Ratings based on 805 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best all inclusive choices

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Hotel layout, the friendly service, variety and quality of food, activities & entertainment
Cons: Better maintainance of the rooms, ie shower, bathroom door, fridge, mattresses. And what is that smell especially in the lower rooms?
Location: Well located, the 7km plus new cement to walk, run, bike in the NVO hotel zone is a big plus. Down town is a reasonable cab or bus ride
2 weeks of laid back decadant living. More activities than you can participate in. The entertainment is second to none, which includes cruise ships. The hotel walks the all inclusive talk, the staff had the resources to grant anything and everything a quest could ask for. More English t.v. programing and better maintenance of the room would make the experience perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Goodyear AZ

Nice hotel beautiful grounds close to the beach

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: good food/great staff/good entertainment - great access to the beach
Cons: Must do much better ant control Must improve the landscaping around the kiddie pool - much too muddy Improve Internet access
Location: do a fishing trip Do an outdoor adventure
Spent one week with daughter/son-in-law and 2yr old grandson. Had a lot of fun and the highlight was the fishing trip for my husband and Son-in-law. They caught a 45 lb yellow fin tuna and 2 35 lb tuna. Great day on the water. Our daughter and son-in-law went on an outdoor adventure for the day that was awesome also!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short visit, but overall happy

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Cons: Wifi, room odor (this is our 6th visit to Mexico and we are accustom to the humid smells, but this was pungent, and not very nice to walk into)
Buffet was great. Would have liked to get into the Steak house but always booking 2 days out and fill up first thing in morning, then on our last 2 days they closed due to low capacity?? Close to beach, and drinks were good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great all inclusive! Worth the Money!

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Great staff, great pool, great drinks
Cons: Trim those palm trees
Location: Stayed at the resort the whole time
We just stayed at the RIU from Jan 15-19. We had a fabulous time! Our plane arrived before check in so they held our luggage for us so we could head to the pool/beach for some drinks and sun. The food was great. We are not picky so it worked for us. The staff was very attentive and filled our drink order at lunch right away. The pool was fabulous. Sometimes there was a line at the pool bar but the bartenders are the hardest working people there and the line went fast. Tip: Bring a bigger cup so you don't have to go as often. They will fill it up all the way for you! :) The entertainment/games at the pool was great. The RIU friends are hilarious and keep the atmosphere so exciting. The beach was also great. It is not rocky so you can for a dip when you get hot. Plenty of beach chairs/pool chairs but get there early for the best spots. Lots of palm tress so areas go in and out of shade. We went to dinner at the Asian and Mexican restaurant. Both were delicious. But the buffet is good too. Night time entertainment is fun. Different show each night. Followed by dancing in the disco. The rooms were clean which is all that mattered to me. We spent little time there. Almost all of the rooms have an ocean view which is great for watching the sunset. We did stay on the 5th floor so not sure what you can see from floor 1-4. Totally worth the $$ I spent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2015
very good food comfort bed, best great beach...............................................................
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom California

Beautiful facility, great beach access,

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: Better quality food - steaks were very thin and extremely tough
Location: Great location and beach access. Easy to get around via bus or taxi. Great day trip to Sayulita for surfing.
Great staff, plenty of food, although the quality was not that good. I would rate the food as only average, otherwise, I have no complaints. Great, never ending drinks for adults and children. Except for the food (the meats were not good quality and with the exception of the fruit and salad selections, nothing looked that appetizing and was not that good) one of the best vacation experiences I have had. Very clean facility and rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel close to the ocean.

Posted Jan 10, 2015
This is my second stay here and was as enjoyable as the first. The food is pretty good (breakfast and lunch are really good as are the desserts; dinner was good but not fantastic). The staff is great - very friendly and helpful. The facilities were well-maintained and clean. It is easy to get to and reasonably priced. The hotel beach is small but sufficient. The water was comfortable to get in but visibility was very poor and nothing to see if you are a snorkeler. We will come back again.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Horrific!

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Awful awful awful. Rooms smelt like waste and mold. They have some sort of pad on the bed and every time you move it crinkles. They act as if you might pee the bed. Also hard as a rock. Rooms need major updates. Food was cafeteria style and was too gross to eat. Lost weight the first few days of vacation because I chose to stick with just pineapple. Locals can get a day pass so it's always overcrowded. Long story short we got the heck out after 3 days of hell and wearing shoes in the shower. Went down the street to The Villa group and our experience was out of this world. Will be going back to that hotel and strongly recommend it. January 2015
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here!!!

Posted Jan 9, 2015
It was an awful experience, the rooms smelled like a sewer tank!!! The pools and beach were over crowded, the drinks and food were awful! The food is cafeteria style and it was so gross. Our experience was so bad after 2 nights there we switched resorts and thank goodness we did! We will never return, don't waste your money. This place is NOT a vacation spot!! This place deserves ZERO stars!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Fun Hotel right on the beach

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: The staff, views, pools, and beauty of the hotel
Cons: The whole dinner reservation system and the food in general
Location: Nothing to really walk to, but a short taxi ride will get you into town or downtown which was fun.
My husband and I stayed at the Riu over Christmas. We picked the Riu because we stayed at one in Costa Rica and Loved it. Overall the trip was great, the hotel grounds are beautiful and the views are amazing! The staff was the best part of the trip, so nice and so fun! We had a ocean view suite with a Jacuzzi on the balcony which was definitely the way to go. The only down fall to this hotel is the restaurant reservation system. You have to wait in line each morning to make a reservation at a restaurant 2 days in advance. We arrived Christmas eve and could not eat at a restaurant till 3 days later and the dinner buffet is not good. The food overall was probably a 3 out of 5. I recommend making your reservations for the steak house, it was the best out of all of them. Also, your not allowed to throw a pool ball around in the pool which was kind of lame seeing that the pools are huge and everyone in the pool at that time were throwing it around. Neither of those things ruined the trip and I would definitely come back to this hotel. I highly recommend booking the city day tour, it was my favorite part of our trip. You can book activities in the morning at the lobby bar.