Ratings based on 837 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best All-Inclusive

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Was there for 6 days and didn't have a single complaint the whole time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Muy buena

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: las instalaciones y la comida
Location: muy amable el personal
Muy comoda y divertida, muy contentos de nuestra estancia, siempre había actividades para todos
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom aguascalientes

mis vacaciones

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: su comida excelente y siempre bien atendida
Cons: un alberca adicional mas grande, y el cuidado de las políticas internas del hotel que se respeten y/o que las hagan respetar el personal de seguridad
Location: muchas actividades, tanto deportivas como culturales
en términos generales muy bien, las instalaciones del hotel también muy bien, la comida excelente, el personal muy atento, lo único malo para un servidor es que las instalaciones quedan pequeñas en proporción a la gente que ocupa cuando el mismo esta lleno, y que la cantidad de gente que llega en los famosos "tours" sobrepasa lo permitido, ya que no existe prácticamente control de ellos, por ejemplo cunado se meten a las albercas con ropa no permitida como playeras shorts etc. no adecuada y el personal de vigilancia hace caso omiso de tal situación, también no se meten a las regaderas cuando vienen del mar para poder introducirse a las piscinas y en cuestión de alimentos existe abuso en lo que se sirven ya que dejan en muchos casos comida en los platos. Por lo mismo deben de poner cuidado con estos grupos ya que con tal de tener al limite su hotel no verifican la fachada de estas gentes, por lo tanto para un servidor en pocas palabras "acorrientan totalmente el lugar".......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach party

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Because it's all inclusive you are never far from a drink. It was a good price for what you get. There were all types of people, younger older families and partyers and even a wedding. The staff was fun and polite. Food was average buffet food.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego,CA

Disappointing

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Staff was great and very helpful and friendly
Cons: the Chef needs to tell cooks to put more salt or spices into their food and sugar to their desserts
Location: You have to take a taxi or the city bus to go anywhere, but everything is about 1/2 hr away. Recommend Sayulita and to go to Mass at Puerto Vallarta
very nice, modern hotel, staff was great, but there was no privacy in the rooms when taking a shower. The food was not satisfactory lacked taste, there where few plates that where very good like the soups and the sit down dinner at the Adelitas Restaurtant, but that was it. I have gone to other Riu's and the food not compares at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Everything we wanted

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: They are always cleaning and the staff is the best! The beach area cannot be beat!
Cons: The food was ok for us, but more fresh seafood would have been awesome!
Location: It is a bit out of town. A taxi is about $22! Bucerias is about a 40 minute walk down the beach - not too impressed. Plenty of excursions though!
Before booking and looking at the reviews I was a little nervous about a few things I had read. But we were looking for a cheap, warm getaway so decided the price was right. We were blown away when we arrived! The staff was prompt and friendly, spoke english extremely well and were always available. There was no one around trying to sell upgrades or tours which is a huge plus to us! It is a smaller resort and we loved the layout....lobby, rooms, theater etc, pool, then beach. Quick walk to anywhere on the resort and the beach is amazing! Never had a problem getting a chair and plenty of space to relax. The swimming is great there! Very hard, sandy bottom and not too much for waves but just enough to play. Plenty of shade, too if wanted. Taking a walk down the beach was enjoyable and not too many vendures....those were did approach were mild. Just say no thank you and they walk away. The pool was busier but offered a little more fun after a few hours of relaxing on the beach. Not as much pool entertainment as we like, but they had a few fun games. There is a kids pool, but there were a lot of kids in the swim up bar area. It didn't bother us as long as they weren't splashing and jumping right by us, but a lot of people were annoyed. If you bring your kids just ask them to be respectful of others. We met a lot of fun people in the pool which made the tip even more enjoyable. The staff at the bars and restaurants were also amazing!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

The staff was rude and extremely unhelpful.

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Weather.
Cons: The service. It was HORRIBLE.
Location: OK.
I hadn't written this up when it happened but I really meant to. The hotel itself was nice. The food service staff was nice. The staff taking care of check-in, room accommodations, and shuttle to and from airport... HORRIBLE!! For that reason I would NEVER recommend this particular Riu. Go to Mazatlan instead. They were WONDERFUL.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome staff

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Excellent time and weather for spring break. The staff members were very gracious to all our travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great Family Hotel with a Nickel Dime Mentality

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Cons: CHECKOUT PROCESS
Location: The location is isolated but close enough to attractions.
Hats off to the RIU Jalisco and the Staff. They make the hotel. The Family Suite by far the best room in the All-Inclusive arena. The pools are great, the beach side massages are fantastic. The food is par for the course. The buffet is great for kids as the variety is vast. Breakfast is the best meal offered. The RIULAND for Kids was best I have seen. Paulina and Lupita were fantastic. Overall a great stay. OK now after spending a great week with family and friends I enter the checkout zone where I compare it to the place you go after you buy a car and they hard sell you on the undercarriage protector and the all weather floor mats. My advice is hop in your cab and drive it like you stole it. They will try to charge you for anything that is not nailed down. Bottom line is you pre payed and they don't have your cc on file so don't be fooled for a second this is a hostage negotiation at the end. I am not sure that this is a RIU thing or a Mexico thing but it is wrong and leaves a bad taste in your mouth at the end of a great week. STOP THE INSANITY.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Good for price

Posted Apr 11, 2015
place is decent for the price, I was not able to get reservations for the restaurants I wanted and the buffet is not something you wanna eat the whole trip. When I checked out the desk did not thank me for my stay or wish me a safe flight, which isn't the worst thing but you would think after staying a week they would say something to maybe make you come back. But no they just wanted to know when we were leaving the hotel.