Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Teresa from Nanaimo, B.C.

Nice grounds, but run down hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: The grounds and the restaurant.
Cons: Update the rooms. They are very tired!
Location: Next to the Plaza Caracoles and close to the Canadian Consulate, which was handy for us. It's a bus ride or taxi to the Malecon.
I booked this as a "mystery hotel", which I have generally been very pleased with. However, this one was disappointing. The hotel was clean, but run down. It would have been beautiful 25 years ago, but it appears that upkeep has fallen behind. I booked a room for 3 adults and was given a large "apartment" with 1 bedroom with a double bed! There were 2 built-in concrete couches. I was travelling with my sister and a friend, so 1 of us got the bed and the other 2 had to sleep on the couches - not very comfortable. The grounds were lovely and the breakfast at the restaurant was very good. I'm glad that we were only staying 1 night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from b.c.

To far for to access the beach.

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Close to the Mall and catching buses and the pool
Cons: Electric power softer beds hot plates in the junior kitchenettes a d fix leaking taps
Location: It was good being near the Mall we went to the movies.
We had a good time we need more umbrellas and deck chairs
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Rebecca M from California

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was nice, but they bathroom needed a lot of upkeeing. Repairs to sink area needed, Shower barely starting getting plugged up but that usually happens. The staff and personal very nice and respectful. The room was very big. The bed was comfortable. I would stay there again if the bathroom is nicer. Otherwise a great hotel. Nice big pool.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Anonymous from TX

No Thanks

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not worth the money paid for it
2 out of 5
by Gabriel from California

Room conditions really bad

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: The pool was nice
Cons: Rooms need to be remodel, Hotel too old
Location: Location was good, 3 minute drive from Malecon
I hardly ever write a review especially a negative one, but the room I stayed was terrible. The Air Conditioner leaked water all over the room and I had to call room service twice. It bothered me one of the times I called was at 5 in the morning, It ruined my night. Hot water for shower only last about 3 minutes and beds are really hard. The Hotel is well located and the premises look good (Outside) but rooms are really OLD. I for sure will never stay there ever again!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Convient to airport

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was just average. Hot water ran out half way through shower. Bathroom was clean but not in very good condition.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terry from Vancouver BC

Nice Hotel Complex

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Overall buildings arrangement around the swimming pool.
Cons: No doors between suites.
Location: Convenient location. Good nightclub 'JB' near.
Good hotel, a number of buildings, accommodation. Mid way between old and new Puerto Vallarta. A bit noisy. There are doors between suites. Very expensive telephone calls, local and international. Fair breakfasts.
1 out of 5
by labsmom from cedar lake

Old hotel totally outdated

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: NOTHING
After reading previous reviews on this hotel, they were all untrue. Arrived at the hotel and could tell something was wrong. No other people checking in and after looking at the out side could see that the place was in bad shape. We were put in a room on the 4th floor. First clues there might be something wrong was given a remote for the air conditioner, tv and a key on a string for the room. When being taken to the room the place was FILTHY. When we got in the room the STENCH was horrible. After looking around the room there was stains on the the chairs, MOLD on the shower curtains and the toilet was worse than a port a potty. We knew we could not stay there after seeing a bug running across the floor. The five minutes we were there was five minutes to long. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON BOOKING A ROOM HERE.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Susan from Victoria BC/La Manzanilla Mexico

Great for the price, we were just passing through.

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Pros: As above
Cons: For the price, nothing.
Location: Across from beach (main highway), walk to shopping and restaurants.
Just a one nighter. It fit the bill as they took pets. Well maintained and clean. A typical Mexican hotel so it cannot be compared to el norte. Nice pool and gardens and great accessability to ammenities. We would stay there next year when we are passing through. Friendly Mexican staff. Jim and Susan.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P. R.B .C.Canada

Nice holiday

Posted Mar 27, 2013
Pros: The pool is very clean
Cons: the electricity
Location: was perfect for us
We enjoyed our 3 weeks stay but we were upset cause they cut us of electricity three times.Other wise it was nice and quite we liked it.