Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom spokane wa.

All employees were very helpful

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: All the employees were the best at what they did. So friendly and helpful.
Cons: Close off the gate so the people selling their wares would not yell at you when you are relaxing in a cabanna or beach chair
Location: The Malacon (boardwalk)was close by for shopping and just to enjoy the people of Pourta Vallarta.
All employees were very helpful, they went out of their way to get anything a person asked for. The one thing I wish is that the entertainment in the evening started a little sooner. We were to tired by the end of the day and 9:30 was too late to stay up and see a show, so we missed all of them. The food was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Round Rock, Texas

NIce Older Hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Location to the Malecon, Staff and Food.
Cons: Needs some paint on the outside, but this could be due to the tropical weather.
Location: I am far enough away from the activity that I can sleep at night but it is only a $65 peso Cab ride to the Malecon and $100 peso to Old Town.
I have stayed here each and every time I have gone to Vallarta. It is an older place built in 1965 but has a few issues, nothing serious. Air keeps the room cooler but I slept on top of the bed. I had issues with my foot so Mayra, the Hotel Manager was able to set me up in a room on the first floor. Great View. The staff was attentive and very polite. I stay here because I want a true experience not the "Gringo" filled resorts. Love it here!! Why stay anywhere else.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San diego

Not worth the money

Posted Oct 4, 2014
All I can tell you is unless you are a local don't stay vat this resort. I have traveled to many places in Mexico and never have been so disappointed in a hotel in my life. They don't care about tourist. They have horrible food next to no entertainment and a small pool. I am not a picky person and have never made a bad review but I in this case I felt compelled.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Nice all inclusive in PV with great staff

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The service was great and the beach front beds were a great place to relax. The Flor de Calabaza Restaurant
Cons: Better evening entertainment, just some music by the bars and pool on an evening would be great.
Location: PV is a beautiful place and the buses to the Malecon (Promenade) are very easy to use. Lots of sea activities
A 6 night stay in August 2014. Great weather with thunderstorms only normally during the night. Great service from the waiters and a great selection of drinks. I recommend the Flor de Calabza restaurant was superb and the buffet restaurant had hot food and a good selection. The Rodrizo Grill restaurant wasn't really open or obvious while we stayed there, more just the snacks focussed in the pool bar. The beach is very small and the sea was very close to the wall so we couldn't use the beach during our stay, there isn't really much beach to use but the beaches either side can be used easily enough. The sea was rough in August but that is not the Hotels fault. The sea front beds with curtains and the Jacuzzis in the Sky Lounge were particular highlights for couples. The Entertainment on an evening ended a little early and there was no music after 10.30 by the hotel bars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by v. gutierrezfrom Guadalajara

buena ubicacion

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Regular, aburrido,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Torifrom Minnesota

vacation in Puerto Vallarta- Plaza Pelicanos Grand

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: The waitstaff, front desk staff, and bartenders are always very friendly and very accomidating to make your vacation enjoyable. Great location!!
Cons: Continue to improve on the dinner buffet. It was good food, but good use some different variety.
Location: Location was great only about 10 minute walk from the Malacon, there are some nice places to eat outside of the hotel, the large supermarket.
This was my 4th time staying at the Pelicano grand. Our flight arrived early in PVR so we got to the hotel early. Our room wasn't ready when we got there, but the staff made us comfortable with welcoming drinks until we good get our wristbands at noon. Then we were able to enjoy our vacation. The breakfast and lunch buffets were great. The afternoon pool snacks were good, the cook was great! The drinks were always cold and very good. My friend used the spa at the hotel, great service and very reasonable priced on everything. The rooms were very clean everyday and we had a great view of the poolside. Great waitstaff in the bar pool area, never had to worry about not having a cold pop, or drink. We were able to walk to the little shops near by, the malacon was a short walk from the hotel, and supermarket was close. I really like the location of the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erinfrom Portland Oregon

Hotel is right on the beach.

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: The service was excellent. I liked the swim up bar and the infinity pool. Also, the late night snack bar!
Cons: The food wasn't great, but it was consistent and what I expected.
Location: Close to the bus line into downtown. Also a short cab ride to the pier where most tours leave from.
Hotel staff were all friendly and gave great service. The hotel wasn't brand new and showed some wear and tear, but it was clean and in good repair. My only complaint is that the concierge tried to get us to go to one of those timeshare demonstrations. Those are hard enough to avoid in PV anyway. I want to be able to utilize my concierge for recommendations, but after his timeshare pitch, we basically avoided talking to him.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by suefrom vancouver, b.c.

good location

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: location and staff
Cons: the rooms need a little updating
Location: downtown--malecon--old town and a bus ride to buceria
the staff were exceptional--right from our check in. we had booked 2 rooms, one of the girls has 2 knee replacements and has difficulty walking, and our original rooms were too far from the elevators for her, so they changed both rooms for us. all the staff from bartenders. waiters, chefs, maids were outstanding. there are daily games and nightly entertainment--something for everyone. the all inclusive food changed everyday, which I appreciated, not the same food everyday. great location, everything within walking distance---downtown--the malecon--old town. the rooms could use a little updating--but how much time do you spend in the room anyway? I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Valeriefrom Houston, TX

Alberca

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Mi estancia estubo excelente, el unico cmetario seria sobre la alberca y su estado. Al parecer la alberca tiene un tipo de plastico que cubre todo el fondo de la alberca. La hace verse vieja, con partes color amarillo por el sol. Talvez, actualizar el fondo de la alberca.