aspect of our trip. Everywhere we went people were always trying to sell us something or get us to attend a timeshare presentation. No matter where we were; at our hotel, eating at a restaurant, on the beach, in town. Someone was always trying to sell something. I don't mind haggling when I'm buying something or when I am in the flea market district, but not when I am trying to relax at my hotel, walk on the beach or enjoy a meal. The worst part about the hotel is the fact that even the staff is actively trying to sell you a timeshare. They are abrasive and pushy and become very rude if you decline. Not what I want to experience at my hotel where I came get away from it all. The beach is beautiful at the hotel and goes on for miles along the coast. The food at the hotel is ok, but definitely caters to bland taste buds. You will need salt and pepper to say the least. The least helpful/accommodating staff I have ever experienced!!!
2 out of 5
by DA from Texas

Worst hotel experience, don't waste your money

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Beachfront
Cons: Air conditioning to be set up and ready when you are checked in. Food needs more variety,
Location: A plaza at a walking distance is very close by with a Starbucks, a grocery store and a small café which had great food!
Simply cannot understand how this hotel was given as an option. If you are going to arrive before 3 pm they will not provide your room until that exact time. Excuse was that the room was not ready even though this hotel was confirmed since March and had to wait in the lobby in the extreme heat being that it is out in the open with no AC. Had to be changed to another room the following day due to a water problem. Supposedly, was upgraded with a suite (with no AC). Reported the Ac problem since we moved in at 3, left to enjoy Vallarta and when I came back at 11pm room was still no AC. Given another room to spend the night. Went back to the room which according to them was fixed which was still the same temperature. Called an extension which they provided if the room "does not meet your expectations" and of course, no answer. Called again and was told they would send maintenance once again and demanded not to have them sent and to be changed to another room. Basically, was able to enjoy only a one day stay with no water or AC problems for one day as I we were to leave the following morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2014 by OGNV, Hotel Management
Dear DA, Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to hear you did not enjoy some nights stay with us due to the lack of air conditioned. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff work diligently to keep all facilities working in proper order and cleanliness. We assure you that we work around the clock in order to see that these problems are solved with the utmost urgency. We apologize for your unpleasant experience while staying with us; we would love another chance to show you the experience you deserve. Sincerely