Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bedford, TX

Not the worst, not the greatest

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Friendly statf, Rigo the bartender was absolutely great and friendly!
Cons: Keep the pool bars open later. Need more activities at night. You can hear the next hotel having a good time with a DJ while the Pelicanos is quiet.
Location: Not too much to do in the immediate area.... That i was told about.
Overall it was ok. My first time at an all inclusive place. Staff was very friendly and overall the place was kept clean. About a one minute walk to the beach (which is kept clean). Pool bar closes at 6 and the beach-side pool bar closes at 8. After that, its only the bar inside the hotel. Food was decent, nothing to write home about. Best food was at breakfast at the omlet station. Not much to do in the immediate hotel area once the pool bar closes at 6. Just a heads up, you get a discount on activities (i.e. Swim with dolphins, zip line) if you tour a timeshare with their sister properties (which are far nicer resorts). No pressure to buy, just listen to their pitch, eat their breakfast, and the discount is yours. Next time i want all-inclusive, i know what to look for in order to have a better time. But this place was good for first time, all by myself, and new experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mary OBfrom DURANGO. DGO., MÉX.

Excelente Estancia en Hotel Pelicanos Club Beach

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excelente nuestra estancia en este hotel, muy placentera con todo lo que necesitábamos para vacacionar con nuestros hijos. Gracias por su hospitalidad.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tepic, Nayarit

El hotel fue agradable lla comida excellente

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: La comida, y la comida del Restaurant Italiano, felicidades chef. Siga asi.
Cons: Lo del wifi
Location: Bastantes actividades y entretenimientos.
El hotel muy comodo y sus instalaciones bien distribuidas, nada mas que no hay internet o wifi como se dijo y que habia en different partes del Hotel, tienes que contratar y aun asi no hubo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LuLufrom Arkansas

Hotel was good, just what we needed.

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: New pillows in the rooms,,,,,,
Arrived and were greeted by the most friendly of staff. The room was okay, the usual, but very clean. Don't spend anytime in there anyway, just to sleep. The bottled water was great and to have the opportunity to re-fill your bottle at no charge was a definite plus !! The buffet was always great and open for a good amount of time. Loved the beach club, right on the beach, the snack bar had everything you would want all day long. The entertainment staff was exceptional. We had so much fun doing all the things they offered, free of charge. The kayaks were the bomb - so much fun! The Friday & Saturday entertainment was exceptionally good !! Also enjoyed the buffet @ the beach resort on the ocean. All in all, this place is the best bang for your buck, we had a large time !! Would definitely go back !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decepcionante

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: La habitacion
La comida decepcionante, la bebida, los niños salpicando por todo el bar de la alberca.
3 out of 5
by Sophiafrom California

It was alright but wouldn't return

Posted Apr 13, 2014
The pictures that they have on are not of the Plaza Pelicanos CLUB Beach Resort. They are of the other hotels owned by the same company, a majority of them are the hotel you don't have any access to. The hotel doesn't have beach access you have to cross a parking to the Plaza Pelicanos GRAND Beach Resort to access the beach there. The sandy part of the beach is very narrow. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you are going with small children. The water gets deep very quickly and where it's shallow there are a lot of rocks and the waves hit you quite hard. My room was very nice and clean. They only give you a sheet, you can ask for a blanket. My room didn't have a safe, but they advertise that they have safes. The air conditioning is weird too. When you have it on, it just keeps going and going, it never stops and it quite loud. So the room just gets colder and colder rather than staying at the temperature you set it for. The food was nothing to get excited about. It was mostly things that weren't that good but some good things here and there. They also have snacks available by the pool which were also ok. If you are really into food, I wouldn't come here. I didn't interact much with the staff, but they were always polite and attentive. In general, the pool and other parts of the hotel were a little on the old side, nothing awful. I do have my stay my room was very nice. I had a good time and it was fine, but I would not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2014
excellent hotel,nice staff...my children love the pool
2 out of 5
by Cynthiafrom Orange County

Not very pleased.

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: tempura ice cream, some nice workers
Cons: Food, alcoholic beverages, perverted workers,
Location: South part of Puerto Vallarta- not much to do around. They have a beach entrance across the street from the hotel. Other than that, there isn't much.
The facility itself is okay- not as great as it looks in the pictures. The staff are nice but some of the older men are quite perverted. However, there are those that go out of their way to help. The rooms are pretty clean but lighting is not the greatest. The food is not good- I would give it 2 stars. The activities they offer are pretty much the same thing every day. Also, the drinks they serve are pretty gross. I asked for specific tequilas and they told me that they only had one type (they do not have a variety of drinks unless they're a mixture of artificial flavors). If you wants a more decent hotel, I would not recommend this one. The one next to it is much better. Overall, I would give this hotel 2 stars.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Decent for the cheap price.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The price.
Cons: The food was terrible and there are not enough lounge chairs by the pools or beach. We would have to get up very early to get a chair.
Location: The location is decent, although we had to take a cab to get to the downtown/boardwalk area which is where the restaurants and nightlife is.
The hotel is average. The rooms are clean, the pool is okay. Nothing stood out as great. The food was terrible and there are not enough lounge chairs to be able to sit by the pool. The beach is small but okay. The rooms were clean and nice. The whole resort could use an update but for the cheap price, you get what you pay for. Overall it is decent, just don't expect to eat the food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ellafrom Winnipeg, MB

Friendly staff, clean facilities, wonderful trip!

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: The staff, the fact that there were multiple areas to swim at in addition to the beach/ocean, the quiet overnights, the entertainment.
Cons: Wifi included in the price would have been nice and perhaps more options for snacks between meal times.
Location: As soon as you leave the resort, there are nearby pharmacies, corner stores, liquor stores and souvenir shops. 20 minute walk to The Malecon as well!
First and foremost, I can't say enough about the staff at Plaza Pelicanos. They were courteous and friendly, remembered our names, went out of their ways to ensure we were happy and comfortable. Pedro at the buffet, Angel the swim-up bartender and Hector in the buffet and reservation restaurant definitely deserve an honourable mention. Next, the rooms were basic but clean, spacious and comfortable. Despite being in my mid-20s, I like to be in bed at a reasonable time. I appreciated that it was quiet when I was ready to go to bed. There weren't many things going on in the evenings on the resort aside from a nightly show. I was fine with it because I'd much rather the peace and quiet. There were plenty of bars and parties a very short distance from the resort if that's what floats your boat, so to speak. I can't imagine a better bang for my buck. I spoke to other tourists while walking around the city of Puerto Vallarta and not one other person that I spoke with from other resorts felt they got good value for their money. Myself and the coworker I traveled with both agree that we'd do it again in a heartbeat.