Ratings based on 657 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

First Vacation to Mexico

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: The staff is the resort's greatest asset. They work long hours to bring you a memorable experience, both daytime and nighttime.
Cons: The breakfast was good. However, the other meals at the buffets were just okay. The Sport's Bar, was not good. I did not care for it.
Location: Being our first trip, we decided to stay at the resort exclusively. There was enough entertainment to keep us busy during our six-day stay.
I can not say enough positive things about the staff of the Riu Jalisco. They were awesome. The game staff (Memo and Alejandro) were an absolute joy!! They encouraged us at every game and made our experience memorable. This was our first trip to Mexico (on vacation) and the first time at an all inclusive. As long as you go with the right frame of mind, you will have a wonderful trip. First, get involved. The staff works very hard to provide a unique experience for their guests. Engage with them, and they will make your trip a joy. Two, this in not a luxury hotel. The accommodations were great (room size, view, bed, shower, linens, etc...), but you will be sharing your experience with a lot of the local people. Learn a few phrases in Spanish to help you be cordial, and you'll have a great experience. If you don't enjoy Mexican culture, go to Hawaii... Third, you will not find any "Top Shelf" liquors being served. If you want "Top Shelf", pay a lot more money. But, you may not experience a great Mexican vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Very nice hotel. Modern design. I will recomend this hotel to all.of my family amd friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tacoma, WA

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Everything was very nice, hotel, room, food, beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago IL

Nice hotel on the beach but beware of the weekends

Posted Oct 27, 2014
The hotel itself is very nice and clean. Food was great and so was service. My only complaint is that on Fridays and Saturdays they bring in buses full of a certain kind of Mexican residents. The people they bring in are very rude and ignorant. The hotel should not allow this because it ruins the experience for the rest of their guests. These guests make a mess of the buffet and get very drunk and loud. So if you plan a stay here make sure you don't stay on a Friday or Saturday. FYI, I am 100% Mexican so I am not being racist. I'm just being honest. And of course not all Mexicans are like this. I am not sure where they get these people from. I have stayed here twice and both times they brought buses full of them on weekends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle WA

Very nice and clean hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2014
We had a good stay at the hotel. The beach was amazing and the pool was really nice and relaxing. The only thing is that a lot of kids were in the bar pool area so it was kind of Messy and crowded. The staff was awesome. So our family had a really great trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington State

AMAZING PLACE TO STAY!!!

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Food, staff, entertainment, and cleanliness of the hotel.
Cons: According to MY standards, this hotel is a 5 star.
Location: The location is in a hotel zone. My husband and I got a few tours and activities from this hotel; ATVs, snorkeling, and visited two separate islands.
My husband and I went here on our honeymoon for two weeks! This hotel was VERY clean, good food; service, staff and entertainment. We were ALWAYS greeted with smiles and a 'hello'. Many people from other hotels came to this beach because it was ALWAYS clean and nothing was ever laying around on the ground. Another thing, this is a FAMILY FRIENDLY hotel, MEANING that this hotel WILL ALWAYS have children around. There are two kiddie pools plus another main on for the adults. I would come here again and again and recommend this hotel to EVERYONE!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom La Cruz De Huanacaxtle, Mexico

Needs a little tweaking

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Gardens are immaculate and the staff take pride in there environment.
Cons: Buffet menu/restaurants are fine however the theme restaurant menu could be more up todate not 80's
Location: location is perfect accessible to Bucerias or Vallarta, taxis, walking, buses all good.
Food in the buffet style restaurants was fine however, the Steak House dinner not organized, courses did not arrive as expected ie; appetizer, main, not main, appetizer also we waited a while for drinks as we did not wont wine which was readily available. Italian restaurant was not available, which was a disappointment to us, must be that time of year, not into Chininese and Mexican we can get every day. Otherwise staff were great and we would certainly go again. Entertainment was good for kids & adults, cleanliness excellent, all in all for an all inclusive worth it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dissatisfied

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Don't have enough time or energy to comment
Location: There are plenty of activities to do in and around PV - The beaches are nicer the farther north of PV you go.
Hotel d├ęcor, though remodeled somewhat recently, was deplorable. Beach towels shack was too far off the beach & adult pool area. Room A/C had problems with the patio door connection - not comfortable. No shampoo & Conditioner - shower had a dispenser for what felt like was lotion. Drinks at pool side either watered down or just no alcohol and there was no service available. We should have stayed at the RIU Palace Pacifico since the savings was not worth it. We left a day early to stay at a condo in PV Central - best decision made.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Lauderdale, FL

Nice hotel, manicured grounds, right on the beach

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Beach area (shaded), pools, swim up bar, room size.
Cons: More shade around the pool. Snack bar at the beach should have more variety. Outside bars should be open longer. Restaurant dishes improved.
Location: Nice beach area. Visit Puerto Vallarta - 30 minutes away (taxi or bus). Hotels offer plenty of trips to interesting near by places.
This was our first stay at RIU hotels. We were very please with the hotel itself and the stuff (very attending). We called the front desk requesting something few times and it was delivered with in half an hour. The rooms are spacious (we had a crib in our room and there was plenty of space to move around). The bathrooms are sizable as well with separate showers and toilets. There is also a fridge stock up with water, soda and beer as well as in-room liquor dispenser filled with few different types of alcohol. The grounds itself are very manicured. Plenty of shade at the beach. 3 pools, one for kids and two mixed, one of the pools has a swim up bar. There are 5 different bars at the hotel, one of witch is 24h. The food was pretty good, different variety, although I have to say that the buffet was much better then the restaurant dishes (the restaurants you have to make reservations 2 days in advance). I would recommend the hotel, it's very nice and friendly. One thing you have to keep in mind, there is a lot of Mexicans coming to this hotel not all of them speak English, but you will be able to practice your Spanish as we did. We had a lot of fun and we'll definitely be coming back in the future. If you do not want to stay at the hotel, there is always plenty to do. You can book a trip which are offered at the hotel (extra charge) or you can go and visit Puerto Vallarta, just 30 minutes away from the hotel by taxi or bus.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles, Ca

Never coming back

Posted Sep 10, 2014
The hotel looks nice but the food was terrible... They have several restaurant that suppose to be a la carte but they are actually buffet style .. You still have to get up and serve yourself... The food was not great some food looked and tasted like it was reheated... One thing that we really didn't like was their version of 24hr food service .. They call it a sports bar and they have burgers and hot dogs in a fridge and you heat them up yourself .. We were really disappointed at this service ... Also wifi is only offered in the lobby area and it's only 90mins a day which really sux... The smell around the hotel is terrible as well.. One thing that we liked was the kiddie pool but we are definitely never coming bck to this hotel or a RIU hotel...