Ratings based on 321 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver BC

Pelicanos is great for real Mexico!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Great trip. Reviews were mixed .. But dont Beliefe them. The walk is simply across a hotel driveway to beach side. 50'. It's a round about. Just the way it's layed out. Staff is amazing. Mostly local to Mexico vacationers making the food amazing authentic :) Beach is nice. Loungers , beach volleyball. Incredible views!! Fresh fruit all day , great drinks. Did Riu Cabo 2x this year. It's not a Riu, it's a small more personal place. Enjoy ! Was there 10 days would do again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Temple City, CA US

nice but noise

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: The property is close to everything, so you are able to explore Vallarta with ease
Cons: food quality and more variety. WiFi was only free in the lobby, and had to pay a premium for WiFi in the room. now a days the WiFi should be free
Location: the location is perfect to go exploring downtown Vallarta and the River Area
Most of the staff is nice and friendly, some issues with main dinning hall staff but minimal. The propertty is clean and up to date. The main issue i had that the beach was not on the main property, you had to cross the street and go to the beach club to access the beach. The other issue was the food, the quality was ok but it was the same thing everyday for breakfast and snacks, no variety. The property is loud, you can hear other guests in the hallway early in the morning or late at night with no regards to other guests already sleeping or trying to sleep in. The property is close to everything, so it is perfect if you want to explore Puerto Vallarta.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

City buses were handy.

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: It was accessible to the things I wanted to do.
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: We were able to reach the boardwalk via city bus, also the churches. We could have used the bus to go to the casino, but we ran out of time.
For the price this was a good deal. There was always a bell boy at the entryway to direct our questions to. The beach was easily accessible. I felt safe walking on the street to check out the market and use the bank. The restaurant experience was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom El Paso TX

all inclusive hotel close to beach and down town.

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: the food and drinks like that they had entertainment for all family adults and children close to beach friendly staff.
Cons: it was perfect maybe a bigger kiddy pool for kids.
Location: down town boating port gift stores and restaurants.
Love the all inclusive eat and drink staff was excellent enjoy our vacation a must stay again with friends and family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Decent stay by the beach.

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Cons: The rooms need update.
I was a little dissapointed when we got there, I don't think that is a 4star hotel but it is decent. The room was a little dated but it was clean and with a little porch right to the pool. Food was decent, they have a buffet and then 2 separate "restaurants" where you get couple reservations for your stay and the food there was much better. They also have couple snack bars by the pools (hot dogs, burguers and fries). The staff was very nice and the location of the hotel was pretty good. 15min ride by bus to the town. Definetely a good place for young people to go party but It was good for a relaxing week too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than we expected!

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: The large pools, the kayaking for free, friendly service.
Cons: During the Mexican party we felt the games could have been organized better, particularily the bingo which was hard to join in on. It seemed that a fe
Location: A short bus ride to the Malecon, and a short walk to the Mega. Also not to far from a really good running track.
We were pleasantly surprised with the Plaza Pelicanos, and had a really enjoyable stay. The room was really large and clean, and the bathroom with tub was nicer than we had expected, feeling quite modern and new. The pools were great! Really large, and I was able to do laps, especially in the late afternoon when at some points I practically had it to myself! The acitivities were good, we tried almost everything: kayaking, tennis, beach vollyball, pingpong, a Mexican party one night and my husband went to one show.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: staff
Cons: pics on the internet not the club
we were greeted very friendly-- staff was excellent the best was Claudio our bartender very nice man-- we had a great time-- place was in great shape-- food was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Nice hotel for the price.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Very clean and bar staff were great.
Cons: More help for check in/front lobby. Seemed to always be a line that took awhile to get assistance.
Location: There is a bus stop right outside that will take you just about anywhere.
Pool by the beach is great for adults. Very few kids in the pool with a good beach area. Walking into the lobby is not the best first impression but as we got to our rooms and seen the whole resort we were pleased.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St Paul, MN

Very friendly staff. Nice patio room view.

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Everything was nice and close. You could walk anywhere to get anything you needed. Nice and close to shopping.
Location: I thought the location was great. Close to shopping and the marina wasn't far.
Friendly staff. Clean rooms. I enjoyed my stay and would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Relaxing hotel stay!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Food, comfort, friendliness
Cons: Maybe some more adult activities throughout the day.
Location: Maritime terminal was really close for all our vallarta adventures. Downtown isn't too far either.
We had a great time there. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The food was great and the rooms were well taken care of. Only wish we had a few more adult activities to participate in but overall it was an excellent stay!