Ratings based on 679 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AsgharGhatel from San Francisco

Better Kind of RIU

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, cleanness, beach accessible
Cons: Loud music at pool that is bothersome, you don't think you are in Mexico
Location: nice beach, downtown takes you 20 mins and cost you $20 one-way
I 've been in this Hotel 10 times already. This time, I was there April 8-14. This was the first time I notice the water at ocean is cold in month of April. Although they have friendly staff, but the rating for their food has gone done since few years ago. They don't have high end drinks but it is ok. The good thing about this Hotel is that you visit the other RIUs hotel for drinks and breakfast and lunch as if you have gone to three hotels. If you planning to go to downtown few times during your visit perhaps it is best to rent the car. Taxi would take you there $20-$23 one-way so it is $40 just for transportation. of course, there are buses too for $1-$2 but it takes you 45 minutes to get there. Overall, I still would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved this place

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Excellent service. Everyone was friendly and hard working. (Juan, you're the greatest!). Food was good. Beach was great. Sad to leave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joan from Palos Heights, IL

Winter Escape

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The hotel was nice - food was good, drinks were delicious.
Location: It was close to the airport and that is what I wanted.
The Riu Palace Pacifico was a very nice hotel. The pool/beach staff were very friendly and attentive. I will say that when we registered I was disappointed in the staff in handling our request. My husband is disabled and the flight over was very hard on him. We arrived at the hotel around 12:45 and was told that check-in was not until 3. I explained that my husband was disabled and needed to take his medicine and if possible could we check-in earlier. The receptionist said that he would try to take care of this and so we went to have lunch. When we came back the receptionist looked at us as if he had never seen us. He acted like he had not told us that he would see about getting a room for us. He told us check-in was at 3. We were not allowed to check-in until 3 and even that seemed to be an issue. The problem I had was this hotel was in no way filled and we could have very well have been give a room a little earlier. As it turns out my husband was ill for several days. I feel the welcoming staff had a lot to be desired. They clearly said things but didn't produce.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katie from Wisconsin

Better than average All inclusive resort

Posted Apr 14, 2014
I have stayed at this resort twice now and think that it rates better than some of the other similar priced all inclusive resorts. The food for most part is good, some of the buffet food is not as hot as it should be. The service is good, waiters and bartenders are all very friendly and seem to like their jobs. I wish they would of had a few more nightlife activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stephanie from Gurnee, IL

Impressive hotel except for the buffet!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Service and Architecture details of the hotel.
Cons: The food from the buffet.
Location: Vallarta Adventures was an awesome tour company, I don't think you could go wrong with any of their tours.
This hotel is palatial, it is so well done down to the smallest details, its very impressive. I never saw a speck of dirt anywhere. The staff, ALL the staff was friendly helpful. The service on the beach was most impressive, the waiters were on top of getting you drinks and its not a short walk from the beach back up to the bar.The biggest fail for me was the food and not the restaurant food, if you can get into a restaurant for dinner do it, that food was not great but it was way better than the buffet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE.

Great food, lovely hotel, excellent weather...but

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Beautiful place and very good food. Requests were handled quickly.
Cons: NOISE LEVEL
I ate too much, drank too much and slept too little. That being said, there were things I found disagreeable. Our room was a junior suite on floor 1...room 1031 to be exact. We were right next to the "maid's room" where they park their carts. VERY NOISY. We could hear them early in the morning starting about 6:30 a.m. It sounded as though they were loading or unloading washers and dryers. And, late at night they pushed their carts up and down the hallway as late as midnight. All flooring in the hotel rooms, halls, lobby and dining rooms are tile. They are beautiful. But, any talking, walking, laughing, etc. echoes thru the halls making sleep difficult if you turn in earlier before 11:00 p.m. Music level from the pool during the day and from the hotel bar in the evening is very loud. If you are looking for quiet and relaxation, this is not the place for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarah from Renton, WA

Great escape for a stressed out couple!

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Access to the beach/ocean, nice pool area, plentiful drinks, great Mexican restaurant (you need to make reservations as soon as you arrive)
Cons: Quality of entertainment, dessert selection at buffet
Location: Vallarta Adventures offers great excursions & has a place 4 miles away (110 peso taxi ride 1 way), superb massage at hotel spa, Guacamole restaurant
My husband and I had never stayed at an all-inclusive resort, so we weren't sure what to expect. I'm happy to report that Riu Palace Pacifico exceeded our expectations! The hotel is right on the beach - all you do is walk past the pool area and down some steps. Our partial ocean view room had an incredible view and it was quite relaxing to sit on the balcony with a good book when the sun got too hot. Food is available 24 hours a day, although the only place that's open 'round the clock is the sports bar and its food looked pretty sketchy (refrigerated hot dogs, burgers, sandwiches and salads, plus a nacho cheese station), and the in-room fridge is refilled every day. On our last day there I got a 30-minute foot massage at the spa for only $35 and it was pure heaven. There is "entertainment" each night, which starts at 10pm (a little late for us), and the shows were hit or miss. The Michael Jackson tribute was painfully bad, but the traditional Mexican dance night was fun to watch. Because the hotel is located in Nuevo Vallarta, which is a long strip of resorts, you can't do anything off the property unless you catch a taxi, which will cost you a minimum of $8 one way. If you want to explore the downtown area, walk along the Malecon, and do some sightseeing, this probably isn't the place for you, but if you're looking for a place where you can completely relax, Riu Palace Pacifico is ideal. We'll definitely stay at another Riu property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Denise from Spokane,WA

RIU Home sweet home!

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Convenience of everything. The pool and ocean are just steps away. The food is excellent and the resort is ALWAYS clean!
Cons: Make it a NON SMOKING resort or designated smoking sections.
Location: We have not ventured out but we do know there is plenty to do!
This was our 5th year visiting the RIU! We love the resort, beach and staff. My husband and I look for a new resort each year and always come to the conclusion to return to the RIU. Why try someplace new when the RIU has everything we need and love? That's why we return year after year! :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robin from Phoenix, AZ

April, 2014

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness of the hotel was outstanding and the kids staffing the pool and beach area were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Get a computer terminal or two THAT WORK that guests can use to check into their flights, why don't you?
Location: The Rhythms of the Night tour was outstanding. Book online and then take a cab to Vallarta Adventures in Nuevo Vallarta near Paradise Village.
Overall, our stay at the Riu Palace Pacifico was outstanding. Pros include the cleanliness of the hotel. Someone was cleaning something constantly and the room was impeccable. The hotel even sent up chocolate covered strawberries, a bottle of sparking wine and a birthday card for my husband with no prompting from us. Nice surprise! Cons were that the food was just okay (I'm a big sugar addict at was not impressed with the desserts at all) and there was no computer terminal to use to confirm my return flight. I was told that ALL of the computer terminals in the sports bar were all "off-line" and when I asked where I could check in to my flight home, I was told by the geniuses working the bar, "I don't know," and they promptly went back to their own conversation and offered me no further assistance. Luckily, Vanessa at the customer service desk was free and cheerfully assisted me and printed my boarding pass. The clowns in the sports bar need to work on their hospitality skills. Another glitch was that the time changed while we were there and nobody told us, resulting in us missing our dinner reservation. Not a big deal but when the food is just okay anyway and you're looking forward to having something different, it was a bit disapointing. Do try the Rhythms of the Night tour. It was the highlight of our trip and the best food we had all weekend.
3 out of 5
by Silvia from Seattle, WA

Adequate Resort, Nothing Spectacular

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Jacuzzi in the bath was very nice, even if the tub is kind of small. Availability of pool seating. Turn down service at night. Free wifi.
Cons: Quality of the food, variety of activities, room service menu is not very good, bartenders need to expand the drink menu and what they can make.
I have stayed at other resorts in Mexico (Puerto Vallarta and Cancun) and I was not particularly impressed with this one. We stayed in a Junior Suite The food is okay. The service of the staff is adequate. The evening shows are decent. I did not have any problems with theft, despite my worries after reading other reviews. The decor of the place is fantastic. Unfortunately, the rooms have rather terrible bedding. The mattresses are covered with some sort of plastic and the bedsheets and pillow cases are fairly poor quality. The shower in the bathroom is very poorly lit. The restaurants in the resort have decent food, but it is not significantly better. The pool is very nice, but at around 3 - 5 the crowd around the bar gets a little too drunk and rowdy. During the Spring Break season, there are lots of students and they can get somewhat noisy and annoying. There are no hot tubs outside, but there are two jacuzzi areas in the pool. The sun chairs in the pool are really cool. The beach is maintained well. The organized activities are somewhat interesting, but there is a limited amount of interesting activities. The kids' area is very small, so most kids spend time in the main pool area. Overall, it is an okay resort for the price, but for the rating, I believe it is not up to standards.