Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice all inclusive in PV with great staff

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The service was great and the beach front beds were a great place to relax. The Flor de Calabaza Restaurant
Cons: Better evening entertainment, just some music by the bars and pool on an evening would be great.
Location: PV is a beautiful place and the buses to the Malecon (Promenade) are very easy to use. Lots of sea activities
A 6 night stay in August 2014. Great weather with thunderstorms only normally during the night. Great service from the waiters and a great selection of drinks. I recommend the Flor de Calabza restaurant was superb and the buffet restaurant had hot food and a good selection. The Rodrizo Grill restaurant wasn't really open or obvious while we stayed there, more just the snacks focussed in the pool bar. The beach is very small and the sea was very close to the wall so we couldn't use the beach during our stay, there isn't really much beach to use but the beaches either side can be used easily enough. The sea was rough in August but that is not the Hotels fault. The sea front beds with curtains and the Jacuzzis in the Sky Lounge were particular highlights for couples. The Entertainment on an evening ended a little early and there was no music after 10.30 by the hotel bars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tori from Minnesota

vacation in Puerto Vallarta- Plaza Pelicanos Grand

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: The waitstaff, front desk staff, and bartenders are always very friendly and very accomidating to make your vacation enjoyable. Great location!!
Cons: Continue to improve on the dinner buffet. It was good food, but good use some different variety.
Location: Location was great only about 10 minute walk from the Malacon, there are some nice places to eat outside of the hotel, the large supermarket.
This was my 4th time staying at the Pelicano grand. Our flight arrived early in PVR so we got to the hotel early. Our room wasn't ready when we got there, but the staff made us comfortable with welcoming drinks until we good get our wristbands at noon. Then we were able to enjoy our vacation. The breakfast and lunch buffets were great. The afternoon pool snacks were good, the cook was great! The drinks were always cold and very good. My friend used the spa at the hotel, great service and very reasonable priced on everything. The rooms were very clean everyday and we had a great view of the poolside. Great waitstaff in the bar pool area, never had to worry about not having a cold pop, or drink. We were able to walk to the little shops near by, the malacon was a short walk from the hotel, and supermarket was close. I really like the location of the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erin from Portland Oregon

Hotel is right on the beach.

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: The service was excellent. I liked the swim up bar and the infinity pool. Also, the late night snack bar!
Cons: The food wasn't great, but it was consistent and what I expected.
Location: Close to the bus line into downtown. Also a short cab ride to the pier where most tours leave from.
Hotel staff were all friendly and gave great service. The hotel wasn't brand new and showed some wear and tear, but it was clean and in good repair. My only complaint is that the concierge tried to get us to go to one of those timeshare demonstrations. Those are hard enough to avoid in PV anyway. I want to be able to utilize my concierge for recommendations, but after his timeshare pitch, we basically avoided talking to him.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sue from vancouver, b.c.

good location

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: location and staff
Cons: the rooms need a little updating
Location: downtown--malecon--old town and a bus ride to buceria
the staff were exceptional--right from our check in. we had booked 2 rooms, one of the girls has 2 knee replacements and has difficulty walking, and our original rooms were too far from the elevators for her, so they changed both rooms for us. all the staff from bartenders. waiters, chefs, maids were outstanding. there are daily games and nightly entertainment--something for everyone. the all inclusive food changed everyday, which I appreciated, not the same food everyday. great location, everything within walking distance---downtown--the malecon--old town. the rooms could use a little updating--but how much time do you spend in the room anyway? I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cesar & Elvira from Cerano, Guanajuato/Murrieta, CA

Great affortdable all-inclusive hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Pros: Entertainment, location, service and food.
Cons: Building seems just a little older.
Location: Centrally located
Great service. All the staff was welcoming and curtious at all times. Great shows and entertainment. Would definetely go back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tori from Minnesota, USA

Wonderful vacation

Posted Mar 22, 2013
Pros: Very clean and friendly staff
Location: I personally feel the location is wonderful, only 10-15 minute walk to the Malacon. There are many accomodations right near the hotel.
This was my 2nd time staying at the Plaza Pelicanos Grand. Everyone is super friendly the wait staff is wonderful and the hotel staff when you come through the lobby make you absolutely comfortable and feel welcome. I never had to worry about my room being clean, the housekeeping staff had my room clean promptly. The entertainment staff during the day have some great activities and I was happy to see many of the guest including myself get involved.. great time!! The sky bar is a wonderful place to get a view of the entire city, I spent evenings up there just enjoying the view and the hottub. The buffett during the day is great, especially the gal that makes the omelets in the morning.. yummy. The evening dinner they have outside is wonderful and would recommend anyone staying at the hotel to try it. The sit down dinner inside is very nice and relaxing. I can't wait to go back in the near future.
2 out of 5
by Dan from Brandon, MB, Canada

Very dissatisfied guests.....my wife and I

Posted Mar 4, 2013
Pros: Close to the Malicon. 1 1/2 miles away. We walked there two days in a row.
Cons: The so called "All Inclusive".
Location: OK I guess but wherever you are. buses are cheap.
I book at hotel coming to PV for one night coming in and one or two nights leaving PV. I was surprised to hear it was an all inclusive but for us this was a joke. We were given a red arm band which means you get nothing. We had to pay for the two drinks we had by the pool ( 68 pesos for a 6 oz glass of beer and a 6 oz vodka). I can buy a 12 oz can at Oxo for 13 pesos. We decided to have their breakfast buffet the day we left. $310 pesos......not worth half that. We ate out which is what we prefer to do on these trips. Plus the toilet overflowed it's holding tank one day. I threw one of our bath towels to soak up the water and called for someone to repair the toilet. Well he did, but left the soaked towel on the floor and cleaned nothing up. We called the room service to clean it up and bring another towel. No towel and she never wiped up the water behind the toilet which proceeded to wet the whole floor again. If you're looking for a bed to sleep and a place to shower and eat out (where you'll get a better deal) DO NOT STAY HERE.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sue

Posted Mar 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room and staff were very nice. I would recommend this place.
3 out of 5
by Shirley

Not what we expected

Posted Feb 20, 2013
Pros: staff was very wonderful...they were always on top of things
Cons: drinks were not the best
Location: nice location , close to lots of things,,,beach was a little rocky
Our stay was nice, but not what we expected we were told we had the use of both Plaza Pelicanos resorts, but to find out it is under new ownership so we had only the use of the Plaza Pelicanos Grand in our all inclusive package , we were told we can go over to the other Plaza , but had to pay for drinks and food seperate so that was very disappionting, and what not what we paid for in out package deal....Expedia needs to update thier website ...this new ownership was suppose to be taken over a yr ago